View Full Version : first jack trip.
eotbmg
21-09-2008, 10:01 AM
My first ever bait, night, jack mission was last night. No jacks but i now have some idea on how we can go about fishing at night. The Geckos post was a big help.
We got on the water at 5.oo pm and settled into the spot and i threw out some fresh mullet fillet, while Ky cast a HB. He soon landed a 45cm Estuary Cod. I watched the storms surround us and we got off the water at 9.oo.. Was prepared to fish the night through to about 12. Not really much to report, fished the incoming tide, around a rock wall in 3-4 meters of water. There was bait flicking on the surface, so i was pretty confident, will be back out there this week in the same spot to fish it for a longer session. I AM DETERMINED TO CATCH A DECENT JACK THIS SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will keep you posted on the progress
Why-ting
21-09-2008, 02:38 PM
Sounds like it wont be long. If your catchin cod your fishing the right areas. Maybe try and get a few livies to see if you can tempt a red devil.
Good luck for your next trip
Whytey
Keep at it Ben, took me a few years of blood sweat and tears to break the hoodo and pull a 50+ from the passage.
brian
nipsta
21-09-2008, 06:11 PM
My first ever bait, night, jack mission was last night. No jacks but i now have some idea on how we can go about fishing at night. The Geckos post was a big help.
We got on the water at 5.oo pm and settled into the spot and i threw out some fresh mullet fillet, while Ky cast a HB. He soon landed a 45cm Estuary Cod. I watched the storms surround us and we got off the water at 9.oo.. Was prepared to fish the night through to about 12. Not really much to report, fished the incoming tide, around a rock wall in 3-4 meters of water. There was bait flicking on the surface, so i was pretty confident, will be back out there this week in the same spot to fish it for a longer session. I AM DETERMINED TO CATCH A DECENT JACK THIS SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will keep you posted on the progress
ben you werent in the maroochy river at all if you were i think you where the boat i passed around 9.30ish near a rock wall on m way bakto the blibli boat ramp i came from stoney jety way on my own
and i landed one jew around 70 ish i have photo but i didnt take it in day light so yeah good fun i was hoping for a jack but i reckon next weekend my be a go
eotbmg
21-09-2008, 07:00 PM
Hey Nipsta
Cant keep a good man down eh! 117 cm barra then jews what next????
No mate i was in the Mooloolah river but pulled out by 9.30.
Did you get wet??? Will be there again on Tuesday night.
Looks like were in for another light show and rain tonight
nipsta
21-09-2008, 07:43 PM
Hey Nipsta
Cant keep a good man down eh! 117 cm barra then jews what next????
No mate i was in the Mooloolah river but pulled out by 9.30.
Did you get wet??? Will be there again on Tuesday night.
Looks like were in for another light show and rain tonight
yeah it has been a while since i felt a good fish on hopefully a jack soon would be nice next . i saw all that ligthing and hung in as long as i could as i wanted the turn of the tide normally bring the red devils on to play and it was getting to serious for me so i gave it away and raced back to the ramp got in the car dry but got wet unhooking at home still all in all worth it for sure im thinking of going for ago tomorrow afternoon luring if the backs feels better but most likely i like next weekends tides for one of my other jack spots so i might give it ago ive been keen to try the mooloolah as i hear they get good ones up there in the back part of the river you caught them before i gather or is this ya first attemp
the gecko
21-09-2008, 08:20 PM
keep it up mate, youll get him. Sounds like youre in the right spot. I was out fri nite for no jacks, even tho it was the same spot that produced a jack last week. sometimes it just goes that way.
eotbmg
21-09-2008, 08:28 PM
yeah it has been a while since i felt a good fish on hopefully a jack soon would be nice next . i saw all that ligthing and hung in as long as i could as i wanted the turn of the tide normally bring the red devils on to play and it was getting to serious for me so i gave it away and raced back to the ramp got in the car dry but got wet unhooking at home still all in all worth it for sure im thinking of going for ago tomorrow afternoon luring if the backs feels better but most likely i like next weekends tides for one of my other jack spots so i might give it ago ive been keen to try the mooloolah as i hear they get good ones up there in the back part of the river you caught them before i gather or is this ya first attemp
Nipsta
No mate its my first ever bait Jack trip. I have chased them very unsuccesfully for a couple of seasons and have not done well at all. I have gone back to the dark side and used bait, first time i've bought bait for 4 years. Had to look for the bait freezer!!!!!! I have beeen right up the back of the Mooloolah and there are some nice areas, will try to keep you posted on the progress, or lack of it!!!!
Gecko
It makes me feel ok when the good jack fisherman miss out.
My goal is to land one legal jack before christmas, so all the help you gave me is very much appreciated
OverNover
21-09-2008, 08:53 PM
G'day Ben,
Long time no speak, what got bored catchin 120cm + Barra have you????? Gone to the smelly stuff eh. I've heard a few reports that the Jack crew down here are getting a few good fish out of the Coomera, I'd like to give them a crack too but am putting all my efforts into the Flattie Classic in a couple of weeks. Saving up the Brownie points with the Missus, fishin 2 1/2 days solid in the middle of the school holidays with her stuck with the kids, can't push my luck!!!!! Stu & I thought we'd give it a crack, so if you're looking for an excuse, why not come down for that, knowing the hours you put in you could fish the Classic during the day then chase the Jacks at night!!!!! Talk Soon, Cheers, Jamie.
nipsta
22-09-2008, 08:31 AM
Nipsta
No mate its my first ever bait Jack trip. I have chased them very unsuccesfully for a couple of seasons and have not done well at all. I have gone back to the dark side and used bait, first time i've bought bait for 4 years. Had to look for the bait freezer!!!!!! I have beeen right up the back of the Mooloolah and there are some nice areas, will try to keep you posted on the progress, or lack of it!!!!
Gecko
It makes me feel ok when the good jack fisherman miss out.
My goal is to land one legal jack before christmas, so all the help you gave me is very much appreciated
nothing wrong with using bait especially if its live bait (mullet , herring and silver bitty ) they are killer for jacks plus its a change from luring all the time i drag a bait net rather then a cast net due to my back its a little easier on the body and i can get a good lot normaly in one or 2 drags i then have a live bait floating bucket seems to keep them better then my live well and you dont have to use any battery power to keep them alive i only use the well for when i travell with them and transfer them into the bucket i gunner go this weekend so ill let ya kknow how i go should hopefully get one at my useall jack spot its a rock ledge goes from 7 ft to 15 and i like a running out tide so my bait floats back towards the ledge ya just got to be red for the smash ourwise you can miss it pretty quick
good luck and hope you crack one soon once you get ya first you wont be able to help ya self after that there aggresive buggers
jeremy d R
23-09-2008, 06:24 AM
keep trying to catch one, i got mine up north on a soft placstic.
jeremy