View Full Version : rainbow cods

slyman
10-09-2008, 08:59 PM
Went out with my brother chris this morning, left cleveland and made it to peel for about 8.30, few drifts around the western side for a couple of hits but no hookups, there were a few tuna around though but not within casting distance.

Moved to the top end of peel, and a few more drifts with no luck there either, so we kept on moving to Myora for the last of the run out. Again, several drifts for one hookup which eventually was spat out and lost.

After the tide change, pushed further up the rainbow to the welsby light, same story, not much action. But on one motor back for another drift, some longtails surfaced right in front of us maybe 20mts, by the time we stopped and grabbed rods, they went practically under us and disappeared.

A few drifts later, I'd decided to use my transam, which got comprehensively belted by something with lots of sharp teeth and lasted all of about 3 seconds of screaming drag before I was bitten off. :-X

Another move further south, drifting along a good dropoff, chris's 7inch jerkshad, got belted as well, and whatever had it was heading for amity quick smart. We gave chase but the fish ended up burying itself and chris got busted off. :-X

So we decided to drift this spot again, and chris's 7inch jerkshad got blitzed again. This time the drag was cranked down and it put a nice bend in his s10. After a bit of a chase on the electric, up comes a big cod, a new pb for him.
64cms, 3.4kg, 7inch nuke chook jerkshad, 1/2oz tt.

On the way home we did another drift well wide of Myora again, the wind was fair up by now. Casting ahead of the drift, I managed to snag the bottom, it came free and was belted hard by a fish. Couple of minutes later, up comes a new pb cod for me.
59cms, 2.6kg, 5inch smelt jerkshad, 1/2oz tt.

Back to cleveland just before 6pm. Turned out not to be to bad a day after all! ;D

Cervinator
10-09-2008, 09:14 PM
hay nice cod there well done

nuggstar
10-09-2008, 09:57 PM
awsome post. top looking fish, good pics

Cammy
10-09-2008, 10:01 PM
Ripper sesh there mate, i love the colours and size which they can get. You got some decent ones there man, congrats on your pb!

Cam

Pistol_P
10-09-2008, 10:06 PM
Great pics Simon.8-)

plaztix
10-09-2008, 10:22 PM
Nice cod mate. Top eating at that size too.

leelee
10-09-2008, 10:26 PM
Great fish there mate;)

Well done.

They are such a cool looking fish.

Lee

slyman
10-09-2008, 10:27 PM
Nice cod mate. Top eating at that size too.

They sure will be! ;) ;D

bayfisher
10-09-2008, 10:27 PM
Some nice cod, there one of my favorite fish to eat I would take one of those over a longtail any day ;D .

Cheers Chris

slyman
10-09-2008, 10:39 PM
Some nice cod, there one of my favorite fish to eat I would take one of those over a longtail any day ;D .

Cheers Chris

Tasty fare indeed, but I'd give the left one to catch that longtail you got today. It didn't happen to have my transam lure in it by any chance? :-/ Thats us in the background of your pic at cleveland in your post too, saw you come down and rinse off the brag mat.

gaintsquid
11-09-2008, 12:24 AM
Awsome stuff. Such a great looking fish.

11-09-2008, 07:10 AM
Awesome pair of fish guys,

I never use 7" in the bay, but looking at the shot of the cod with the nuke in its mouth, you could use 10" plastics and still have room in that bucket mouth of theirs. Very good going!

11-09-2008, 07:10 AM
Very nice fish there. Its great country around the Rainbow and often overlooked;)

Little grey men
11-09-2008, 09:33 AM
They are such a cool looking fish, I love fish with giant mouths that will scoff just about anything.
Worth loosing a transam if your getting quality fish like those mate.....although loosing a transam would still suck, awesome lure.;)

11-09-2008, 11:40 AM
You will get doggies mackerel in rainbow at present, could have been the
culprit .
Was playing around with some jackals and lost a couple, till i retrieved a lot faster, and was attached by a doggie and managed to get in on the last treble, still mangled the jackal though.
There's some great fish pass through rainbow, plus the resident dwellers.
Lots dont like fishing here, due to the current.
But she's certainly worth some exploration.
There's a couple of big resident cod also, if know where they are, you can often feed them.

chief
11-09-2008, 02:26 PM
Cheers for the read and some great pics.we don't see that many reports on the Rainbow except from Webby. Great timeing,gives us a few thoughts for the southern bay meet and greet comeing up.

bayfisher
11-09-2008, 05:30 PM
Tasty fare indeed, but I'd give the left one to catch that longtail you got today. It didn't happen to have my transam lure in it by any chance? :-/ Thats us in the background of your pic at cleveland in your post too, saw you come down and rinse off the brag mat.

No jackall in this one, I'm not sure how those little trebles would fair being attached to one of these speedsters, No doubt you will land one soon there are definitely a few big ones around at the moment. Its just a matter of getting enough casts at them and trying different lures. Oh yeah and that was me that came down to rinse the mat off i also saw one of those nice cod laying on the ramp getting cleaned i be sure to say hello next time now that i know your boat.

Cheers Chris

RAT-KING
11-09-2008, 07:27 PM
Great fish Simon!
pitty about the transam!
Cheers Simon

Franco
11-09-2008, 09:43 PM
Excellent report Slyman!

Magic photos with handsome fish! Shame the same can't be said for the fisherman! Ha!

Aquarius
11-09-2008, 09:58 PM
Some nice size cod there guys.
Those bigger models sure pull hard pity you lost a top lure.
I can feel your pain the hardbodies aren't cheap.
What size hook were you using?
I know how hard they go did battle with a 40 kilo Black Cod at lord howe island 2 weeks ago.
My arms were sore for 24 hours after that.
Cheers Brent

slyman
11-09-2008, 10:42 PM
Excellent report Slyman!

Magic photos with handsome fish! Shame the same can't be said for the fisherman! Ha!

Come on mate! We spent ages grooming our appearance for the camera! ;D Takes us a few hours to choose those outfits in the morning too, why do you think it takes us until 8:30am to get on the water. ;D

What size hook were you using?
Cheers Brent

I was using a tt 1/2oz 3/0, I'm not sure what chris was using maybe a 7/0 1/2oz tt.

jim_bream
12-09-2008, 12:23 PM
Slyman,
we'll have to call you 'The Codfather'....

slyman
12-09-2008, 02:48 PM
Slyman,
we'll have to call you 'The Codfather'....

;D

Just getting a couple of specimens for Luca Brasi...

Benno1
12-09-2008, 05:19 PM
3 pairs of the nicest looking gumboots ive seen in a while...thanks for the good read and pics :D

Mrs Benno1