View Full Version : Brisbane Waters

03-08-2008, 06:10 PM
Hi All ........ Just got back from doing something different - Bream Fishing :o Well ok , maybe a different destination then.
DC ... (Formally the Jinx.... Maybe!) Invited me to come up to spend some time at his brother in laws place at Woy Woy .... to do a little breamin.
With a Lousy forecast of Gale force winds + Dcs late arrival on Saturday ...... I ignored the 4am alarm clock ( Howling winds) & got my self some extra shuteye :sleeping: On the road at 8am for the 90 min drive north ( spewin .... no wind & I should have been fishing already) ....... but that didn't last too long as I arrived to very blowy conditions:( .... pretty tough for fishing on the leccy - I really needed to find shelter & with little knowledge of the area ..... It was off to explore Narara Creek. The 10min run across from Koolewong to Gosford ( past Iguana Joes .... Jon Della Bosca / Belinda Neal fame) .... had me frozen stiff!
Now to find my way through this extremely shallow creek mouth ...... Tough job but I eventually got through the 300M section ... ( 30mins) & moved into the Narara proper ........ & motored along ( nice looking creek) After having a chat to a local who was having a bit of a run in his boat , I was encouraged to run further up the creek. I decided to fish a section of bank that was protected from the strong winds.
Now what happened next ...... just shows the importance of attention to detail. - Picking up the Certate / T Curve combo that was pre rigged with .......... no surprise - a lobby , I 've made a casual backhanded cast under a mangrove branch into a dark hidey hole ......... Instantly zzzzzzzzzzz ..... shite , grab the spool - gonee! Some idiot forgot to set the drag ( & a nice fish is blown). ...... you would have heard the @#%&$% & #%@*ing in Newcastle. Not too long after I land a first for me ...32117... A lobby caught Whiting ....... closly followed a small bream.
Continuing up this shallow creek out of the wind became a real pleasure32118 The occasional bream caught to the background sound of Bell birds32119 ..... very nice.
Lots of fish were moving around ..... some stud whiting & bream ........ more fish missed with short takes on the lobby ........ then I manage a nice whiting on a Cultiva Mirashad.32129
Thing went quiet on the turn of the tide ........ & except for a tug o war with a decent fish that wanted my lobby ...... eventually bit the lobby in half ...... nothing !
With the tide falling rapidly ....... I needed to get out of here + was due to meet DC & Alison at Andrews place .................. I managed to get out (JUST)
Caught up with everyone at Andrew waterfront home ( very cool) ........ & we were off for a boys session towards the railway bridge. I managed to miss 5 out of 5 .......... but worst still . My Lobby supply was exhausted:'( Still quite windy & cold we called it quits around 6.30 ...... for a big doughnut!
The next morning ...... up at 5.00 ish .......... Still blowing its ass off , we had little option but to go for the run back to Narara ...... As Andrew had other plans ... it was only going to be a 3-4 hour session.
Well if it was hard getting in & out of Narara before ...... this was much worst.
With DC doing his Captain Cook impersonation on the bow....... we soon ran aground ::) ....... but got off & threaded our way through 1 -2 foot of water into the Creek proper.
Well 3 uneventful hours past ..... with two fish missed ...... THAT"S IT!( where were the lobbys ????) On the way out we did nearly run over a 1M Jew in 4 ft of water.. Then near the shallow mouth .... literally 100s of big bream were spooked ( all on their way into the creek on the rising tide) - bugger .... we were leaving.
Dropped Andrew off at his neighbors jetty ...... DC & I fished some nearby areas ..... for Zip but saw heaps.
Back to the ramp after a couple of hours ...... dropped DC back at Andrews place & off I went.
Once again ...... Brisbane Waters was tough. Not totally discouraged as I can see the potential of Narara Creek ( with a rising tide ........ not to mention seeing a big Jew) Definitely we will return as it warms up ......... As BW is a known Summer Jewie haunt .
Better go buy myself a few more packets of Lobbys ........ I think Mighty Whitey used mine on the last trip:(

Cheers All

Nagg

Obi _ Wan
03-08-2008, 08:17 PM
G'Day Chris, Nice report mate, at least you got out and managed a few fish, well done.

