View Full Version : Storing Jigheads
Gagga08
09-09-2008, 09:58 AM
How does everyone store their jigheads? I've got mine in a regular box with adjustable compartments. The problem is I often carry it in a small bag when im walking along a bank, shoreline or pier. This often cause the jigheads to become mixed up as they manage to fit through the small gaps between the compartments. Annoys the hell out of me when i'm trying to find a particular sized jighead.
Can anyone recomend a solution to this incredibly annoying problem???
Gagga
fleety77
09-09-2008, 10:07 AM
mate i got the berkley tackle storage boxes and dont have that problem even jumpin round in the boat, what storage containers are u using, i would reccomend a good quality one.
Gagga08
09-09-2008, 10:10 AM
mate i got the berkley tackle storage boxes and dont have that problem even jumpin round in the boat, what storage containers are u using, i would reccomend a good quality one.
Im using a Shimano storage box that came with a bag I purchased a few years back. There next to useless. All my termainal tackle gets mixed up and same deal with the jigheads. Only my lures stay in the right place.
fleety77
09-09-2008, 10:21 AM
thats strange hey...............is it only your little jig heads?? would a 1/8 escape??
kevvie
09-09-2008, 10:21 AM
I bought a plastic storage box from bunnings. The compartments are not adjustable so the jigheads dont mix together. The compartments are big enuf to store 1oz heads on 6/0hooks...so pretty big.
Its got 24 spaces too!
Gagga08
09-09-2008, 10:44 AM
thats strange hey...............is it only your little jig heads?? would a 1/8 escape??
Yeah Fleety..my larger jigheads stay put but the 1/32nd - 1/16th sizes with number 1 or 2 hooks manager to squeeze there way through. Nothing worse when your trying to find the right jighead having to sort through them all.
fleety77
09-09-2008, 10:55 AM
yeah there a pain hey........i know what ya mean, i have em but i never use em i find anything under a 1/16 to be to light to even cast on 4 pd line, im thinkin of takin em out of my tackle, what do u fish for on them sizes, do u use them much??
Gagga08
09-09-2008, 11:00 AM
I use them all the time Fleety. Whenever i'm fishing in an area with little current I like to use the lightest possible jighead to get the lure to the bottom. I use them alot when chasing bream, trevelly, Snotties, smaller Snapper and even Salmon. Generally I use jigheads no bigger than 1/16th unless I need the extra weight to get it to the bottom.
fleety77
09-09-2008, 11:11 AM
intersesting cheers bud, i grew up in geelong went to norlane and flinders peek high....used to fish ol cunningham, pilkingtons, we used to sneak onto shell pier and fish::)!! and good ol alcoa, a dads mate was a member of the fishing club there!! hows the bay now i always think about coming down there for a fish........
Gagga08
09-09-2008, 11:32 AM
The bay has improved heaps in the last 5 years or so Fleety....a direct result of banning the scallop boats and the introduction of the marine parks. The Snapper are back in a big way and even Kingies are beginning to be caught again, however only rarely, still if the trend continues we could see good numbers in a few years time. In Corio bay itself I fish alot around the yacht club, the quay and silios. Get plenty of bream, pinkies, trevelly, snotty and salmon. All great fun fish to catch on light plastics gear. You should get your arse down here mate...i'd be happy to take you out in the tinny for a crack at some fish!
fleety77
09-09-2008, 11:39 AM
will do bud, will let ya know if i get a chance!!
Kleyny
09-09-2008, 04:01 PM
once you have your sections in place use some silicon under each one, then run a bead on top so the led seals nicely. if you put to much silicon on it use a sharp knife to trim it down to the correct height to allow the lid to seal.
neil
09-09-2008, 08:56 PM
I have a Berkely SP wallet and made up one divider that clips to the rings. On this divider i have 3 rows of self adhesive foam rubber tape. I punch the points of my jigs into the foam and they never move about. Have not had any trouble with rusting jigs even tho the wallet has been dunked half a dozen times or so.
I also made up plastic tabs from ice cream containers for the rings that i tape new packets of plastics onto with gaffa tape keeping original packets with scents / additives intact.
Makes for a very versatile setup where I can select any group of plastics for a target area and minimise the amount I cart around.
Biggest bonus of all NO RATTLES!!!!
Fish'n Junky
10-09-2008, 02:44 PM
I haven't had that problem with jogheads, but certainly with small hooks.
El cheapo fix was to glue a sheet of cardboard to the lid so that it put pressure on the dividers and closed any gaps between divider and top or bottom.
It's worked a treat.
Even survived being dropped out of the boat onto the garage floor!
Duyz72
13-09-2008, 08:44 PM
I keep all terminal tackle in the sealable bags or boxes they come in.
Otherwise I get one from new shirts etc which keep the spare button.
The only one which is loose is the last one I used.
It gets cleaned after each trip and when the point is dull or lost to snag or fish I pull out a new one.
Keeps everything together and protects stock against rusting.
Plus I only take what I need for that trip and keep the rest at home.
WyldFisher
14-09-2008, 02:02 PM
I keep all my jig head in Plano 2-3701 ProLatch Utility boxes.
14-09-2008, 02:42 PM
Hope this is helpful to you. About two or three years ago I found this Plano tackle box in BCF which seems to be perfect for the job. The top compartment is ideal for keeping fishing tools, leader etc while the front compartment which opens outward contains 4 self contained containers with adjustable dividers ideal for any sized jigheads. What I liked about it is that the lids all close down flush with the compartments so it is impossible to mix up jigheads regardless of how you throw the tackle box around. To add proof to this I came home from the Jighead making M&G yesterday and had the tackle box in the back of the car and took a couple of corners too fast. The result was hearing the tackle box rolling around and thumping about in the boot. After reading this thread I thought I would take a couple of photos to see how disorganized it was seeing as I have not looked at it it since coming home and to my delight not a single jighead was out of place. Was a good test. The tackle box cost me around $30 originally.
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/PlanoBox1.jpg
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/PlanoBox2.jpg
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/PlanoBox3.jpg
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/PlanoBox4.jpg
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/PlanoBox5.jpg
My brother liked mine so much he also invested in one some weeks later and also has nothing but good comments about it. Only thing that miffed me a little is he purchased his during a sale and got it nearly $10 cheaper than I did. Them's the breaks.