View Full Version : abu revo low profile baitcasters
breamnut
20-09-2008, 05:48 PM
has anyone used these? or herd of any good reports about them?
rrp $230-250
fish-n-dive
20-09-2008, 06:11 PM
I was looking at one about a month ago and from what I could find, they are a great reel in the high speed model but.........you can't get one here in OZ!!! B C F sells the other model, but I believe the revo are more suited to HS work which it wont with the models you can get here........hope this helps.
breamnut
20-09-2008, 06:39 PM
they have em at narang camping disposals, though there are about 3 different revo models i was looking at the stx which is the black one and i think it has a better drag then the other 2.
fish-n-dive
20-09-2008, 06:55 PM
they have em at narang camping disposals, though there are about 3 different revo models i was looking at the stx which is the black one and i think it has a better drag then the other 2.
My apologies...........it was the Abu Revo Toro I was looking at.
Notwithstanding, I feel Abu makes good reels and would always buy one over say a Shimano.........JMO
ffejsmada
20-09-2008, 06:56 PM
Nathan, I've got a Revo SX, it's a black reel.
I brought it as a backup to my Zillion and cannot fault it in any way. Very nice smooth drag, easy to cast, light enough to cast all day. Which I do chasing Jacks. Currently running 30 lb Nitlon.
Nick, (abbott86) purchased one as well and has nailed 2 96cm barra on it with no problems at all.
For the money, I reckon they're great value reels.
Cheers Jeff.
leelee
20-09-2008, 06:57 PM
Mate get in contact with Mango.
He was using them at the Glenbawn ABT BASS round.
I have only heard good things about them as well.
Lee
breamnut
20-09-2008, 07:05 PM
Nathan, I've got a Revo SX, it's a black reel.
I brought it as a backup to my Zillion and cannot fault it in any way. Very nice smooth drag, easy to cast, light enough to cast all day. Which I do chasing Jacks. Currently running 30 lb Nitlon.
Nick, (abbott86) purchased one as well and has nailed 2 96cm barra on it with no problems at all.
For the money, I reckon they're great value reels.
Cheers Jeff.
ok so it was the sx sweet. im doing the same thing just a back up jack reel.
i was going to match it onto a force light 8-17 baitcast rod
fishenmick
20-09-2008, 10:19 PM
Breamnut,
I have had a ABU REVO STX for about 10 months now, got one as soon as they were released here. Used it extensively in Darwin on Barra and could not fault it. Excellent drag and as smooth as.
I rate it.
t4topcat
20-09-2008, 10:49 PM
G'day all,
for my 2 cents worth, Ive got both the STX and the Inshore models and cannot fault either, they are excellent reels as far as I am concerned, super smooth and great to cast. Prior to purchasing the ABU reels I used Curado 200 B and SF models (which I love by the way). By the way I am going to purchase a new Curado 200E to see how they rate against the ABUs. This is just my humble opinions on the ABU reels.
goddy100
21-09-2008, 10:02 AM
I have the inshore model which I bought over 12 months ago and have found it to be an excellent reel. It has handled some large barra in tight snags with ease and is very smooth to cast and wind. Whether it is better than other brands is a bit pendantic these days as if you spend the money on a good reel these days it is hard to go wrong.
goddy
WyldFisher
21-09-2008, 10:34 AM
I was looking at buying one of the Abu Garcia Revo models, but I decided to get a Abu Garcia Black Max.
breamnut
22-09-2008, 11:30 AM
cheers guys ive gone with the inshore model, very suprised with the awsome drag both smooth and very solid.
t4topcat
22-09-2008, 12:52 PM
Excellent Reel, good choice mate.
Danpachi2
22-09-2008, 04:11 PM
If you guys like the current revo in australia, you should see the Revo Elite CB...now that is a sweet reel.
breamnut
22-09-2008, 08:33 PM
If you guys like the current revo in australia, you should see the Revo Elite CB...now that is a sweet reel.
have u got a pic or a link so we can have a look?
abbot_86
24-09-2008, 08:12 PM
top reel with a huge smooth drag. it pulls something like 7kgs of drag.