View Full Version : Swains - What Am I missing??

BR65
08-08-2008, 07:07 PM
Yehaaa, only 2 sleeps to the swains trip now, then Im getting my salt water red fish fix.
The gear is packed, is there any thing Im missin??

2 X bottom bounceing outfits, Gary Howard Knobby Thumper with Penn 113H and 50lb Platypus premium ( old faithfull), and a Live Fiber classic M10, Penn 113H with 65lb Tuff line is the other
1 X Gary Howard heavy spin stick, TSS4 and 30lb finns
1 X kick arse 70lb handline
Assorted lead, 1 ball to 10 ball round, plus some snapper leads
Mustad 7766 6/0's, 7/0,s and eagle claw 8/0's, includeing 2 and 3 hook gangs
Wire, balloons, black swivels, gloves, gimbal, knife, pliers, belt
Halco 190 lasers for the macks, plus a couple of jetheads and big bibless trolling lures
Assorted chrome slugs, 25 to 100 gramm
Spare spools of 50 mono, 70 and 80 leader and a top shot spool of 50 braid
Assorted soft plastics and jig heads, some 7 inch gulps and squidgy pros
Couple of bait jigs
Camera, 2 X sunnies, 2 X hats, sun block
Beer, bundy, beer, and some bundy

Have I got it covered???

brian

08-08-2008, 07:16 PM
Stubbie Cooler, spare batteries for the camera, pack of cards & Panadol ;D Hope you've been working out ! Enjoy i've got another year before i'm back up there.

BR65
08-08-2008, 07:22 PM
Thanks Damo, revised list will include 2 X stubbie holders, would hate to lose one.
Ive told my mate he had better pack a bottle of "harden the f***k up princess", this will be a fish-a-thon

brian

whatscracken
08-08-2008, 07:51 PM
Sounds like you've got it all covered mate, have a good trip.

08-08-2008, 08:08 PM
How about some XXXX Golds ? I mean between Brekky and lunch in the dories.. well thats what we did, but we are old codgers after all (blush)

Better DIY some decent videos, the bloke we went with definitely needed some new materials :(

ENJOY, how about you add that to your list ?
:)

08-08-2008, 08:51 PM
Have a great trip Brian:) ...... How long is the trip ?

One simple thing worth taking ....... Lip balm

TonyM
08-08-2008, 09:12 PM
Good tip re the lip balm - mine are still cracked after 3 days offshore! (although a few cans of gold helped)

Agree re the Gym too - my arms are still aching after hooking up to a couple of nuclear submarines including one at 100m

Sounds like you've got a good arsenal of gear there Brian.

If you're taking any plastics I'd suggest get some heavy jigheads (2 & 3 oz) if you're doing any fishing in the deep, I ended up having to fish a paternoster with a plastic on it to get down as 1.5oz wasn't doing it

Have a great trip!

08-08-2008, 09:32 PM
Is that all the beer and bundy you are taking ;D

Look forwardto your report on the trip

Have fun

Apollo
09-08-2008, 06:57 AM
Brian

Have great time. On our recent 3 dayer, the crew reckon they have been doing well trolling big poppers (dumbells and the like) taking everyhing from macs to sailfish. They were tried but with no sucess on our trip. As a interest, the halco laser pro 190 in fluro green 3m was the weapon of mass destruction, taking all the hits and fish until it got donated. Stripies, mackrels and mac tunas all fell to the fluro green, plus one little mac that was taken by something very big early in the fight, only to be lost near the boat. Mac was landed whole.

BR65
09-08-2008, 08:07 AM
OK, lip balm, couple of dvd's, cd's, earplugs for the snorers, some heavier jig heads (I only have 1 ounce), looks like Im gettin there.
Chris, trip is depart Gladstone this Sunday, return Gladstone next Sunday, boat is Eastern Voyager, sister ship to Tura. Ive allready claimed a dory as mine.

Scored a freebie offshore charter trip last Tuesday out of the seaway, livebaiting for kingies and AJ's in 85 meters of water useing paternosters with pounders hanging off the end, so the arms got a nice old work out.

Whatscracken, say gday to Seano for me mate, tell him I'll be thinking of him at work when I crack the top off the first cold one

cheersbrian

DEANO68
09-08-2008, 08:23 AM
Sounds like a fun trip brian,looks like you have got it all covered ,wish my name was on that list:'( never been out that way and have heard some awsome stories from the place...have a top trip look forward to the wrap up...
cheers deano...

