View Full Version : finishes and epoxys?
dkposswah
13-10-2008, 06:54 AM
i am rebuilding an old rod and am ready to epoxy the guides. what is the difference between rod fisnish and epoxy? do you epoxy the guides then put fish over the whole rod?
Mark Fisher
13-10-2008, 08:42 AM
Mate, rod finish and epoxy are the same thing. Just epoxy over the thread wraps with a small overlap onto the rod blank itself. 1st coat should be light enought to sink into the thread. The second coat should be heavier and cover the thread a lot better. There are plenty of good epoxies out there. I use Threadmaster which is excellent.
Outback
dkposswah
14-10-2008, 08:01 AM
thanks :) i kinda guessed they did the same thing, i have some speed finish, it says on the label that you can coat the whole rod with it. will this help finish the old rod a bit better? there are a few nicks and scrathes on it that i would like to try to fix. can you suggest any other alternatives.
14-10-2008, 02:20 PM
I've used that speed stuff on an old rod and it tidied it up ok.
Mark Fisher
15-10-2008, 03:12 PM
Personally, I wouldn't use Speed finish as I reckon it is s..t!. To cover an old rod, sand it down with fine wet and dry to remove the old finish etc. Wipe it down with metho to clean it of any impurities. Wash your hands and then wipe them with metho. Mix up some decent finish and then pu your fingers into the finish. Apply it to the rod by dragging it towards the tip. Keep it very thin, just enough to cover the blank. By doing it this way you will eliminate any runs and it drys heaps quicker. If you need to you can aly a second coat. You must get rid of the oils in your fingers first.
dkposswah
20-10-2008, 09:10 AM
i have already put the guides and grips on, will this matter with the process you have described?