View Full Version : 42cm Bream off the rocks-Coloundra

Sea-Captain
05-08-2008, 05:20 PM
Landed my PB bream on Sunday up at Coloundra. Hit the water at 6:00am and was greeted by a perfect sunrise and conditions which were condusive to big fish encounters! The tide was just starting to creep in so the water was low -exposing bedrock and gutters ideal for foraging bream. I was fishing with a 9 foot snyderglas - 4kg mono(beastmaster) and No 2 hook with a No1 running sinker. Out went the cast using some flesh bait and within seconds - down went the rod and a good bream in the 30cm class was landed - thankyou....On with the new bait and I cast it a little further out to see if I could get any new enquiries. After 10 minutes the light was improving and I could just see my line against the tide....suddenly the line pulled tight and I felt the snyder cripple and drop hard with the force of something big. I raised the rod succusfully and immediatly line began to peel off the reel. Because the area I was fishing was full of structure I raised my rod high to keep the fish up out of the snags. This proved succesful (for once) and after a few more bone shattering runs I began to gain line. Thinking it might be a squire or large flathead - I played it with patience and let the rod tire him out. Eventually he materialised from the depths and a snodger bream greeted me with a foul look on his face!! Finally I had a 40cm plus bream off the rocks which today is a rare occurance(for me and my fishing cronies anyway). Also landed a 35cm and a bunch more from 25-30. Ceased fishing at 9am when most of the (holiday fishermen were just setting up). Enjoy the pics cheers

Saltdoggy
05-08-2008, 05:40 PM
Good job on the PB Captain!

scoocer101
05-08-2008, 05:50 PM
Thts a nice bream from happy valley or is that around towards king beach more?

Breambuster33
05-08-2008, 05:56 PM
awesome fish mate
congrats on the pb;D

BARRAkid
05-08-2008, 06:04 PM
nice fish mate 42cm is my Pb aswell ;D

chief
05-08-2008, 06:22 PM
Dam fine bream,congrads on the PB and a top effort,cheers

Sea-Captain
05-08-2008, 06:31 PM
scoocer101 - yeah off the rocks along the boardwalk - I guess anywhere at Coloundra where there is structure will yeild some fine bream this time of year.
Thanks for the remarks guys

fish-freak
05-08-2008, 06:45 PM
Top fish that captain!!. "fishing cronies"? . That's the last time you use my bragmat!. cheers daz...

nuggstar
05-08-2008, 06:54 PM
stonker bream

Mullet Musketeer
05-08-2008, 07:29 PM
Top marks that would have been a tough fish around the rocks

slyman
05-08-2008, 09:49 PM
Well done mate, that is a top fish.

BTW... I didn't know bream were into cider! ;D nice drop that too

Scotth
06-08-2008, 12:46 AM
Well done. Good Spot that!

jim_bream
06-08-2008, 11:30 AM
Nice one, the nugget bream reports are well and truly starting to come in now...
On ya SC
Jimbo

tailorboi99
06-08-2008, 06:34 PM
Nice bream mate,

Cheers Tom

jareyjareyjareyjarey
07-08-2008, 08:28 PM
any caloundra rocks produce good fish. i have done a bit of snorkeling off the rocks north of kings beach, heaps of big bream and a few good sized jacks lurking around.

jaredluke
07-08-2008, 08:52 PM
Great fish mate, that is a top quality bream.

thesav
07-08-2008, 09:06 PM
Thats a great bream and would have been a handful lifting over the rocks with 4kg line.
Rocks around Caloundra is always productive.

geoff72
07-08-2008, 10:05 PM
thats a top bream mate,well done

peterm
07-08-2008, 10:50 PM
well done mate - congrats on the PB

niceone
08-08-2008, 04:41 PM
nice fish mate

Wind Dancer
09-08-2008, 03:49 PM
Top quality fish well done Cheers

jayvee
09-08-2008, 05:25 PM
nice one sea captain, i was down at the old boat ramp to the north of kings the other day (checkin it out for a surf) watching some old guys pull in 30+ cm breambo's from straight off the ramp 1 after the other!!! must be a few around. tops on the pb thats gonna take some beatin!!! cheers JAYVEE

10-08-2008, 12:39 AM
SC ..... That is one nice bream (Great sunrise photo)

Any 40cm + bream ....... is a fine capture

well done

Nagg

Sea-Captain
10-08-2008, 03:57 PM
Thanks Nagg, yeah I have been after a trophy bream (40+)off the rocks/beach for five seasons now...and while I love fishing SP's for snapper, there is something really awsome about landing a trophy bream.....the only problem now though is ..I want to get one bigger!!...never stops