View Full Version : Brissie river sun 27 th

chief
27-07-2008, 01:45 PM
Been doing a few river missions this week. Went out wednesday arvo by myself and scored a couple of squire ,43 and 44 cm models but what a cracker of an arvo before that rain set in. Myself and garrett had another session this morning with a few squire in mind. Heaps of squire in the river at the moment and willing to play but we couldn't find any decent models. A lot of fish were spot on 35 cm and returned but we did manage 7 from 37 -42 cm so we achieved a decent feed. Pulled the pin on the squire and we thought we'd see if there were any tuna in the river. Two schools were active with about eight boats hanging around between the 2. They certainly weren't spooked with them feeding in many occassions a few feet from our boat. We cast slugs of various sizes, Plastics of different weights and colours ,sizes, but couldn't manage a hook up:-[ Anyway it was still a great day and a lot of fun with the squire caught on bream gear Cheers;)

27-07-2008, 01:50 PM
Well done chief. Getting a feed is better than coming home empty handed. Yesterday was a good day to be on the water as well. It seems the squire and snapper are a bit more willing to play the game compared to recent weeks.

Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 02:20 PM
how you going chief i said gday this morning chasing the macks we didnt end up hooking any after you left but we saw another boat anchored up useing flesh bait and they got a nice thready around the metre mark im guessing .

cheers nico

BtotheM
27-07-2008, 02:32 PM
Nice Work Chief, Well Done

chief
27-07-2008, 02:47 PM
Hey Nico , those macs didn't want to play. Hey mate a nice threadie tho. I was nearly going to throw the cast net in today and do the same with a livie.Might still give it a go one arvo this week.

Nico.d.R
27-07-2008, 03:13 PM
yeah i reckon i hit a few in the head (macks) but could not get any hook ups or even hits .
good luck with your thready hunt if you go .

cheers nico

chief
27-07-2008, 04:22 PM
Nico, we used little micro small slugs up to 35-40 grm and plastics from 2 inch to 7 inch neon peppers. they weren't feeding and covering heaps of ground ,Just slowly working against the tide. I couldn't count the number of times I thought we would have came tight on a fish ,to not even get a touch. I wish I would have had the TSS4 with me for a bit of speed instead of the smaller reels.

Mark-P
27-07-2008, 04:48 PM
Hey chief, congrats on fine catch ... Any particular plastic or hard body
doin the job ?

Pistol_P
27-07-2008, 04:56 PM
Great to be able to get catches like that in a river hey....

Nice feed on the way.....I think Garret should cook and wash up...:P

For Steve
27-07-2008, 05:05 PM
G'day chief

Top sessions mate. You've picked up some fine fish there.

How deep in the water column were you finding them? The few we caught at Mud were right on the bottom.

Interesting that there's plenty of smaller models hanging around the river. Mud has either been bigger fish or just dead quiet. Usually dead quiet, for me anyway.

Brad

chief
27-07-2008, 05:26 PM
Hey Brad, on the bottom but in open water,well out from the wharves. Funny as the water gets cold ,they feed freely in those open areas but come summer and the water temps up, they'll be held up deep in the pylons....WHY? Bait ? or Bullsharks is certainly worth a thought when talking the river

tailorboi99
27-07-2008, 06:14 PM
Awesome fish there mate, you must love those snaps :o

RAT-KING
27-07-2008, 07:49 PM
Another great session Chief!U have definately worked out this river! lately ive bn fishing the river only! I have not been doing to well do u have any tips??
Cheers Simon

SummerTrance
27-07-2008, 08:13 PM
Whenever I see a river report from Chief, I know im gunna see a few nice squire. Didnt disappoint this time either. Well done chief, you are the river master!

Mike Delisser
27-07-2008, 08:42 PM
Nice catch Chief - Those mac's arn't put off as easily as the schools out in the bay, a couple of weeks ago I saw some busting up for 5 mins around a tug that was birthing a ship, didn't spook them at all.
Did anyone at all down there hook up to a mac that day?????
I've got an RDO Tue so I might check it out if it's not too windy.

ffejsmada
27-07-2008, 08:55 PM
Nice fish Chief.
You don't often miss out.
You are Mr. Consistency of the Bris river. Good on you.;)

Jeff.

chief
28-07-2008, 05:06 AM
Hey Brad, you were saying that iys either big or nothing at Mud.Fished green the other day and went through 3 1/2 packets of t backs for not a keeper and easily would have got 3 fish per plastic.Bloody droves of small squire everywhere ;D

T1
28-07-2008, 11:22 AM
Nice feed there CHIEF! Man, i have to somehow try and get out for an hour or 2 soon! Starting to get withdrawal symptoms its been so long since i got a squire... But i guess you've actually got to wet a line to be in with chance huh!

