View Full Version : Getting Baits Out Further ?

Cammy
05-08-2008, 07:02 PM
Hey Fishers

This is mainly targeted to land based fishos.
Iwas thinking the other day of how i can get my baits out further, i was tossing up mabye a sling shot or some sort of gun or Bazooka? mabye it could be a DIY project, but i dont know how i would get the right distance and strength. I have access to a MIG until i finish school.;)

So the question is, does anyone have somthing they use to get tehre baits out as far as possible? what do you use? how does it work?
Wouldnt the bait fall off when is was shot out of the device?

Im not really planning on making this a project for me to complete im just interested.

Your thoughts?:)

Cam

05-08-2008, 07:06 PM
Cammy ,didn't you see that cool vid recently where the lads were targeting great whites and other sharks off the Newcastle beaches...mate its easy just take along your surfboard and swim your bait out.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

2manylures
05-08-2008, 07:07 PM
HELICOPTER plus PILOT should do the trick.

Nicko
05-08-2008, 07:13 PM
if you had a remote control helicopter or boat with a quiet engine you could somehow design a motorised sort of hook or maybe some sort of contraption that is a magnet but you can switch the magnatisation off so it drops the hook :)

Cammy
05-08-2008, 07:13 PM
Cammy ,didn't you see that cool vid recently where the lads were targeting great whites and other sharks off the Newcastle beaches...mate its easy just take along your surfboard and swim your bait out.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

Hmmm think i'll passss on that one lol

Any serious answers?

Cam

Cammy
05-08-2008, 07:19 PM
if you had a remote control helicopter or boat with a quiet engine you could somehow design a motorised sort of hook or maybe some sort of contraption that is a magnet but you can switch the magnatisation off so it drops the hook :)

Yer i had thought of that before cause i made a fiberglass boat about 1m in length and i thought of doing the same kind of thing. But it does cost alot of money to get all the gear, alot of fiddeling around to. But it is a good idea!

Cam

kingtin
05-08-2008, 07:20 PM
Cammy, A good UK beach rod and reel would have you chucking a 2oz or 60 gramme weight 150 metres or even 200 metres with a bit of practice.

Expensive though.

Cammy
05-08-2008, 07:26 PM
Yer i shoulda added without using a rod, but thnx anyway kingtin.

Cam

For Steve
05-08-2008, 07:38 PM
I have very limited experience with long distance casting but a couple of things come to mind.

Bait elastic can help you to secure the bait to the hook so it doesn't fly off when you cast hard. If you can't get bait elastic, go to Woolworths or a sewing shop and get shirring elastic from the sewing thread section. Just as good if not better.

Years ago, my father in law told me about a method they used to cast baits out a long way but I don't remember what he said. I'll see him on Sunday so I'll ask him about it again and get back to you.

Brad

rockfisho
05-08-2008, 07:45 PM
what about a little row boat or a kayak, or just go kayak fishing. I suppose if you shot something out with a bazooka it would rip the bait. Otherwise, balloons, etc

Owen

Cammy
05-08-2008, 07:47 PM
Very interesting guys.

Thnx for steve

Cam

MattChew
05-08-2008, 08:33 PM
Here you Cammy, no casting required. I am ashamed to say it but only in the UK!!!!

http://www.anglingtechnicsbaitboats.co.uk/

Ta & Embarrassed

05-08-2008, 09:08 PM
Try a spud gun. Next best thing to a bazooka

BRabbit
05-08-2008, 09:37 PM
Fire it from a cannon.

Ebay sells everything these days. :cheesy:

ratherbfishing
06-08-2008, 09:11 AM
Hey Mate
i agree with kingtin mate, u,k surf rod and a decent ,sound casting style like the pendulum or if the ground is clean around you then a ground cast will send out big baits a long way,match the rod with a penn 525 mag reel , abu 6500,daiwa mag 7 ht and away you go! these are all overheads but the threadlines are o.k just have to watch your finger on the line release due to the power generated by this style of casting, i know you were looking for something detached from the rod to do this for you but once you have this casting skill it can be taken anywhere you go and no need to carry extra gear long distances over rocks and sand etc etc not sure where you are based mate but i am on the sunny coast and i would be happy to show you these casting styles and the rods us ex poms use if you are interested?

cheers mate

paul

Bladeca
06-08-2008, 10:31 AM
You can get a kite system that you clip your line and bait to and send the kite out. Once the kite has travelled out the distance you want you give the baited line a jerk and it releases from the clip on the kite. Bait drops to the water and you wind the kite back in.

Can run the kite on another rod and reel or just use a hand line. From memory you get three different kite sizes for diff wind conditions.

The remote helicopter is a fun idea, but not sure how much fun it would be after you jam $2000 into the ocean :-[

06-08-2008, 10:39 AM
I bought my son an RC boat a while back, and typically he has lost interest in it.
Radio range is about 50 mtrs.. I was thinking about how I could get one of my Electronics mates to improve the range, maybe better antennas would do.. anyway, if I could organise some sort of easy release system that would do the trick I reckon, unless there was a heavy surf happening ?
The boat is about 500mm long, and gets up and boogeys :D

gunna
06-08-2008, 01:57 PM
Have a look at this site

http://www.fishingkites.co.nz/

Cammy
06-08-2008, 02:56 PM
all interesting idea here fellas, i dont think i would go a kite to much to worry about and you need wind for it and i dont really want to go to high wind areas :). I would probs go the baitboat method thingy magig. Or something that will shoot out from a cylinder tube kinda thing.

Cam

06-08-2008, 03:25 PM
Look up on google plastic drink bottle rockets.. heaps of guys make rockets out of a piece of 90mm storm water pipe, and launch 1.25lt drink bottles with them.
Usually involves a bike pump or compressor (12v)
Maybe you can adapt some of the idea into a bait lancher you pump up with a bike pump :D

06-08-2008, 10:34 PM
Aparantly the french are big into kite fishing.

A compressed air cannon would be fun and a lot safer than the deoderant powered cannons........ a converted 9kg gass bottle a butterfly valve and some polly pipe, no need to go past about 40psi.:thumbsup: ..........aparantly:-X

I read an article about a purpose made sailing boat thing the kiwis use....... commonly made out of coper plumbing parts... the hull is a length of 4" copper pipe.

the golf ball method has been tried........take your clubs to the beach.

If you are realy game there is the south american method..........take a length of line and your favorite rig and bait, lightly weighted....... and tie it to your toe and go for a swim... aparantly the kicking action imparts an irresistable action into the bait:o

Little compressed air torpedos would be an interesting option.

Ausfish
07-08-2008, 07:36 AM
Use a kite, just do a search on kite fishing, I think there are a few mobs in Oz that sell them. The Kiwis do it a bit.

Keechie
07-08-2008, 08:02 AM
hi, i am just thinking if with a small remote boat if you put like a backboard to stop the bait from going off the back, but possibly if you turned quickly the bait would slide off. i am not quite sure but tis just an iddea.

regards,
keechie

banshee
07-08-2008, 08:20 AM
Kiwi's also do a remote (or may be tethered) type of fully sealed bouy in the shape of a torpedo designed especially for this,they are advertised in their version of the news paper style monthly mag.