View Full Version : Peel thursday

alleycat
11-09-2008, 02:20 PM
When i started fishing soft plastics for squire i learnt using light bream gear fishing the south western side of peel drifting the 12-18 ft zone, going back 3 years it produced good numbers of fish, nothing big but lots of fun, anyway with mud and wello fishing so poorly i ventured out to peel this morning, well the squire are not at peel either, fished till 8.30 am an not a squire, not even a throw back, did take my best cod at 50cm, was using my bream outfit, stradic loaded with new 2kg crystal fireline and was trying a new plastic, atomic 3.5 inch paddle tails, god they look good in the water, very prawn like, and cheap as well, also hooked onto a big fish near where the spit drops off into deeper water, fish swam towards me then peel off near the boat and had the drag screeming, i decided to chase it although im not sure i needed to yet , was on my own and stupid stupid me gained on the fish instead of just keeping up with it, stopped the motor and tried to reel in loose line but it had gone under boat and the line fouled and parted, it wasnt a snapper and i picked it for a very good cod of a metre or so or a nice jew, anyway it was great to see the line peeling off the little stradic again, god i miss the snapper, the bay doesnt seem to be holding many atm.
Oh and kept this one for a feed and will never keep another, they would have to be the most difficult fish to fillet of the lot and ive been in the meat game for 32 years, spikey, slimey and awkward, was like running the fillets of a stone fish, next one goes back in the drink.

SummerTrance
11-09-2008, 03:20 PM
Nice cod mate. They are dam slimey buggers arnt they and hard to fillet, but taste great on the plate.
Mate I fished mud and harry's on monday and couldnt raise a squire either. Not even a throwback.

bermo82
11-09-2008, 04:07 PM
Hey Alleycat,

They are slimy as all buggery but i usually bake or them whole filled with lots of herbs and the peel the skin off when their cooked. Go bloody well to and tend not to loose as much meet as trying to fillet the slippery suckers

I love the atomic paddle tail, have beeb going gang busters on them on the flatty in motor oil.Good catch by the way

Bermo

chief
11-09-2008, 05:52 PM
Gee,some nice cod being caught at the moment and that ones no exception.Well done and I know what you mean,cleaning the buggers ;D Cheers

11-09-2008, 06:45 PM
I rate Cod pretty high in the chewing stakes and reckon they are worth the effort. One of those cleaning gloves makes it easier and safer

11-09-2008, 07:04 PM
Cod are the same as tuskies and parrot, they actually produce the slime firstly as a immune protection, but they also use it to stick themselves in place at night for a rest.

BAR UP
11-09-2008, 08:32 PM
I agree with Horse. I use a mesh glove a piece of piss, Peter.

alleycat
11-09-2008, 08:42 PM
Im a slaughterman and got one of those gloves but i bet there has been a fair few sliced pinkies thanks to these critters, and they so tough, i had it swimming in my esky till i got home then spiked it with skinning knife and left it in my sink, 20 minutes later when i went to clean it the damm thing wanted to fight me... me thinks they be going back from now on, unless i got one say 70 cm..

Aquarius
11-09-2008, 09:42 PM
Yeah they are slimmy but next time you get one spike and bleed the fish then straight into an ice slurry.
When you get home grab an old rag to wipe the slime off.
I would eat cod any day over snapper.
sucullent moist flakes.
Thats a nice size cod for eating i hope you enjoy.
Cheers Brent

jim_bream
12-09-2008, 12:19 PM
...but they also use it to stick themselves in place at night for a rest.
he he he, know how he feels, done it a few times misself ::)

13-09-2008, 08:28 AM
good to see you getting amougst them mate great work

BayDog
14-09-2008, 11:26 AM
I fished peel on thursday morning for two nice squire 40 and 49cm on lime tigers on 4lb fireline. picked up some nice muddies as well.