View Full Version : estuary cod

20-09-2008, 12:00 PM
anyone want to share advice on how to prepare and cook estuary cod please.

ronnien
20-09-2008, 12:12 PM
pinhead

we treat them like any other fish, fillet them & add whatever you want.
we usually toss the fillets in a bag of flour & curry powder.

ron

Jackinthebox
20-09-2008, 12:18 PM
Greg,

if you like it spicy, try cutting the fillets into large chunks and roll them in an equal mixture of oregano powder, cayenne pepper & black pepper.

Into the frypan with a fair splash of olive oil to stop them burning on a medium to 3/4 heat until the coating browns right up.

You will get a nice crunchy, spicy bbq seasoning taste on the outside, offset by the moist, thick, white meat of the cod on the inside . Yummo!!!

20-09-2008, 12:22 PM
Yeah mate like most ave stated cook like anyother
If large they may have fat lines thru them and don't cook out (looks like raw strips)
If normal i usauly like to BBQ be course of there course fleash and flavour turns out a treat

Jackinthebox
20-09-2008, 12:26 PM
Thanks JT,

forgot about the fat lines in the flesh, I don't keep 'em that often as they are a bit of hard to yakka to clean.

How big was he Greg? They definitely have the fat lines in them once they get to this size........

20-09-2008, 12:34 PM
I like to roll the fillet in flour, hand full breadcrumb, dash curry powder, salt n pepper. Tasty very tasty.

20-09-2008, 02:14 PM
First of all, you have to catch your cod. This is best done using a Shimano Sahara reel, appropriate braid and a very good rod. The best way to do this is to be guided by advice from some very respected fishos on this forum as to the best gear to get for the job at hand.

A Nuclear Chicken 3" soft plastic is the best way to go, so I'm told. Once you have the chicken sitting right in the water column, just off the bottom, but not too far up the water column, then you should be right to go. Once the cod takes the chook, and the zzzzzeds start to scream off the reel, apply some gentle pressure, let some more zzzzedds go and slowly work the fish up to the boat, bearing in mind any hidden snags where the cod could seek fefuge. As for the location, then maybe around the sunken wall might be the go.

Now, to answer your question as to how to cook the thing.

I have no idea. Sorry about that.

20-09-2008, 02:36 PM
Fillet the thing, spray an oven proof dish with oil, put the fish in the dish, sprinkle with "Master of Spices" Garlic Steak Mix ,cover with sliced lemon, lid on and bake in oven. Sit back and hang on.

Ingredients: "Garlic Steak Mix"

Garlic, parsley, capsicum, onion, tumeric, rice flower, pepper, sugar.

These are the words from my wife. The one who knows. Therefore it's gospel. Don't anybody dispute this. Otherwise I'm dead meat.

sharkymark2
20-09-2008, 06:34 PM
This is how :D;D

sharkymark2
20-09-2008, 06:41 PM
My secret ingredient is " a Chinese wife" :).

20-09-2008, 08:36 PM

Hahaha well done TOL

Greg, have you had a look @ the recipe section?

20-09-2008, 10:37 PM
I prefer to chunk boneless, skinless fillets to about golf ball size and marinate them for ten minutes in maple syrup and salt. drain them off and whack them in the hot smoker for about 10-12 minutes with hickory dust under a drip tray.

Falls apart in big white flakes with a wonderful salty sweet glaze. Perfect camping fodder.

21-09-2008, 02:21 PM
G'day John, you're a crackup!!!!

how are the breaker girls?

Oh, and love to the missus

Yeah Greg, the lads are right about the fat lines, they can be a little overbearing in larger of the species, so check the recipe section out - I put one up a little while ago that is absolutely brilliant with larger cod fillets - I think it is under crispy skill chilli fish, follow the link.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=133162

Strangey
21-09-2008, 06:48 PM
Aren't they protected???

21-09-2008, 07:09 PM
Aren't they protected???
No Strangey. they have a slot limit but the are one of the better eating bay fish in my opinion. The bigger fish can run to fat but egg and breadcrumbed and shallow fried they come up a treat

bigjimg
21-09-2008, 09:04 PM
Aren't they protected???
Yes Strangey they are in NSW as for other states not sure.
But very edible in QLD.Jim

21-09-2008, 09:55 PM
TOL,

Unlike Green Zones, the No-Go zones in my kitchen are absolute, no-one can enter , TOL, clearly you have almost got your priorities right but your risking it all discussing recipies, being in the kitchen?, very dangerous waters perhaps?

And TOl, i must sympathize, if you caught a fish its not your fault, we all make mistakes, others better than us just have to cook it.

And never linger on the fish finger section in the Supermarket , a dead give away to your wife as to your failures with the zzzzz's. All quite understandable, the thought of cooking it all, terrifying

22-09-2008, 04:11 PM
Actually Mike, the missus was quoting at the time from a recipe and I was merely following instructions, as I know this is the way to go. ;)

You can't get into trouble if you follow instructions.

Dunkxx
15-10-2008, 09:06 PM
Hey guys,
The pic below is a whole bream and estary cod (glod spot) on the barbie. Sorry the pic quilty is poor, its from the mobile phone. In the gut cavity is sliced lemon and herbs.

One problem i had was the skin would stick to the grill.

To tell when the whole fish were cooked i use a toothpick to test resistance by poking the body. If the toothpick is able to penetrate the fish with ease all the way throught, the fish is done.

Happy eating
Dunks

Volvo
17-10-2008, 03:17 AM
All ive got to add is leave in ye ole ferfrigerator for a coupla days prior to cooking as thei flesh has a tendancy to bunch up if cooked too soon..
Secondly they go nicely in Fish Soup..

Kendall249
17-10-2008, 11:46 PM
I personally think they are underated by alot of people as a table fish. No matter how you prepare them, baked, fried or steamed, they are more than acceptable.

kendall