View Full Version : Jack Fever??

richieboy
28-09-2008, 04:57 PM
;D ;D

Hey there boys. It's about this time down in Brissie I think everyone goes a little ga ga over those nasty little devils that inhabit the canals and esturies isn't it.
I've been browsing every now and then and I see my good friend Whytey is yet to post up.
Don't hold back all your pics at once buddy. He must be saving em all for later. Extractor where are you mate?? I miss the scene I must admit fellas. Didley, Gecko, CV and all the regulars I'm sure must be nailing a few eh boys.
Still been into the barra up here boys with 2 x 10 fish sessions on the last sets of springs.
Unfortunately it's yet to crack the 70cm mark for me. Come close on a few occasions but Barra know how to make the best of a bad situation boys. Whytey you'll see what I mean in a few weeks mate.
Anyways today was a trip with a difference. Firstly cause it was a weekend and secondly cause the barra didn't really play the game. We only landed 3 rats and dropped a few others. Gimme mid week fishing any day.......>:(
What was pleasing to see, was the deckie nail a few feisty devils in the mid and late 40's after a few nail biting moments on some gnarly rockbars I've found.
Twitching suspended minnows over oyster rock up skinny creeks is as about exhilirating as it gets for me and visual strikes make it that much better folks.
Got a few hot spots sussd for ya Nicky boy. ;)
Anyways just a quick one to pop my head in and say I'm watching with interest at how this season unfolds down south. Get into em lads.

Richie

PS: No I didn't nail a Jack but that little Finger mark went just as hard in some submerged timber. :D

Creek Vermin
28-09-2008, 05:31 PM
Some nice jacks there rich. Late 40's is a cracker for a creek up there. Those fingers are right up there with em hey? Plenty of red fish being caught mate, just not too many posting them anymore..

Benno1
28-09-2008, 05:44 PM
great fish...good read as well...cheers :D

Mrs Benno1

the gecko
28-09-2008, 06:11 PM
I'll come clean.....3 trips for no jacks since I got a 52cm a few weeks ago. Not much point posting about jackless trips....theyre very hot and cold on the goldy, I think theyre all up the sunny coast.

Im going out again tonite tho. Im very keen to get another.

It must be a pain watching from darwin richie. I think JE and SS can fight it out for the grand final. Im moving away soon too, sold the house and business, lookout hervey bay. Gone by the end of Oct. Any jacks at river heads?

Creek Vermin
28-09-2008, 06:26 PM
Plenty of barras gecko and burrum aint far away...

chief
28-09-2008, 07:29 PM
Great stuff richie, some solid fish.Hope your not working to hard up there young fella ;D and still finding enough time to enjoy yourself (AS IF). You certainly have the appropriate last name .You Lucky Bugger ;D Cheers

Pistol_P
28-09-2008, 07:31 PM
Some nice pics there Richie Rich.8-)

Much pelagic action up there ATM

Deadstick
28-09-2008, 09:47 PM
Hey Richie

Top read good to see your not wasting your chances up there mate. Hey listen take it easy on the big unit iv'e been trying to keep him focussed on the Flatty Classic which he has been doing lately begrudgingly.>:(

I reakon after your post though after the classic he may not work or sleep untill we see that post you speak of.

things will never be the same for you on the fishing front mate if you ever get posted back in Brissie your getting a bit spoilt up there.

Mate im sure you guys will have a ball fishing together up there & hopfully next time i might be able to make it.

Well done on the minnibucks mate & i hope all is going well with the boat.

the gecko
29-09-2008, 01:26 PM
Dids is the one holding back boys. I heard a rumor that hes just got a biiiig one at noosa and hes gone straight to the top of the leader board.I'll let him do his own post when he gets back in a few days. I keep telling them its not a contest....

Update; lies, lies, lies. Dont ever believe a fisherman. Ignore the rumour :P weve been led astray boys. Sucked me in too didnt ya dids;D;D

ffejsmada
29-09-2008, 03:10 PM
Cheers Jeff.

nuggstar
29-09-2008, 06:28 PM
awsome work territorion

SLB
29-09-2008, 07:38 PM
hey boys just wondering is this for lure caught jacks only or is live bait a valid entry for the biggest jack of the season.

jeremy d R
01-10-2008, 08:31 AM
nice work, the barra and jack's are a good size can't wait in till summer;D .

jeremy

richieboy
01-10-2008, 08:05 PM
CV: Yeh mate, that's what I thought when up came a 47cm jobbie. Up here they really do go out to the reefs to spawn. Fogs got a 6kg one last year around this time. I'm sure it had triple fangs!
I landed 4 more in 5 casts today on another rockbar as the tide pushed over it. You could see the little critters slinking in amongst the rocks and slam the placcy's. Small buggers tho, biggest around 35cm. :(

Gecko: Mate a change is good. I never thought I'd bite the bullet and move but here I am and yep.......loving it.

Deadstick: ;) Don't worry mate. He's all focussed for it mate. You jsut gotta keep him interested. A day in the Pro-strike should fix it. Mate, you are welcome any time just plan it and we'll all fish it. Just hope the fish make an appearance while he's up here.

Jeff: What the.....??

Pistol: Still some action around the Vernons and wider. They've moved out of the harbour now (Tuna) but still getting big queenies and GT's regularly around the foreshores on the bigger tides. ;)

Sam: To be honest I don't know the rules but any caught Jack is a fair catch in my books. The more sporting chance the better I reckon.
Personally I'll only throw HB's and softies for them but that's just more rewarding for me personally.

Cheers for the comments lads.

Richie

PS: Chief, bad news about Garret mate. Hope he's on the mend sooner rather than later.