View Full Version : Surf Spin Rod – Recommendations

Stonkered
16-09-2008, 09:51 AM
G'day Ausfishers,

I'm looking for recommendations on a spinning rod for use in the surf.

I want it to be able to throw 35-50g slugs a long way and have enough guts to handle bigger fish.

Tailor will be the main species I will be targeting in the surf gutters.

I’m willing to spend up to $300 for the right rod. I have a 6500 size eggbeater that I will use with it.

Anyone out there got a rod that fits this description that they’re happy with???

abbot_86
16-09-2008, 07:05 PM
yeah mate get a wilson blank labelled "fsu 4120" mid action. i have one and run a tss4 on it and it pegs mid size slugs a freaking mile. u may be able to score one in a shop or just buy the blank off wilson and get someone to build it up for you. nick.

fish-n-dive
16-09-2008, 07:07 PM
I'd suggest that any Wilson high end (quality) beach rod will fit your needs ..... they do know beach rods......;)

16-09-2008, 08:50 PM
Live Fibre blank ZSU 4160, cut 6" off each end. Quite a beast of a blank, light but with a lot of strength in the butt.
I think Wilson market this blank made up (at the full length of 13'6") as the Live Fibre Trophy (or Champion Trophy, sorry can't recall which) Surf Spin, it is a blue blank in this guise.
Well worth a look IMO, I have one I made up and I love it, landed 30kg bullie with it, albeit in the surf.
Nitro Messiah Surf, for another angle.
Lots of options around stonkered, check 'em all out and see which feels best.
You may well get away with a slightly smaller, lighter reel than the 6500 if your after tailor.

16-09-2008, 08:56 PM
I use a FSU 4120G and it works pretty well. I am sure there are some better new tech blanks out there but it does the job for me. I use a TSS4 and 10kg Fireline and it throws a 65gm raider a fair distance

Stonkered
17-09-2008, 08:52 AM
Thanks for the info.

If the rod is already made up, is the blank number (i.e. FSU 4120) labeled on the rod somewhere?

I assume the 4120 refers to 4120mm (approx 13'6"). Am I correct?

The reason I'm chasing a new rod is that I caught some nice tailor last week up at Fraser casting 35g and 50g Lazers. I was using my "light surf rod" that I usually use to fish for bream and dart. It's a lovely old rod that my dad bought from Mossops over 15 years ago. It's called "Mossops Outcast Raider" and is built on a Snyderglass blank. It did the job okay, but I'm looking to buy another rod specifically for casting lures in the surf.

Thanks again for the advice.

Tester63
17-09-2008, 05:42 PM
Wilson for me. I have a 12' Medium light rod (MT6144). I throw heavier spinners (65-100gm) a mile yet can still flick poppers and lighter spinners. Live Fibre is better, but the regular blank is still sweet and at $125 at Mo's Tavern, you'll have change for lures.

17-09-2008, 06:28 PM
Checked a few at beeceeef this pm, IMHO the 12' Silstar crystal power tip is a very, very sweet rod for the price, feels beautifully light and balanced, Fuji components as well.
Also tried the Penn Powerstick 12' er, didn't like it anywhere near as much, personally.
Also checked the Gary Howard phantom 12' surf spin. Powerful blank but lacked the light, balanced feel of the Silstar, although this would change with a reel on it.
The FSU4120 you refer to means - Fast SUrf, 4 wraps of glass and 120 inches long. Nowadays a graphite version of this blank is available, which is lighter, more sensative, and more delicate!

craig51063
18-09-2008, 01:53 PM
i have been beach fishing for over 30 years and ive owned butterwoths- wilsons - jarvis walkers - diawa . the best beach rod i have ever used is a silstar crystyl power tip pc1142sfl . this rod is light enough to feel the soft bites from whiting and yet strong enough to handle 4-5 footsharks and big jewies .it is not a heavy rod so its comfortable to use .when i bought this rod i was also lookingat a wilson but i liked the crystal tip as it is [ ithink ] a fibreglass rod with grafite twisted through it and a solid tip [ like an ugly stick ] fuji hardwear .you see these blanks used on many other rods so they are obvously good .the wilson was over $300 and i think i paid $120 for the silstar.and the 6500 reel would be perfect i use a 4000 and a okuma av 80 depending on what im chasing [ av80 is maybe a tad to big but it works well ] do yourself a falvour and go and have a look as said before you would have plenty of change left for some more lures or even another reel !!!

johnlikes2fish
18-09-2008, 02:22 PM
Hi I have shed full of surf/rock rods and the Gary Howard Phantom is the pick for tossing lures, you can get them custom made for the same price as off the shelf and if you are crazy ebough to use braid in the surf you can spend an extra $80 and get the guides upgraded, total cost around $300. The rod comes in 10'6" or 12' I use the 10'6" as I can use it around the rocks too.

Stonkered
18-09-2008, 04:17 PM
Thanks for your opinions.

I will check out the Gary Howards & Wilsons.

I'm very interested having a feel of the Silstar after the good wraps it has received here. The missus would be happy if I ended up spending under $200 when she is expecting $300ish. Or maybe I buy some lures with the change.... or a new reel........... she doesn't need to know;)

Anyway, now I know where to start looking, I'll end up buying what feels right for me.

Thanks again.

craig51063
18-09-2008, 04:46 PM
just a thought...... if you buy a silstar and a few lures you could still have enough change to buy me another silstar ;D ;D ;D naaaarrrr just jocking . good luck with it .
cheers craig
on interest let us know what you end up buying .

HST
19-09-2008, 06:33 PM
4120 = 4 wraps of glass 120 inches long (10 foot )

Stonkered
14-10-2008, 11:47 AM
G'day Ausfishers,

Well, I finally went rod shopping.

I checked out as many of the reds mentioned in the replies as I could. I quite liked the Silstar and agree that it is good value for money. I ended up with a Live Fibre 12' 6kg "Champion Trophy" and think it will fit the bill nicely.

I reckon I would have ended up with the Silstar but BCF had 20% off on Live Fibre and it worked out to be only $36 ($135) more than the Silstar.

Thanks for the advice. Now I just have to wait for the tailor to start heading south after spawning..... or will I be too busy chasing the pelagics in the bay???? I love summertime in Brisbane!!!