View Full Version : Twinnies Bream

imnotoriginal
13-09-2008, 10:52 PM
Took the yak to Twin Waters again to harass the local bream population. Couldn't get on the water til early arvo due to work and the wind had picked up quite a bit by the time I hit the water. Initially tried hitting the canals against the wind but just couldn't hold the kayaks position and still fish comfortably.

Switched to fishing the dead ends out of the wind and started having some success. Saw a likely spot in the form of a single large shadow against the canal wall. It was the only shade in a large area of shallows and it produced one large bream and a scatter of his mates. Spot logged into the memory bank for arvo fishing;) .

Continued fishing snags and shadows in the dead end canals until I came across a bloke walking away from the water and spotted heaps of fish hitting the surface... FREE BERLEY! The next 15 minutes was too easy as I landed 5 or 6 bream in quick succession. It's probably cheating for a plastics fisherman but geez it was fun watching my line zoom off just after the plastic had hit the water!

Overall I caught about 10 or so bream, nothing huge but a fun session. Definitely need to get my improvised wind anchor finished so I can work more areas in the wind.
Joel

WestOzDesertFisher
13-09-2008, 11:05 PM
good stuff! what sorta plastics were you using??

imnotoriginal
14-09-2008, 08:52 AM
I was using the gulp shrimp in banana prawn until the pack ran out, then back to old faithful new penny.
Joel