View Full Version : curtain snapps

therapy
04-08-2008, 04:24 PM
Went over to curtain sunday arvo. Got there bout 1.30, found some ground and anchored. Seemed we timed it right, there was little run and we were able to get a decent burley trail going. My mate Terry had a good run not long later but somehow dropped it as the hooks weren't set. It was my go next and after a short fight on heavy gear, a snappa about 70 cm in lenght was in the esky. All was quiet and we were 15 minutes from packing up when Terry's rod went off and alot of head shakes said it was another snap and it was. He was releaased into the esky and went about 75 cm's and solid as. When we went to go the anchor come away and then snagged again. Retrieving it seemed dangerous. It was the first time I've seen the nose of 17 foot Sportfish nearly go under so it no big decision to donate it to the reef and head home across a glassed out bay with a feed in the esky and back by 7.30 pm.
Cheers....Terry

Breambuster33
04-08-2008, 04:26 PM
nice snapper terry

chief
04-08-2008, 04:57 PM
When its a bit quiet ,its nice to see someone have a win .Some great fish.Mate, that would have been a corker of a trip home .Well done and cheers

SummerTrance
04-08-2008, 05:14 PM
I'd say two snaps that size are worth losing an anchor. Hope it was just a reef pick though.
Not often lately do we see two nice size fish coming from one sesh in the bay. Well done!

lethal098
04-08-2008, 05:22 PM
a coupla nice bay snaps there, nothin to complain about inside the bay, curtain seems to be a good place to donate anchors. touch wood i have never lost one there but as summertrance said hopefully only a reef pick. cheers lethal

Dezzer
04-08-2008, 05:41 PM
Glad you got a deckie. Bloody Terry, he can catch fish with his eyes closed!!!

whiting-wizard
04-08-2008, 05:55 PM
Awesome snapper there terry well done;D

Steven78
04-08-2008, 05:55 PM
Thats Some nice Snaps :) It would of been great been out thier I love winter afternoons

therapy
04-08-2008, 05:56 PM
Thanks for the comments. Yeah it was only a reef pick but that makes 2 now ( 1 around the cape) so it's time for a new anchor rope and chain, this one's getting a bit short!! Better come out next time Derek. And would you believe that photo of Terry is his best attempt to smile!!lol. Been married too long and has forgotten how!! (Don't tell his missus I said that!)
Cheers............Terry..............

Dezzer
04-08-2008, 06:04 PM
I thought he might of been sitting the wrong way heading out again but it looks pretty calm.

Nice looking fish, hows the blue in the fins!

therapy
04-08-2008, 06:41 PM
Yeah mate it was a pretty fish but it will look better crumbed. The 2 fish were only 5 cm's different but looked like different species. Pretty happy with the quality of that photo.
Cheers.....Terry........

jez and suze
04-08-2008, 07:39 PM
nice fish for curtain. you did well. i dont think too much gets caught there from what i see.........now where abouts is this anchor??

ps. ive never held a fish while doing a poo, whats that like anyway?:D

Mr Walker
04-08-2008, 07:43 PM
Awesome conditions. Nice snaps too.

04-08-2008, 08:14 PM
Gotta be happy with those Snaps ! Nice !

Nothing worse then seeing the bow of the boat chasing a snag anchor !

therapy
04-08-2008, 08:36 PM
Lol Jez and Sue...... I did take a mark on that spot and your more than welcome to go get the anchor if you want! A mate of mine wants to take me diving so that might be my first spot if you haven't got it already!! As for your question about the holding the fish thing... I've not checked that seat for suspicous stains.... And I don't think I will...........I have been smoked at Curtain before and once spent 20 minutes fighting something that smashed a 20 cm gar livie so there is some life there. Just gotta miss the run of the tide..
Cheers...........Terry..........