View Full Version : 3 Of A Kind
Creek Vermin
03-09-2008, 07:41 PM
Felt like having a fish today, so I imagined the wind wasn't there and headed out in search of a nice early spring jack. I've done a couple of trips lately and things have been dead. Hooked one briefly last trip, but not even any by-catch around. Today was looking fairly similar until a jack hit my big soft prawn while retrieving at speed after a good cast. I put plenty more casts in there, but couldn't get another hit. Persisted further up the creek fishing the edges and bends that were out of the wind a bit. Did I mention that it was blowing it's absolute arse off? Started casting at small snags and shady overhangs when a nice big tree showed up on the sounder. I positioned the boat for a jig with a red prawnstar and before I could even get to the tree I got the unmistaken hit of a healthy jack. Unfortunately the hooks pulled after tearing him out of the trouble. Not happy. Next jig and a similar result except this time the little sucker held on and found it's way into the net. On the board, but the score is still 2-1 to the fish. Next jig and I get the big hit. Once you've caught a few jacks you tend to know what a big fish hits like and this one was no exception. I gave it heaps but within a couple of seconds it was all over. Not wasting any time I threw that rod down and grabbed the next which was also rigged with red. Another drift and I loaded up another smallish jack only to tear the hooks out again. Ahhhhhhh! Things went a little quiet after that so I moved a bit further down and found some more structure. First jig and I'm on to a good fish. Got it out of the bad stuff and just got colour of a fish in the high 40's and the bloody hooks come out again. By this stage I'm pretty pissed off, so decide to have a couple of casts and get another hit on the prawny. This time I don't load up and that signals an end to the day as I had to get home in a hurry. Strapped it all the way out and decide to stop at a special little spot that often holds good fish early and late in the season. I've given this spot plenty of attention over the last month and haven't even scored a hit, but I had to have one quick cast. It was very open to the howling wind, but the honeypot prawn landed on the money and on the first flick it gets nailed and another little jack comes aboard. This one was pretty skanky lookin and had obviously been in a bit of a stoush before. He too went back in and the next cast drew a blank. One more cast, and it too was belted with another little jack in the net. This was the biggest fish of the day and was a real dark red. Nice looking fish! Got snagged on the next throw and pulled the pin. Finished up with 3 jacks out of nine hits with one mega bust up and the rest either pulled hooks or failure to hook up. All fish were only rats. 37, 35, and 34cm A good trip, especially in conditions like today. Cheers. Keith
breamnut
03-09-2008, 07:56 PM
keithy getting stuck into the red devils again! well done mate
saw some crackers the other day
marty_z
03-09-2008, 07:59 PM
Jees Keith - nice session.
I guess you would be upset about pulling the hooks on a few, but I'd spend more time contemplating the ones you had landed. A mate and I have a theory Jacks bite better in a southerly wind - I think your results definitely confirm that ;D
Still waiting for them to show up down here!
Marty
Cammy
03-09-2008, 08:04 PM
Gee nice sesh there mate really good effort! im yet to catch a jack,,,,,,
Cm
RAT-KING
03-09-2008, 08:06 PM
WOW! great sesh keith I think u jst inspired me!!!
Cheers Simon
Creek Vermin
03-09-2008, 08:11 PM
Marty-Yeah it's a tough call. I've had plenty of cracker sessions in howling northerlies and plenty of trips like that in howling southerlies that produce plenty of bites in a short period. Best off going out whenever you get the chance I reckon.
ffejsmada
03-09-2008, 08:11 PM
Keithy, No hits when I spoke to you and you end up with 3!
Good effort mate, it's a good number that hey?;D
That sounder screen looks familiar.;)
Jeff.
Creek Vermin
03-09-2008, 08:12 PM
Hey fejjy. I'm hopin to see plenty more on the screen just like that in the very near future8-)
MeePee_99
03-09-2008, 08:14 PM
Awesome Stuff, love mangrove jack. Just an awesome looking and awesome fighting fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Didley
03-09-2008, 08:23 PM
Your the man, Keith, 3 days into spring and your into 'em. You make the rest of us look hopeless. That second jack wasn't holding on by much!
And can you give me the GPS marks 4 that spot, please;D
ffejsmada
03-09-2008, 08:26 PM
Hey fejjy. I'm hopin to see plenty more on the screen just like that in the very near future8-)
Or like this?:P
nuggstar
03-09-2008, 09:24 PM
im ichy now. the verminator dose it again.
BrandonH
03-09-2008, 09:25 PM
Great session Keith!! Sorry to hear you dropped so many but still!!! I have been stocking up on prawn stars of late so should be ready to nail a red fish or 2 on them :)
Brandon..
PS: nice sounder! I have exactly the same one;)
Why-ting
03-09-2008, 09:39 PM
Nice work keithy. For you to get busted up on them broom sticks you use she must have been a pretty nice fish. I tried to have my first crack on saturday but the leccky died in the arse half hour after i got on the water. Im spewin ive been so busy at work. The last few days have been a tad warmer and ive been hangin to smack some red ones.
breamnut
04-09-2008, 07:22 AM
Nice work keithy. For you to get busted up on them broom sticks you use she must have been a pretty nice fish. I tried to have my first crack on saturday but the leccky died in the arse half hour after i got on the water. Im spewin ive been so busy at work. The last few days have been a tad warmer and ive been hangin to smack some red ones.
on the 5.5 shrimp no doubt??;D
Didley
04-09-2008, 10:08 AM
I did ask you nicely>:(34019
ffejsmada
04-09-2008, 11:12 AM
You better take that to Johns Landing Dids.8-)
There's plenty of pigs and wild animals up there!;D
Some real squealers gettin' about, stalking the grounds like caged animals!!!!
