View Full Version : first boat advice
jareyjareyjareyjarey
28-07-2008, 06:08 PM
ok guys im finaly in a position where i can start looking for my first boat.
so i want a tinnie around the 4 m mark. i have a budget of around $10k. also i was thinking about 25-30hp
i do alot if fishing around the north side of brisbane but would love to try the brissy river mouth, pumicstone passage and maybe even mud.
there are two new boats that have took my eye
first is the quintrex 420 top ender CVhttp://www.quintrex.com.au/BoatRange/BS42EF/420TopEnderCV.aspx
second is the stacer 429 ts nomad
http://www.stacer.com.au/view_boat.aspx?stockc=SN429NDEA
this boat also comes in the fancy pants model (elite) which i as wondering if it is worth the little bit extra.
http://www.stacer.com.au/view_boat.aspx?stockc=SN429NDEEA#specs
any info will be greatfully appreciated
I'd forget about the 'fancy pants' unless that layout it is especially usefull to your style of fishing.
If most of your fishing is river & estuary, I'd go for the pointy-punt style.
If you spend a fair bit of time on bigger water eg off Redcliffe and Brisbane river, I'd go for the dinghy style hull for better freeboard & gentler ride.
IMO, 4/4.2M & 25/30 hp is a good all round size, relatively easy on the pocket to buy and to run.
Have you looked a the SeaJay range? http://www.seajayboats.com.au/
foxx510
28-07-2008, 07:11 PM
We just bought a secondhand Seajay magnum 4.15 with a Honda 25 4 stroke. I reckon it's a good entry model, small enough to handle solo and big enough to go offshore on the calm days. If your budget is 10grand, I reckon you will need to go secondhand. 10k would struggle to cover the basic hull, motor and trailer if you go new, although boats might be cheaper up north.
Bilopete
28-07-2008, 09:57 PM
Keep looking for a quality 2nd hand. I bought a seajay 4.3 with 35 evi and trailer for $4k. I probably spent another $2k serving and doing up but it goes like a dream. Mine was a 97 package but for $10K my neighbour bought a 4.2m (i think)quintrex wb with a electric start 30 2 stroke - all still under warranty for $8k <12 months old.
wilcara
28-07-2008, 10:04 PM
Talking brands always starts a bun fight but it is personal preference...
I only wanted to say that the Quinny top ender is a very nice rig that handles well and holds its value.
You will get a good second hand rig for that I would think.
CreelReaper
28-07-2008, 11:07 PM
Hey Jarey,
Mate, it all depends on what style of fishing you want to do, and how many of you are there....partner, kids all factor in as well. Are you a lure/plastics chucker or a bait soaker. Being your first boat we generally just grab the first 'good looker' to come along and ultimately buy something that is not quite right. It is a learning curve though so enjoy it.
Do you want or need the raised casting platform?? Are the wide gunnels preferred?? I have a 4.0m Bluefin Outlaw with a Yammie 30 long shaft,which is pretty dammed good. Fishes the bay islands well. Mate and I got caught out in 30 odd kn winds just the other day and it rode it out well.
I also know that the Stessco Catcher 4.2m is also a pretty good hull. Have a look at the Stessco website for extra info. I believe there is a place around Wynnum that is running a package deal (hull, 25hp Merc and trailer) on them for around $7000.
Before you buy however, I would be looking at each boat very closely inspecting things like weld quality, joins and overall finish. Some of the "better known" brands have let their quality slip over the years to compete. If you are looking at a boat and you get a 'funny' feeling about it then don't buy it. Ultimately you have to be happy with your purchase.
Hope this helps!!
Oh, and Wilcara.....you are absolutley spot on. Talking brands usually does start the proverbial bunfight!! But it is fun to read.
Shane
pedrodepacus
29-07-2008, 07:01 AM
mate you have brissy boat show in a few weeks it may be worth the wait all the dealers will be doing there specials for that and you should have all the players in the one spot
29-07-2008, 07:10 AM
yep, pedro's right. wait for the boat show. don't get sucked in by a small engine either, for 4.2m and over you'll need minimum 40hp if you ever take more than 2 people in the boat. you'll be dissapointed with anything less, i was with my 30 on a 4.2m anyway.
foxx510
29-07-2008, 09:02 AM
Re the engine size, for what it's worth our Seajay 4.15 magnum with the 25 honda does 40kph 2 up into a 5knot chop. 30hp would probably be better but this setup is fine for us.
levinge
29-07-2008, 10:03 AM
One thing you have to look at is whether or not you are the only one fishing. 25-30hp outboard is fine for 1 adult and young kids, fishing gear, esky, fuel etc. but if you intend on taking a mate fishing with all the essentials.
