View Full Version : Winter Whitting (were are they)
Mad one.
01-08-2008, 10:04 PM
Hi Team AusFish,
I have never chased the winter whitting in the bay I wounder if you good people can share the best banks around Brisbane...
M1;)
rosco1974
02-08-2008, 08:58 AM
mate been geting them over the amity banks...averaging bout 60 a trip on worms...last sunday we got 50 all 25cm and over the bigger ones over 30 cm...lots in the 20 - 23 cm range..........have herd of them being caught at the sandhills on morton island...cheers rosco
steve20v
02-08-2008, 09:05 AM
Try the Cockle Banks (off Bribie) or the Compass Adjustment Buoy (out from the airport between Nudgee and the Bris river).
If you do a search of the forums you will find more information on both of these banks and GPS marks etc.
esky83
04-08-2008, 05:54 PM
i have heard alot of people like to go to the cockle banks, i generally like to go out to the compass adjustment buoy. I look for alot of weed bed in about 3.5m to 4m of water witha small hook and a slice of squid. Best results when there is little or no chop.
Dont need to take much bait with you, i catch about 150-200 off three small squid
Breambuster33
04-08-2008, 06:00 PM
Dont need to take much bait with you, i catch about 150-200 off three small squid
thats alot of whiting :P:P
esky83
04-08-2008, 08:06 PM
dont go and do it very often, it takes a me a few hours to clean them all. I just freeze the fillets and they keep for a few months
bustaonenut
04-08-2008, 08:45 PM
fish at the sand hills moreton island. Quality has been getting better the last few weeks. Just use small squid cut into thin strips, we even pre cut a handfull and put some red colour food die to colour them, outfishes plain squid we found.
Cleaning is easy we just put about 30 at a time in a mesh fish keeper and drive off while there in the water, the pressure takes off the scales so all you have to do when you get home is fillet.
Sweetest tasting fish in the sea i reckon when battered or crumed, might take some out of the freezer actually for dinner tomorow.
bustaonenut
04-08-2008, 08:49 PM
and dont throw the heads, i heard they make a great snapper bait ;)
esky83
04-08-2008, 08:59 PM
i like the idea of the mesh fish keeper, might have to try that one