Didley
04-09-2008, 11:25 AM
I'll have my eyes out 4 the big white bear.;D
the gecko
04-09-2008, 11:43 AM
Nice result there keith, 3 is tops, you da man. Shame about the big one, but thatl keep you coming back. Nice sounder shots too.
Fejjy with a color screen for esturies? You have too much money mate.
Are the hooks bending, or just being ripped out? Ive had no probs with prawnstar hooks, I think they are pretty strong. I have had a couple of hits last summer that didnt hookup, but thats about it, no bent hooks ever. Maybe you have tougher jacks? They do fight harder when they are close to cover.
Do you do all your jack hunting in daylight hours?
whatnow2
04-09-2008, 11:45 AM
love the jacks great effort to land 3 and unlucky about losin the other
by far jacks are my fav estuary fish
ffejsmada
04-09-2008, 12:02 PM
Nice result there keith, 3 is tops, you da man. Shame about the big one, but thatl keep you coming back. Nice sounder shots too.
Fejjy with a color screen for esturies? You have too much money mate.
Are the hooks bending, or just being ripped out? Ive had no probs with prawnstar hooks, I think they are pretty strong. I have had a couple of hits last summer that didnt hookup, but thats about it, no bent hooks ever. Maybe you have tougher jacks? They do fight harder when they are close to cover.
Do you do all your jack hunting in daylight hours?
Andrew, I brought a new prawny yesterday, junior size, and found out the hooks fitted are VMC 3XStrong as I matched them to hooks I've got at home..
I found the middle hook to be a bit loose in its slot (if you know what I mean) and put a VMC 6Xstrong in the slot and it fits much tighter. Real snug.
I've had quite a few of the standard belly hooks fall out of the prawny especially when you give it a solid rip.
Didley
04-09-2008, 12:17 PM
Do U guys tie the belly hook on, I just pass the line through and tie to the rear only, is this correct?
the gecko
04-09-2008, 12:37 PM
Yes, dids, you pass the line thru the mid hook, and tie to the back hook.
Fejjy, Ive OFTEN had the middle treble fall out, perhaps every second cast on some days, but as its got line thru it, you should never lose a fish. The mid treble is always a sloppy fit. Thx for the tip on the 6x, I might buy some of these.
BCF also sell spare weights for pranwstars, these can be handy. Theres a diff in teh way the lures swims, if you remove the front or back weight. I also run some mono thru the nose to imitate 'feelers'. Its all on the prawnstar website guys.
http://prawnstar.com.au/techniques.htm
Frothychop
04-09-2008, 12:55 PM
Hey Keith if your here on the coast with the weather the way it is you you have inspired me. I really have to stop wimping out and just get on the water!
Frothy
yrrab
04-09-2008, 03:59 PM
wouldnt mine trying more jack luring this time, have to pull out some of those old bush and beach fishing mags and have a read.
nice story.
Creek Vermin
04-09-2008, 05:18 PM
Gecko-Rarely straighten them mate, although 2 fish I hooked last year did. Fully cranked drag, so something had to give. At least it wasn't the knots. The jacks I chase are really tight to nasty structure during the day, so I give them absolutely nothing and thats why I tear so many hooks. Several times I have pulled part of their lip in. All depends whether the hook sets in a firm part of the gob or just in the lip. Just about all of my jack fishing takes place during the day mate. Planning on a doing a few surface missions once it warms up though.
Frothy-Not even that far north, so they should be having a chew up there by now. Get amongst em mate.
Dids-These ones came from mud mate. In the deep hole.........Just have to get through the 10kg snapper.
Nico.d.R
04-09-2008, 05:41 PM
hey keith thats a good start on the red season , that bottom one has a buitiful colour to it , were you fishing up noosa or down this way ?
cheers nico
Frothychop
04-09-2008, 06:00 PM
Will do Kieth was planning a trip on Sat has to be down Bribie way as the family are picnicking for day early fathers day "apparently". Guessing there will be a bit of a fresh from the creeks by then. Any tips would be appreciated.
Frothy :)
Creek Vermin
04-09-2008, 06:42 PM
Frothy- Not sure what this rain will do yet mate, pretty clean before it so mighten be too bad.
Nico- South of noosa mate.
straddy77
04-09-2008, 07:26 PM
geeze keith u werent kidding about the colour of that jack!!! he looks awesome!
jayvee
06-09-2008, 05:35 PM
if ya dont mind me askin keith were ya up on the coast or round brisvegas somewhere. top effort by the way. i'm inspired now!! cheers JAYVEE
07-09-2008, 07:33 AM
I like the line mark up the side of the jack in pic3 he must have been trying hard to make it back.
Creek Vermin
07-09-2008, 08:13 AM
Jayvee-In the passage mate. Most of the creeks should be firing up for them, although the rain wouldn't have helped.