View Full Version : testing the new custom whezzer

nuggstar
05-08-2008, 06:26 PM
i got my new rod on saturday so i set out with basskid to baroon pocket for a few bass. we got there and the wind was crazy. we fished for a wile but could not find any fish as the sounder blue a fuse so we chucked it in and chased some bream in kawana. we got there and fished the hell out of the place. basskid had some new colour gulp shrimps he was useing and they were killing me, i was trying the new guzzlers 2 inch prongs and i could only manage 1 take on them for the hole day, i was not impress and he would not let me near his killer shrimps. he got 7 nice fat bream for the day(29cm to the fork the biggest) on the shrimps and one on a power minnow. i did get 2 smaller one on a chubbie from a open rocky strech so i got to test out the new rod on something, it was over kill on them runts.
the next day i wanted to catch a good one on the new rod so off to twinnies. 3 cast with the chubbie on and crunch i got this feller. i got a few more smaller ones then i seem someone working over my spots in a boat so i new i was not going to get as many as i wanted to get. i soon found a patch of clear water with heaps of flighty bream so i put the prong on again and hay they do work, with a few more runts to keep me bent and this mid size feller, i soon left after dropping heaps.
the next arvo i wanted something bigger so i hit up my chopper spot. i there and cast a power minnow in and tud zzz yeah there there. i got bitten off 4 times in a row so i up the leader and nothing. for the next hour i tryed heaps of diffrent plastics and lures untill i put my pink bubble pop on then i seen a good swurl near the lure and i new id made the right lure choise. pop pop pop BANG ZZZZZ YESS i got this little feller in. then i got hit after hit but droped 3 more befor the sun went down.i think there was something big down deep as the chopper jumped there heads off. so i left happy knowing i gave the new rod a bend

BtotheM
05-08-2008, 06:30 PM
Simple Equation

Gulp Shrimp = Bream

Nice Work

Nico.d.R
05-08-2008, 06:34 PM
nice catch mate hope there still around on saterday .

cheers nico

Steven78
05-08-2008, 06:48 PM
Great report. I have used Gulp Shrimp on my 4lbs gear and culd not stop getting smashed by Squire in the river whats the trick to catch Bream

Work to Fish then you can live :)

imnotoriginal
05-08-2008, 06:51 PM
Good stuff Nuggs, I woke up saturday, saw the wind smashing the trees outside and decided sleep was more important! What colour were the shrimp BK was using?
Joel

05-08-2008, 06:53 PM
Great post and pics nuggstar, thanks for posting. Sounds like loads of fun!
Cheers!

nuggstar
05-08-2008, 06:59 PM
Good stuff Nuggs, I woke up saturday, saw the wind smashing the trees outside and decided sleep was more important! What colour were the shrimp BK was using?
Joeli for got the name of them, blue peper something. they were killer but he was useing 2lb fluro the hole way, hehe he got busted off so many times, it was not funny. he did catch a lot more fish on it so i might just give it a go one day when i want to loose a crap load of jig heads. i was looking for ya mate.

Pistol_P
05-08-2008, 07:08 PM
The old Wheezer does a good job on the rods eh mate...?

He has done a couple for me.....Very happy.8-)

At least ya christened it.!

nuggstar
05-08-2008, 07:27 PM
The old Wheezer does a good job on the rods eh mate...?

He has done a couple for me.....Very happy.8-)

At least ya christened it.!

Peteits a work of art pete. i love is so so so so so much, them bream and chopper did not have a chance, i scull draged them in. it has heaps of power and the braid sound so sweet going thrugh the guids under presher. and im casting further than i ever have with a plastic or hardbody. it makes the loomis feel pritty crap in comparasin. i cant wait to get a jack or big trev on it to see how it go's.

stack
07-08-2008, 10:37 AM
Again Nuggs,went down round twinnies over the last few arvos no luck though!!
You`ll have to pm Nuggs I`m getting a sore neck tryin to pick these backrgounds.

Stack

gunna
07-08-2008, 12:11 PM
basskid had some new colour gulp shrimps he was useing and they were killing me, i was trying the new guzzlers 2 inch prongs and i could only manage 1 take on them for the hole day, i was not impress and he would not let me near his killer shrimps.

You are kidding - he couldn't spare even one for you to use ???

Gagga08
07-08-2008, 12:18 PM
GO GULP! I need to get my hands on some of those new shrimp colours!

spelchek
07-08-2008, 02:05 PM
Who is this Wheezer and does he do custom rods as a business or just for friends? I'd like to have a chat to him about a rod to match to my new Sol 2000.

shaun_s
07-08-2008, 04:18 PM
nice fish nuggstar. those tailor love those pink bubble pops ey. pretty keen to get one, not sure what size but??? what are u running?

tiges
07-08-2008, 04:44 PM
Who is this Wheezer and does he do custom rods as a business or just for friends? I'd like to have a chat to him about a rod to match to my new Sol 2000.

Drop him a PM, he frequents the site. His user name is, u guessed it, Wheezer.

He made me a 6'10" impoundment barra rod, and it is all you could want out of a rod. Light, sensitive, but so much grunt.

zoo1991
07-08-2008, 05:49 PM
yeah sounds like a fun day. where did u purchase your 2 inch atomic prongs?

cheers zac

nuggstar
07-08-2008, 06:53 PM
You are kidding - he couldn't spare even one for you to use ???
no, he was lika a pit bull with a bone with them.

nuggstar
07-08-2008, 06:56 PM
nice fish nuggstar. those tailor love those pink bubble pops ey. pretty keen to get one, not sure what size but??? what are u running?
its the 45mm mate. they got them at hooked on. and i think barra jacks and bcf has them up your way. the 45 is a good size and i recon they casy better than the 65mm

nuggstar
07-08-2008, 06:58 PM
yeah sounds like a fun day. where did u purchase your 2 inch atomic prongs?

cheers zac
i got them from basskid and he got them from the last tweed bream comp so i dont no where you are going to find any just yet

jareyjareyjareyjarey
07-08-2008, 08:18 PM
I lOVE THE GRIP!

Barraboss
07-08-2008, 11:42 PM
I was barra fishing with Wheezer today and tried one of his customs out. Feels great, and I know that he is very particular about what gear he uses on each rod. Very nice looking/feeling rods..... I would be tempted to pick one up too don't you worry.... You will see some of the fish we have caught recently in the freshwater reports under Tinaroo that I have written