Take Care T

28-07-2008, 11:49 AM
Terrific stuff Chief, well done!!
Have to say I am a bit of a novice with these SP lures, but trying and practicing.. maybe one day ;D

plaztix
28-07-2008, 02:37 PM
Nice haul chief. The old faithful T' worms???

Good to see this cold snap has brought some numbers in.

Were they all from one school or different spots?

chief
28-07-2008, 04:37 PM
T1 hey mate,Whats going on,Get that boat on the water.That flash new outboard needs some hours on it ;D

Plaztix... They come from 2 spots, both were producing,we only left the first to see if we could pull some better quality but that wasn't to be.

Junior Gonzo
28-07-2008, 07:37 PM
Hi Chief :) I was out on the river myself early Sun morning.. You and your son Garrett actually passed me at some stage (with a wave which was appreciated ;) ) I must admit that it looked like you had a look of who is that? (Ausfish Stickers on my boat maybe) and why is he fishing there?? hehe.. Anyway I'm reasonably new to Ausfish which has been a great source to learn from with using Placcy's etc.. Anyway you have inspired me to give the river ago after reading your posts of Breamin etc adventures in the river.. It was my first/second trip into the river so i was mostly drifting around looking at the sounder for some interesting ground.. I mostly fished a rock wall on the south side of the river & picked up some nice Bream on placcy's which is always alot of fun wherever you are ;D And after noticing some bait on the sounder I decided to anchor, burley & work an area near one of the old wharves which produced a nice 55cm Flathead & some rather large Pike.. I released the Bream & Pike but I couldn't help myself so the Flathead will be sizzling tonight! ;D There are many likely spots in the river especially if you have an electric (it'll come at some stage :-/ ) my lovely other half argues that it's a want & not a need! I as you would imagine I totally disagree!
Anyway cheers bloke for the inspiration ;)

For Steve
28-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Hey Brad, you were saying that iys either big or nothing at Mud.Fished green the other day and went through 3 1/2 packets of t backs for not a keeper and easily would have got 3 fish per plastic.Bloody droves of small squire everywhere ;D

Yeah chief. I haven't been catching high numbers at all. I've been mainly using 5" jerkbaits so perhaps the smaller models are there but not interested in the larger plastics??? But I suppose the turtlebacks are a long profile so I don't know what's going on???

Anyway, I'm picking up a few for some good fun and nice meals so I gotta be happy with that.

Brad

nuggstar
28-07-2008, 10:44 PM
you the man chief. top post mate. them fish look solid

chief
29-07-2008, 01:50 PM
Junior Gonzo, Hey mate ,your not wrong theres a few likely spots to choose from and a few different spieces to have a go at. Some nice lizards around on that dropping tide at the moment. I think I remember seeing you and mentioning that to Garrett.Next time I pull over for a chat. Cheers mate and best of luck

bermo82
29-07-2008, 02:40 PM
Hi Chief,

Congrats on the feed and it's great to read about squire/snaps so close to brisbane for city fishos like myself.
I've only fishid brissie river twice without a snap to my name, but will be trying to amend that on saturday.

Are you fishing towards the mouth or closer to the bridge. Not after exact spots just some general hints. ( i like to find my own spots, just need a point in the right direction)

congrats again!

Bermo

Junior Gonzo
29-07-2008, 07:57 PM
Yeah mate look forward to it! :) No doubt i'll see you out there again soon ;) It looks like my bro & I (who share the boat & our love of fishing) might have an electric happening in the next few weeks! Bring that on!;D Cheers!

Callop
29-07-2008, 08:54 PM
well done mate. I see the sunscreen must have worn off.
I'm going to give them a go on Friday if I can shake this mongrel cold so it will probably be a gentlemans hour start.

chief
30-07-2008, 02:31 PM
Callop...Looks good for thursday/ fri, gentlemans hours ;D Look foward to your report after you nail a few..

Junior Gonzo..Unbelieveable 2 days and she's given in,;D doesn't sound too bad

Reel Nauti
30-07-2008, 03:04 PM
good on you again Chief. You and Garrett have certainly got the Brissie well sussed!

Thanks for the report and the pic.

ddobson
30-07-2008, 07:47 PM
Busy river chief and you seem to turn up when its feeding time. Well done i have been pulling up heaps that size but no thumpers for a bit. I see the snapps on my finder in the river across the whole bottom but no buggers wanten to feed down there. They all must be hiding up under that wharf eh. Are you doing alright up around the gateway bridge with the snapps or just brim there (i heard its a hot spot) Good feed anyway.

Junior Gonzo
30-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Ha!;D I've finally worn her down mate although we did get a good price though! ;D which always helps the cause...