All this prospecting you are doing and you are leaving it for God's Country, i guess you are seeing a lot more and having a great time, good on you.

Fishing has been a bit on the slow side up here as well, just the odd fish being caught. I think it has a lot to do with the very clear water at the moment, same thing happened last year, it fired up again later in August.

Just a few more weeks and i'll be testing Awoonga again, can't wait.

John.

Steven78
03-08-2008, 08:30 PM
grate report Nagg :) The bay has been very slow the last few months.

03-08-2008, 08:32 PM
G'Day Chris, Nice report mate, at least you got out and managed a few fish, well done.

All this prospecting you are doing and you are leaving it for God's Country, i guess you are seeing a lot more and having a great time, good on you.

Fishing has been a bit on the slow side up here as well, just the odd fish being caught. I think it has a lot to do with the very clear water at the moment, same thing happened last year, it fired up again later in August.

Just a few more weeks and I'll be testing Awoonga again, can't wait.

John.

Hi John

I wish I did this sort of prospecting years ago ......... I love this lurecasting style of fishing ( fish or no fish )
yeh fishin is tough ( clear & cold) but thats what makes each capture so satisfying:)
With just a little luck ..... Whitey & I should be up Mondy / Awoonga for 8 days during September .......... I cant hang out any longer:P

When do you go to the big "A" ?

Barraboss
03-08-2008, 09:08 PM
Chris,

Another informative report..

Just keep practising... You better make sure your drag is checked later on the year :)

jareyjareyjareyjarey
03-08-2008, 09:24 PM
yeah that was a good read

03-08-2008, 09:29 PM
Chris,

Another informative report..

Just keep practising... You better make sure your drag is checked later on the year :)

Thanks Matt ......... I'll let you check the drags ( Quality control;) )
Such a silly thing really ......... Just goes to prove that you should expect a fish every cast you make ...... First to Last !!!

PS ..... You can do my knots too if you like;D

Obi _ Wan
03-08-2008, 11:07 PM
Just waiting for the right weather pattern to show, then i'm off for a week maybe a week and a half. Local knowlege is playing a big part with the timing, got a spot reserved for a 135 model, LOL.

John.

04-08-2008, 09:43 AM
Just waiting for the right weather pattern to show, then i'm off for a week maybe a week and a half. Local knowlege is playing a big part with the timing, got a spot reserved for a 135 model, LOL.

John.

Very good ..... Hope you do well! ...... or should I say "Certain to do well"

For Steve
04-08-2008, 10:29 AM
Thanks for the report Nagg. Really enjoyed the read.

I still find it strange seeing whiting caught on plastics and HB lures. Old dog I suppose but boy it works well for you.

Nice one.

Brad

04-08-2008, 11:12 AM
Thanks for the report Nagg. Really enjoyed the read.

I still find it strange seeing whiting caught on plastics and HB lures. Old dog I suppose but boy it works well for you.

Nice one.

Brad

Thanks Brad ........ Those Whiting are firsts for me ( Plastics & HBs) ....... Infact Its been many many years since I've caught a whiting!
Hey but look at the current trend ....... whiting on poppers ( what a hoot!)

Nagg

04-08-2008, 02:04 PM
Thanks for the trip down memory lane NAGG, they used to be my stomping grounds as a lad, before I moved up to QLD.. ;D

Iguana, LoL, I used to get tanked there, it wasn't called that in those days though.. used to fish not far from there, there used to be a Jewy hole close by and on a Sat'dy night you could fish and catch some reasonable music coming from that club :)

Little grey men
04-08-2008, 02:33 PM
Instantly zzzzzzzzzzz ..... shite , grab the spool - gonee! Some idiot forgot to set the drag ( & a nice fish is blown). ......

he he he....I did the same a few weeks back on a 40cm bass. For a little while I thought I'd hooked something massive. Takes a few seconds for your brain to realise why the line peels off so damn fast, but the rod doesn't seem to be under to much strain.

