View Full Version : brisbane river
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 03:36 PM
headed down to the brisbane river this morning about 5ish to see what was around , we launched at boggy creek and headed out near the pipes chasing a thready , unfortunantly we didnt have any luck on plastics or livies so we headed across the river to fish the pylons , there was nobody around so we snuck in underneth and there were bream everywhere on the top feeding so i put a little popper on that i made at work to give it a bit of a test and i got my first popper caught bream (in 50foot of water ;D ) and that was followed by atleast 15 more legals it was non stop for a while untill we were called out by port sercurity so we left .
on the way over to the rock wall the water police did a saftey gear check and sent us on our way . we did a drift along the wall useing softies and HBs no good there so i thought we would try the pipe line again on the way we saw some mack tuna choppin it up so we tried slugs , sp's and hb's but could not get them to bite we , when we got to the pipes we saw another boat pull in a nice 1m thready . i got a little bar tail flat head near the pipes in the shallow water but nothing else so we had one more shot at the macks before heading home .
cheers nico
LIVE_2_FiSH
27-07-2008, 03:53 PM
There sure are alot of bream under the terminals at the mouth. They arent particularly scared of boats either. Some were following our lures to about a metre from the boat last time i targetted them.
chief
27-07-2008, 04:09 PM
Nice effort on the bream, Funny we fish for the bream in those deep water areas and always do well on shallow to 5-6 ft water column. I always get a buzz when there on the surface and smashing bait.Great to see.Cheers
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 05:02 PM
a couple off times i left my popper next to the boat and the bream would come back for a second look . tell you what i would love to do a night fish under there .
im not sure if we spooked them from one spot , we zip tied of to a pylon where we could see a big school and got a few then it went quiet after some taylor came through so im not sure if it was us or the taylor that chased them away i think it was the taylor when they came through it was like the mackies chopping on the surface , bream taylor and bait flying out every where . maybe we would have been better off moving around looking for them more . great action while it lasted any way .
is it easyer to fish under there at night to avoid the PS or do they use big spotties to see under there ?
cheers nico
For Steve
27-07-2008, 05:08 PM
Good sesh nico. Nice day to be out on the river. Congrats on your first popper bream. Did Port Security give you a serve for being there?
Brad
For Steve
27-07-2008, 05:09 PM
Double post deleted
tailorboi99
27-07-2008, 06:17 PM
Good work mate, love the way you went under the pylons ;)
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 06:33 PM
oh yeah , "are you stupid ? fishing under a working wharf ! you want to fish over there anyway where there is no structure to hit ." i looked behind me and said where is the sign i didnt realise you are not allowed to fish here . he said there were signs all along the front (where the ships were blocking the view) . He wasnt to bad after he took the bait and thought we didnt know any better hehe .
Does anyone know what them wires hanging in the water are for ? i thought from outside it was booker rod or tie downs but when i went to push off one i realised they are thick cables going down .
so steve what would you have done ? lol , it was even more satisfying that i made the popper that got my first popper caught bream it is the proto type .
cheers nico
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 06:36 PM
i think i might wait a while before i go back under there TB he wrote my details down in his little black book and i really dont want a $3000 fine .
cheers nico
marty+jojo
27-07-2008, 07:09 PM
If you get caught under there again you will be lucky if you get away with a $3000 fine, i have herd they can and will take your boat..... I used to fish SP under there for snapper, about 4-5 years ago, we had some awesome sessions.
Marty.
RAT-KING
27-07-2008, 08:07 PM
I dont know if they have stepped up security but lately i have bn lucky to get 2 casts in before I get told 2 move!
Cheers Simon
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 08:32 PM
we got about 1 1/2 -2 hrs in before we were shafted
bigtez
27-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Apparently they have cameras on the wharves that all feed to a PS 'HQ'. While you can get away with it there is some great fishing to be had in amongst them wharves.
Mike Delisser
27-07-2008, 09:04 PM
I think those cables or wires are used to suspend Zink plates, something to do with earthing or electrolyses or corrosion maybe. I know one of the port security officers pretty well and he told me a few years ago a lot were getting knocked off and it's only since the security patrols started the thieving has stopped.
bass battler
27-07-2008, 09:19 PM
Is this the QBH coal wharf?
Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 09:33 PM
nah its where they unload all the container ships , the last one on the way out off the river .
cheers nico
LIVE_2_FiSH
27-07-2008, 10:20 PM
there was a mac tuna carving through bait underneath there last time, just awesome to watch.
Obi _ Wan
28-07-2008, 04:44 PM
G'Day Nico,
Nice result mate, good report.
Mate it would be a real B######D to lose the boat, be careful, no fish is worth losing all your gear.
Be a real kick in the guts to find yourself fishing off the bank into Cabbage Tree Creek with a handline.
John.
Obi _ Wan
28-07-2008, 05:53 PM
Nico, Just remembered i was going to ask you if you had given away trying to catch sharks??
Been no mention of them lately.
John.
nuggstar
28-07-2008, 06:37 PM
hehe nice one nico hehehe. i love the cam mate. your right but, it dose chuw the power.
Nico.d.R
28-07-2008, 08:44 PM
yeah john i dont think ill go back under there now that i know you can loose your boat , the fine i could live with but not the boat . its been to cold latly for the sharks and im still waiting on the tags aswell, once it warms up ill get back into them , i will probly take the shark rod up to noosa in 2 weeks and see if the fresh has the bullies feeding .
nuggs im glad your happy with the camera i think the age is making it use the batteries maybe take them out when you are not using it and put them in before you go fishing .
cheers nico
BrandonH
29-07-2008, 11:32 AM
Yep it sure was awesome watching the Bream fining out of the water and jumping clear of the surface after our lures and all the bait!! Shame about PS though, I guess they do have a job to do:(
I wonder how you would go with an unregistered boat? what rego would they record??
Brandon...
baitwaster
29-07-2008, 11:40 AM
Is that where you blokes were hiding on the weekend. I gave u a call saturday arvo, but you must have been out fishin.
Give me a ring about this weekend if you are goin out.
Those bream hitting poppers would have been worth seeing.
You didn't miss much up the pine last weekend LOL
Nico.d.R
29-07-2008, 07:18 PM
hey brandon maybe we need a little 10ft tinny for a couple a hundred and use it under there , lol . hey shane im not sure what im upto this weekend but ill let you know , i wouldnt mind chasing a few noah's since i finally got my tags . the week after im of to noosa to hook up with nuggstar and chase some trevs and bream give us a yell if you want to head up aswell get both boats up there .
cheers nico
baitwaster
30-07-2008, 08:52 AM
Nico,
I am thinking of hitting the mouth of the brisbane river friday night. I will give you a call tonight and see what you are up to. I don't have any spots or know my way around in the river, but a change from the pine will be nice.
I might be a goer for noosa if it is OK with you and nuggs. but i have to clear it with the missus first, she knows where I am supposed to be when I want to go fishing. ;)