View Full Version : Beer Can Chicken - review
Dicko
26-08-2008, 12:42 PM
I'd heard about this ages ago and been meaning to try it. Gave it a go the other weekend. They end up being quite moist for those like me who don't have much time for dry chicken.
Recipe is simple.
1/ Tip a bit of oil over the chicken
2/ Rub in a bit of whatever seasoning you have in the cupboard
3/ Consume half a can of beer
4/ Shove the half full can up it's rear end
5/ Stick in hooded bbq at around 180 for a 1 1/2 to 2hrs
6/ Consume a few more beers while waiting. (don't forget to check chicken occasionally)
Start (Note the tactful and non discriminatory use of different beer brands)
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b229/Barry_Mundi/antzpantzpt2005.jpg
About half cooked
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b229/Barry_Mundi/antzpantzpt2006.jpg
Finished - we'd already eaten one and I remembered I hadn't flicked off a pic, so only one left. I blame the memory loss on having to finish off quite a few more beers- all in the name of research - you understand.
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b229/Barry_Mundi/antzpantzpt2009.jpg
They were very moist and literally broke apart.
There was still quite a bit of beer in the cans that hadn't been sucked up the chickens bum. Next time I'll probably drink 2/3 of the tin and leave 1/3 for the chicken.
Will do it again one Sunday afternoon.
Shagga
26-08-2008, 12:54 PM
Dicko,
Those chickens look sensational. My only concern is any reaction from the aluminium cooking it with the can up it's rear end.
Dicko
26-08-2008, 01:07 PM
I didn't notice any.
You also wouldn't want a high flame under it to burn the paint either.
two dogs
26-08-2008, 03:17 PM
could also try drinking all the beer and then refill can with some white wine or oj
26-08-2008, 04:06 PM
They should name that dish Alan Jones Chicken I reckons, gawd that looks funny seeing 2 chooks with beer cans up their ar$e
Have to agree about the worry about aluminium, but I guess they aren't in there for days, and you aren't eating them daily
Outsider1
26-08-2008, 04:15 PM
Aluminium apparently does not burn, and its melting point is 660 degree C.
http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg17823913.700-melting-not-burning.html
You only risk is probably the paint on the cans burning.
chugalug
26-08-2008, 04:38 PM
try stuffing a few cloves of garlic into the cans... and a few herbs
if you cook by indirect heat there's no worries of the ink burning
and i reckon different beers make the chicken taste quite different
(budweiser works well, vb not so well)
hmmmmmmm... chicken
spelchek
26-08-2008, 07:26 PM
Aluminium apparently does not burn
Try telling that to a RN Falklin Is. conflict veteran... of course as long as you keep the BBQ away form any Excocet missiles, all should be ok.
Outsider1
26-08-2008, 07:40 PM
Try telling that to a RN Falklin Is. conflict veteran... of course as long as you keep the BBQ away form any Excocet missiles, all should be ok.
Are you talking about the HMS Sheffield?? Have a look at the link I posted.
26-08-2008, 08:03 PM
That's a great idea Dicko...Man ,that chicken looks beautifully done in that last photo....
spelchek
26-08-2008, 09:22 PM
Yeh dave I was... didn't even notice your link (was scanning this thread rather than reading in-depth) but was interesting reading in hindsight. Thats the only article I've ever read that contradicts the 'burning Sheffield story'. Its doubly interesting to me due to several fire safety lectures (from firemen) in various gov't dept's I worked at in a previous life (so to speak) which basically told us that 'everything burns' - even bessar blocks - once critical temps are reached .
I was only being a smart-arse for what it's worth.
SeaHunt
27-08-2008, 11:19 AM
A lot of cheap cookware is mad out of aluminium so I don't see aluminium getting into the food as any sort of problem.
As for it burning my personal experience say it does.
Had a raging hot campfire once we were putting the empty beer cans in the the white hot coals. They would sit there for while then go red and then disappear in a ball of flame, we dug up the fire the next day looking for melted aluminium thinking it might have been the paint on the can burning.
No melted alloy was found from at least a dozen cans.
flybloke
02-09-2008, 12:34 PM
You can get a Special Wire rack that hold the can and chicken upright from Bunnings (In the BBQ section). Well worth doing Chook this way.
Place the chook in a Baking pan first to shield from Flame.
Also dont cook as long as normal. They can still dry out.
Guinness and Killkenny is a ripsnorter with a couple of table spoons of HP sauce.
Blackjenny
02-09-2008, 05:29 PM
Don't forget, you are drinking a fluid out of it!!!
I'm sure they wouldn't put beer into cans if there was any health risk.
Looks like a starter in my Weber next time Blackjack starts her up. Of course, I am not allowed anywhere within 3 feet of the BBQ. And then it's only on special occasions. ;D::);D