Nice report mate. you sure are giving those Lobby's a thrash.

jim_bream
04-08-2008, 02:34 PM
NAGG,
I did exactly the same thing on the Pine River on Saturday.
Yakkin along when the water around me starts BOILING!! Quickly grab my Plastix rod and flick out a Squidgy Wriggler (65mm in Gary Glitter) .... with a soft 'PLOP' my placcie hits the water, is engulfed in a foamy swirl and is already making a break for the deep water.
In the 1/125th of a second it registered upstairs that the drag might not be set right *BANG* and off she goes...
It was the only touch for an hours worth of flicking.
You coulda heard the effin & blindin in Sydney....
Thanks for making me feel just that bit better ;-)

gunna
04-08-2008, 03:41 PM
I used to put the boat in at Parsley and run to Brissy Waters from there. Rather be on the water than on the road. Best part was the afternoon salmon fest we would often get at the mouth on the return trip.

04-08-2008, 04:35 PM
Thanks for the trip down memory lane NAGG, they used to be my stomping grounds as a lad, before I moved up to QLD.. ;D

Iguana, LoL, I used to get tanked there, it wasn't called that in those days though.. used to fish not far from there, there used to be a Jewy hole close by and on a Sat'dy night you could fish and catch some reasonable music coming from that club :)

Its a lovely part of the world but growing up fast ....... no wonder so many commute down to Sydney!

Nagg

04-08-2008, 04:41 PM
I used to put the boat in at Parsley and run to Brissy Waters from there. Rather be on the water than on the road. Best part was the afternoon salmon fest we would often get at the mouth on the return trip.

Hi Gunna

Except for some Jewie fishing at the Rip bridge during the mid 80s .... (Launching at Parsley) ...... This is only my second trip into BW proper.
I know the Salmon fun around Lion Is ....... I used to fish the schools on the way out to East reef during the 90s when I fished out of my Reef raider....... Great stuff hey?8-)
Nagg

04-08-2008, 04:46 PM
NAGG,
I did exactly the same thing on the Pine River on Saturday.
Yakkin along when the water around me starts BOILING!! Quickly grab my Plastix rod and flick out a Squidgy Wriggler (65mm in Gary Glitter) .... with a soft 'PLOP' my placcie hits the water, is engulfed in a foamy swirl and is already making a break for the deep water.
In the 1/125th of a second it registered upstairs that the drag might not be set right *BANG* and off she goes...
It was the only touch for an hours worth of flicking.
You coulda heard the effin & blindin in Sydney....
Thanks for making me feel just that bit better ;-)

Its easy to do ...... specially on light gear!
funnily ...... Everytime someone picks up one of my rods when they come out breamin with me ....... I ask them to check the drag!
First cast of the day ....... that sux though :(

Nagg

04-08-2008, 04:54 PM
he he he....I did the same a few weeks back on a 40cm bass. For a little while I thought I'd hooked something massive. Takes a few seconds for your brain to realise why the line peels off so damn fast, but the rod doesn't seem to be under to much strain.

Nice report mate. you sure are giving those Lobby's a thrash.

LGM ..... Love those Lobbys ( & so does everyone that fishes with me:P ) I'm giving the Critters a reasonable go too ......... but with very limited success:-/

The worst part about the drag ...... I couldn't blame the kids , dog , neighbours , Whitey or even "The Jinx" .......... It was just my @ock up!::) Maybe - The devil made me do it;)

nuggstar
05-08-2008, 07:11 PM
awsome post nagg, stonker whitting

05-08-2008, 08:30 PM
awsome post nagg, stonker whitting

Thanks Nugg ....... I forgot how well they run too ( on 4lb) ....... Great fun!