View Full Version : Canarvon Gorge

14-10-2008, 09:48 PM

I'm heading up to Airlie Beach from Brisbane with a lady friend of mine for the new years break for 7 or so nights, then looking to drop into Canarvon Gorge for 2 or 3 nights on the way back to brisbane for a good look around.

Can anyone provide any info on the gorge and surrounding area with regards to camping, sights, access and the like?

I have been on the epa site, and will research it further through them.

Keep in mind I have a 4x4 dual cab ute (access is no worries) and will be towing a 12' tinny on trailer.

freefish
15-10-2008, 04:24 PM
Great place but ideally need more than 2 days to see properly. Access in summer can be weather dependent. There are a number of options for accomodation from the camp ground (approx $25-30) per night. to motel style accomodation. The closest free camping is near Rolleston but very close to road so is noisy. The dawn climb to the top of the range is great I'm told. 900 steps was a little beyond my capabilities. There are talks by the rangers & conducted night wild life spot lighting walks. It is well sign posted & near impossible to get lost. The good trip would be to hike to the head of the gorge looking into all the side trips on one side, camping the night (allowed) then seeing all the side gorges on the other side on the way back. As I said weather dependent. The creek in the gorge can flood after not too much rain & the road in can be closed once the rain starts. Best to check before you leave. If in that area Lake Nuga-Nuga can be worth a trip if there has been enough rain to fill it If Carnarvon is closed keep in mind that Lake Maraboon (Fairbairn Dam) is good for redclaw & fishing.

15-10-2008, 07:18 PM

Thanks very much, have been on the phone with takarakka this morning and all seems to be in order as the qpws don't open their campsite up that that time of the year.

Any more info from anyone else?

Seamus
17-10-2008, 01:46 PM
G'day Dave,

I was out there over the last school holidays just gone. The QPWS only open the camp ground there on school holidays. Takarakka is only 5 mins away from the QPWS camp ground which is where the main walking track into the gorge commences. Takarakka is fairly civilised with a small store, communal camp kitchens etc. There is also a wilderness retreat campground which is between Takarakka and the QPWS grounds which has a small pub which does lunch and dinners.

We did four nights at the QPWS ground and after three days, had done enough walking to make the youngest throw the towel in. One walk which isn't taxing at all is Mickeys Gorge which is in between Takarakka and QPWS campground. You really need to go into the signed gully off to the right in Mickeys Gorge as you can go past the end of the constructed walkway and enter a chasm which is pretty fun.

Other than that, Boolimba Bluff (the 900ish steps are taxing but do-able) is the first option as far a sights on the main trail go, then the others are mostly around the 10-13km round trip distance from the QPWS ground. Catherdral Cave is 22km return. Another definate is Ward's Canyon - a natural air conditioner which is generally 10 degs cooler.

Hope this helps. BTW, it's a 9hr trip one way to/from Bris for your calculations.

Seamus

17-10-2008, 01:56 PM

Thankyou seamus, much appreciated. Will be coming into the area via airlie beach and then onto brizzy, so will allow 9ish hours from canarvon to brissie for the alst leg home.

25-10-2008, 09:16 PM
Dave,
When you leave Airlie, there are two ways to get to Rolleston. Take the Peak Downs Hwy then turn left onto the Fitzroy Development Rd (The beef road), then right at Dingo. Left at Blackwater and follow signs to Rolleston. Or stay on the Peak Downs Hwy via Clermont, Emerald, Springsure, Rolleston. This way is all bitumen, the other has dirt sections after Blackwater.

26-10-2008, 08:28 AM

Thanx Mike, will have a look at it on the map, are the dirt sections bad or relatively maintained? If i'm saving a hundred km or so on dirt I'll consider it.

Any tips for catching coral trout and the various reef species out of the whitsunday islands?

26-10-2008, 10:14 PM
Dirt sections are good. I have seen 2wd cars (standard family cars) on these roads.