BR65
09-08-2008, 08:33 AM
cheers Deano, first time there for me, I know its not what it was 20 years ago, with the live trout pro fishers and all, but I reckon I should still be able to drop a fish or two into the box;)

one thing I love bout fishing up that way, ya never know what the next fish could be

BRabbit
09-08-2008, 09:51 AM
A latex bodysuit. Isnt that what everyone fishes in?

Or is it just me?

TonyM
09-08-2008, 10:22 AM
One other thing I just thought of!

I had 40lb Nitlon on my heavy spin stick and next time I would make it at least 50lb (probably 60) I missed a couple of crazy fish, first one the (new) braid snapped mid-way after turning it's head and fighting the fish from 100m up to about 30m, it went for another big run and even though I was doing everything right (I think) twang! I lay awake that night just knowing I would have got that fish to the boat if I had 60lb.... (at least that's what kept recurring in my nightmare) :-[

Second monster I lost just plain bricked me in the reef as I had the drag as high as I dared after the first bust off and it just laughed at me and steadily powered off to wrap me around the reef, I didn't even come close to turning it's head. It sure put a good bend in the Nitro Godzilla though!

BRabbit - that's just plain scary mate! :o

rusco
09-08-2008, 11:36 AM
Dont forget a Squid Jig.plenty of calamari up there
rusco

BR65
09-08-2008, 01:55 PM
A latex bodysuit. Isnt that what everyone fishes in?

Or is it just me?

mate, I think thats just you

squid jig X 1 packed

brian

sandbankmagnet
09-08-2008, 03:07 PM
I'm with Neil. A week out there and that's all the beer and bundy you are taking?

Got plenty of warm clothes?

bigjimg
09-08-2008, 05:55 PM
Some finger stalls if your gonna use that hand job.Jim

SgBFish
11-08-2008, 08:03 PM
Have a great trip mate.

Don't forget the travelcalms.

eotbmg
11-08-2008, 09:35 PM
Brian
Did you remember the gloves??????

Outsider1
31-08-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi BR65,

I was just reading you trip report thread;

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=137007&highlight=swains

I am heading to the Swains in a fortnight on the Kanimbla. I have been there before and will be basically taking most of the same gear (but less!!). I am using your list of things to take to update my old list. Was there anything else I should add not covered here?.

Thanks in anticipation.

31-08-2008, 07:13 PM
I am heading to the Swains in a fortnight on the Kanimbla.

The Kanimbla????!!!!! :o

How does one borrow that for a fishing trip? ;D

Just_chips
31-08-2008, 07:17 PM
Another handline won't go astray if you fish out of the dories, they are the way to go in the shallows. We lost a couple when opening cans or just looking away for a split second.

Chuck in a couple of big kick arse 14/0 hooks to play with some of the suits that hang around the boat at night. Hook a whole frame through the eye on some wire and hang on. Good fun wihle it lasts, don't expect to see too mnay of the takers come to the boat though.

Have fun it is the trip of a lifetime.

Kev

BR65
31-08-2008, 07:25 PM
Heard some good things about the Kanimbla mate, lucky you.

Things Id pack again as follows, hope it helps:

The 2 bottom bounceing outfits
The spin stick and TSS4 - ideal for the shallow lagoon bait fishing
More 7766 6/0s, went thru approx 100 in the week
More leader, went thru approx 150mts of 55lb schneider
Same sinkers, wire, ballons etc
Lip grippers and rod gimbal were great
8" long nose pliers
Set of close fitting disposable gloves for the berley work and filleting up the rat-a-tats (small sweetys, hussar, stripies, iodine bream etc) that you'll use for bait, mate look after your hands, nothing worse than hitting day 4 and all those little nicks,cuts and spikes start getting a bit toey, the gloves were gold and my hands held up good.
Garbage bags to throw my stinky gear in at the end of the day
Backpack and small tackle box for getting in and out of the dorries with

NEW stuff I'd take
The hand held GPS for the dorries - essential item next trip
A light baitcaster for the squid at night, theres some awesome calamari rings swimming around up there
A balanced SP stick, maybe a 6kg stick with a 4000 size reel and 30lb braid for the softies in the lagoons
Mate, you"ll have a blinder, wish it was me
brian

Outsider1
31-08-2008, 10:29 PM
Thanks guys, very helpful.

The guys I am going with have also mentioned the squid at night, so will include an outfit and squid jigs. They also said to throw in the snorkelling gear.