View Full Version : Just the one

Little grey men
20-10-2008, 09:37 AM
It was very slow fishing at North Pine Dam on Sunday afternoon. I saw a few blokes on the other side of the dam who seemed to be getting the occasional fish in.
I threw everything at them for about an hour and a half without a touch.
I scratched through the tacklebox and came out with a Jackall TN 60 in the gill stripe colour. I thought it was very pretty, lets hope the bass feel the same way.
A long cast out to do a bit of searching. Letting it sink almost to the bottom and a gentle flick back to my feet.
While day dreaming and listening to the wrens playing in the long grass behind me, a bite jolted through the line and bent the tip of the rod towards the water. I lifted the rod tip a little to set the hook and was met with a decent weight which took off for a split second before the line went light again.
I quickly reeled the Jackall back in and sent the lure back over the same area.
I've seen countless blokes miss a bite only to bring the lure back in and just stand there talking about how it felt like a good fish too, get the lure back to the animal. I've read that they have a very limited memory, which I believe to be true, anyway, I digress, it sank to the desired depth and I gave it two sharp flicks.
Once again the fish slammed the lure and with a more gentle lift of the rod tip I set the hook and it was show time.
A lot of the foliage in the water has rotted away giving the bass less places to snag you up. My drag was set to a more acceptable level and I proceeded to baby the fish in to shore. It blasted off four times upon seeing me and tied me up in the long strands of thick weed about six feet in front of me. I let the line go slack for a while, the fish backed away from the strong tangles, I applied more pressure and the bass blasted away once again.
It finally got tired enough for me to meet it formally. A few quick snapshots of a beautiful healthy, just a whisker away from 50cm bass in the afternoon sun and it was on it's way back out into the depths.
Only the one fish but I was happy enough.

BLOOEY
20-10-2008, 12:05 PM
Thats a great bass LGM. You obviously measure to the fork! That fish is over 50 in my book. Great catch, and nice Gob piccy. Ben

shayned
20-10-2008, 02:37 PM
Certainly beats my duck on sunday.

Actually it was a real duck, hooked through the bill, the poor bugger. I reckon it went about 50cm as well. lol

Little grey men
20-10-2008, 02:43 PM
Certainly beats my duck on sunday.

Actually it was a real duck, hooked through the bill, the poor bugger. I reckon it went about 50cm as well. lol

Hey Shayne. Did you fish in the morning ? how did you go ?

rc@hinze
20-10-2008, 05:01 PM
One fish Michael but a good one at that. If it was staight on the brag mat I think you would have your 50. Well done - RC

vinny78
20-10-2008, 05:01 PM
Nice Bass. It's goddam massive!

Great report LGM.

Cheers, Andrew

Bronson
20-10-2008, 07:58 PM
nice bass good on ya

bron

BR65
20-10-2008, 09:47 PM
Nice mate, thats a good fish.
Sounds like the jungle 5 meters out is starting to clear a bit??

Little grey men
21-10-2008, 08:44 AM
One fish Michael but a good one at that. If it was staight on the brag mat I think you would have your 50. Well done - RC
Pretty close Richard. I wet the brag mat and the fish slide all over the place, that area is actually on a slope so its hard to keep the fish straight. Most times I'll only take one photo on the brag mat and get them back in the water ASAP.

Nice mate, thats a good fish.
Sounds like the jungle 5 meters out is starting to clear a bit??

Getting there mate, You still get hooked up on it but it's breaking a lot easier now. I'll miss the underwater jungle because I think it brought the fish in closer.
But I won't miss getting lures snagged.:P

shayned
21-10-2008, 09:09 AM
Mate, the gar wouldn't cooperate still got a couple though. Aside from the duck, the highlight was watching two lung fish do the dance of luv out in front of us. Guess this makes me a pervert.

Little grey men
21-10-2008, 10:16 AM
Mate, the gar wouldn't cooperate still got a couple though. Aside from the duck, the highlight was watching two lung fish do the dance of luv out in front of us. Guess this makes me a pervert.

Only if you swam out to join them mate.

bdowdy
26-10-2008, 07:28 PM
good stuff mate..didnt get to fish npd my bro was fishing the brissie river and got some fish,,,next timeim there to get my pb...cheers brett