I'd be looking to go up a size and include a 40hp on the rig. Little more power can make a difference when it's needed. Choice of 2 or 4 stroke is really up to you, as others have said,checkout the boat show. Thing to look consider
Don't buy in haste!
make sure you have a quality trailer for the boat
Tiller or Side Console (tiller is okay but eventually you'll get a sore shoulder)
underfloor tank or jerries
Lots of rod holder positions - the more the better
Bilge pump - for those rainy days
Bimini
second anchor and line for setting a sideways anchor in the river
Spare prop and associated nuts, split pin etc
LED Deck light for night fishing
There are heaps of extras you can include, but the main thing is to Research, Research, Research and keep asking questions. The more info you get the better prepared you'll be when you negotiate for a boat, and remember your the one in control - they are your dollars that they are after, make them work for it and squeeze them as hard as you can, you'll know when you've gone too far.
Its a tight market out there for these boat yards at present, so they will offer you all sorts of stuff, set yourself up right from the beginning and you'll never have any problems...
Good Luck
scrubba01
29-07-2008, 10:08 AM
Like many of the other guys have said I would wait for second hand as a lot of boats do very little work for there age. In a 4.2 I would, as someone suggested look for a 40 hp. A lot of second hand boats already have a lot of extras put on that you would want to put on a new boat. Decide on the brands and the models you would want and then just wait for one to come up at the right price. This shouldn't take long as interest rates start to bite and wives look at 10 thousand dollars sitting around in the back yard not getting used. (which is why I use mine all the time)
bushbeachboy
29-07-2008, 10:11 AM
A mate has a Seajay 415 Magnum with a 30 3 cylinder Yamaha 2 stroke. It is a really good all round fishing boat, and well balanced with the motor. The 3 cylinder 30 is a nice torquey motor that still gives good economy and runs on 100:1, so a bit less smokey. There's an article in the latest Fisherman & Boatowner mag about the tests they just did on it on a 420 Stacer Nomad. They give it the big thumbs up.
reddybayfisher
29-07-2008, 10:33 AM
Buy second hand - your first boat: you'll make mistakes...I know I did...I have now bought my second boat and again it's 2nd hand...I am more than happy with it....obviously if your worried about a 2nd hand motor there are a few mobile outboard mechanics around that can go over the motor for one or two hundred (I can recommend Jeff Orr - southside of brissy)....in the end you'll save money
Scott Ashe
29-07-2008, 12:31 PM
Hi Mate,
In June 2007, I took delivery of an Allycraft 410 Rhino and 25 Yamaha 4 stroke with electric start and power trim and tilt , sitting on redco sportsman trailer, with bimmi top and full rego for $10250.00, so if you look around you may be able to pick up a new rig for that money.
I'm pretty happy with the performance, as I only ever have two on board.
Hope this helps.
bushbeachboy
29-07-2008, 01:56 PM
Also for your first boat I'd recommend going a vee hull as opposed to a punt. The vee hull will give you the option of going a few more places and finding stuff out. If after that you decide to go a punt, go for it.
Another thing you might consider is your level of boat driving experience. If you have no experience, you might find it more comfortable and easy to learn driving a runabout (front windscreen) as it is a wheel boat. That means you don't have to learn the tiller steering when you are new. The wheel boat will be easier to control if things do get a bit difficult. A runabout configuration will still give you plenty of fishing room, just not the 360 degrees you get on an open boat.
Lancair
29-07-2008, 07:54 PM
I'll back up others suggestions to get a 40hp motor and a boat with a V bottom rather than flat.
My boat is a Stessco Catcher with a 40 Etec tiller steer. The boat has almost a 2m beam and a deep ish V for a small boat. Ive been offshore many times and had mates comment on its ride in the rough water. A few weeks ago I met a bloke with the same boat but a Tohatsu 30, whilst chatting he mentioned he sometimes struggles to get on the plane with 3 adults, it will get there but is slow and only just manages to get 20kts out of it. By comparison mine will get on the plane with 4 adults quickly and do 25+ knots. Strangely I get only 28-29 knots solo. The extra few horses make a big difference.
30-07-2008, 11:25 AM
yep, that's the point at which i regretted having the 30 andrew, when i took that extra third person. i had a stacer 414 work boat so it was built like a tank and i so wish i had the 40hp on it because with 2 people it was fine, the thing flew, but put that third person in and it was lucky to get on the plane properly.
Whitey81
30-07-2008, 11:48 AM
Definately bigger than a 30. I have a 4.3 seajay barra punt with a 30 and it can be a bit of a dog to get up on the plane with 3-4 people or 2 people with camping gear. Mind you if you dont want to carry a load 30 is heaps for running the pots and light fishing. So buy what suits your application
Whitey
lifestyle
30-07-2008, 04:53 PM
Have alook at what makocrft have to offer . Have seen a few that look very nice
jareyjareyjareyjarey
30-07-2008, 08:38 PM
ok guys iv been looking around heaps i even went andhad a look at a few yards. im starting to lean towards second hand (i dont want to make an expensive mistake).
ill def be hoping to get 40hp and i really the look of the stacer nomad.