View Full Version : Show and tell, Off-road Trailer
Hi all.
Thought I'd show off the offroad trailer I made to tow up the cape. You cant buy a decent offroad trailer so I was forced to make one. I was rather impressed with how it turned out.
It was designed to carry 4x 75l poly fuel tanks under the boat. as taking enough fuel up north is a real pain. dry the trailer weighs 470kg with electric brakes.
04-08-2008, 11:48 AM
looks well built, shouldnt break that one. Couple of thoughts, protection for the front of the boat from rocks and maybe a cover of some sort to cover your fuel tank storage boxs.
Yeah I run a heavy duty canvas tarp across the boat which covers most the front. That blue one is only a temp thing.
The Poly tanks are tough as nails, its been up twice now and no probs. tanks get dusty but are air-tight. apparently they are nearly holeproof, takes nearly a ton of pressure to punch a hole in one.
thanks mate
you have just given me an idea to look at tomorrow
I am making biodiesel now and a couple of tanks on the boat trailer would not go astray, one for bio one for petrol
Q, what are the tanks? where from? how much?
gotta keep these fishing trips to a minimum cost so the boss lady keeps letting me go haha
cheers Murf
The tanks are a poly tank. Same stuff water tanks are made of. each one cost me about $90. hold 75l each. super light and very tough. i will find the name of the place i got em. name eludes me atm
Grey-Ghost
04-08-2008, 08:31 PM
when are you heading up the cap
we are going up on 13 september
cheers chris
Usually we go up may, but i could;t go this year due to getting a new job.
Good luck in september, where abouts are you headed?
Grey-Ghost
19-08-2008, 08:03 PM
heading up to chili beach,captain billy landing then up to the top
Nice, are you towing a boat in? I have heard Chilli beach is beautiful, but can be rather exposed in the trade winds. Good luck and hope you nail a few:)
BenDover
23-08-2008, 04:47 PM
Hi Flex, was it you i saw on the highway just before the southport exit at about 11:30 today?? White ute with ausfish sticker.
BD
No wasn't me mate, I live in Blackwater central QLD
BenDover
23-08-2008, 07:35 PM
ah ok noworries. It was another ausfisher then. The boat was sooo high off the ground!!!!
Rod Fishing
30-08-2008, 01:10 AM
sounds like ben got bended
I do have a mate who also built a trailer similar to mine the same time, he lives in Brissy and owns a white patrol ute. coulda been him. If it was me the dude driving woulda been heaps better looking:P