View Full Version : One out of two isn't bad

26-07-2008, 09:53 PM
During the course of this week a variety of conversations between Poodroo, For Steve and myself all seemed to headed in the right direction, and we were going to have a chance to get out for a fish. Even after so much rain, the weather forcast was that we might get a chance, albeit in slightly less than perfect wind conditions. 15 - 20 knots was a walk in the park from S/SW, leaving from Manly to Mud in a following sea. Our knowledge of the bay proved correct, it was no problem whatesoever.

During the course of the week, in my preparation, I dropped into my usual tackle store to replenish my plastics supply, which took a pounding at the recent R2M. 4 packets of assorted patterns, I thought I was right. Then I suddenly remembered late Friday I forgot to get the one plastic which seems to reliably get good results, the Atomic 3" Prong. So because the tackle shop is close to work, back I went for that one packet of special plastic I felt naked without. Just as I was leaving the shop, I was given a larger 4" Prong to try.

To cut a long story short, you can guess which Plastic attracted the attention of the 75cm Snapper::) But even more remarkable was the rig that the fish was caught. I grabbed my trusty 30YO solid glass 7ft bream rod, and put the shimano 3500 bait runner on it, only in preparation for Tailor if we saw any. I had an 80 popper ready and rigged, but because we didn't see any surface action, I snipped off the popper, and replaced it with a 1/2oz jighead, 4/0.

20lb braid, 20lb leader, vintage solid glass rod, and the old faithful baitrunner, deadsticking out the back with a 4" prong mooching along the bottom. Bang!! ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Brad got it on Vid and Poodroo on camera. 2nd best Snapper I ever caught, and once again, Brad, Perfect netting skills by you for which I am very thankful;)

We had our spot all to ourselves, the wind and recent rain must have kept a lot of people home. Thanks for the company Brad!

Here's the link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FcIF50CA21U

Poodroo also locked horns with what was possibly a bigger fish, Daughter did an maginfico job recording it..... but I can't get the footage to load properly. I'll have another go at it later.

26-07-2008, 10:04 PM
Sure was a nice fish. Well done. The day was fantastic. I thought I would have done better than I did today but there will always be next time. Here is a still shot of your fish. Once again the photographic support crew was there to capture the moment. ::)

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/MudSnap260708.jpg

gunna
26-07-2008, 10:13 PM
Super fish that mate. Well done :thumbup: :thumbup:

Mark-P
26-07-2008, 10:47 PM
Well done guy's, you make a pretty good team !!!
Were you guys western side ?? If so it would have
been wind against tide:-/

plaztix
26-07-2008, 11:38 PM
Nice snap Scalem. Turned out to be nice morning despite the forecast. Just reward for braving the predicted conditions.

What colour prong?

bluefin59
27-07-2008, 03:17 AM
Good work boys its good to see results from useing different methods and mixing it up a bit and braveing the conditions i just wish i was out as well and not haveing to work ,shame you didn't get that bugger on the R2M see you out there ....matt

whatscracken
27-07-2008, 07:32 AM
Great fish Scalem, nice touch with the video!

stessco
27-07-2008, 08:29 AM
looks like a great day out for a snapper fish. and a nice fish

27-07-2008, 09:22 AM
Thats a fine fish Scalem. It would have looked good at the R2M

It is suprising how many quality fish fall to the deadsticked outfits

27-07-2008, 10:05 AM
I am hoping this link works. This is the footage of the one that did get away (This time). I loosened the drag twice for fear of being bricked by this brute and he still managed to brick me. Oh well, that's fishing for you.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y55O9Hxp4kA

Nic
27-07-2008, 10:19 AM
That's great mate, well done! I have heard Prongs are better than many other prawn imitations because their little legs and feelers are thin and waft around well... I have just ordered some and plan to try them out on the sluggish barra here. Good to hear they work well on reefies, too... I'll have to try them out on the local reds! :)

Outsider1
27-07-2008, 10:26 AM
Great report and some excellent clips guys.

Bad luck on the bust off Poodroo, it sounded like it was a big fish. How much line do you reckon it took? Do you ever chase them in the boat?

27-07-2008, 10:41 AM
Great report and some excellent clips guys.

Bad luck on the bust off Poodroo, it sounded like it was a big fish. How much line do you reckon it took? Do you ever chase them in the boat?

Dave it got me right down to the backing twice and I would have considered chasing if I had a competent deckie who could drive the boat but on this occasion I was with my 10 year old daughter so was relying on the gear to bring it in. I thought I was starting to win but the fish still had way too much energy on that last run that busted me off. Where the line goes through the eyelet of the jighead is where the flurocarbon decided to give in. It was only 12lb leader which was why I was loosening the drag off. I was trying to find that perfect drag setting to let the fish run but not so loose that I was going to get spooled. Again I say "BUGGER!" :-X ::)

27-07-2008, 12:18 PM
Nice snap Scalem. Turned out to be nice morning despite the forecast. Just reward for braving the predicted conditions.

What colour prong?

The single prong was given to me as a sample, and in a clear snap lock bag, so I don't know the marketing name of it, and if it is available in stores. But I can say that if you imagine a fresh banana prawn - thats the colour;)

27-07-2008, 12:23 PM
That's great mate, well done! I have heard Prongs are better than many other prawn imitations because their little legs and feelers are thin and waft around well... I have just ordered some and plan to try them out on the sluggish barra here. Good to hear they work well on reefies, too... I'll have to try them out on the local reds! :)

Thanks Nic,

That was the tactic I guess - I let the plastic crawl along the bottom with a heavier than normal weighted JH, the legs and feelers did the rest. I'd love to book a trip up north and try that out on your local reds myself. Let me know how you go!!

Pistol_P
27-07-2008, 01:02 PM
arrrgghh thats a low feeling that....:'( ....being busted like that...

I sometimes wish I had seen the fish....But then the other half says 'No its probably better you didnt see it'......:-/

Nice snapper you caught though...8-)

slyman
27-07-2008, 02:01 PM
Great video footage fellas, thanks for sharing. Good fish to scalem nice one mate!
Damn shame about that bust off though :-[ , better luck next time poodroo.

27-07-2008, 04:42 PM
good to see someone can get a fish at Dud Isand...well done.
I am planning my next assault there...next year's R2D.

For Steve
27-07-2008, 06:04 PM
Another good days fishing Scalem. It was a pleasure to be on the water.

Poodroo, shame about the one that got away. You'll get him another time. You look like a good fisherman.;)

We all really enjoyed our fresh snapper for dinner last night. Harry just loves it. Also, he's been running around with his chainsaw for most of the day.:helpa:

Thanks for your hospitality as always.

Til next time,
Brad

SummerTrance
27-07-2008, 06:44 PM
Great fish scalem! Must of been cause of Brad 'the good luck deckie' :P Hmmm did he take you to our recently found honey hole, ill have to have a word to him about that>:( Nah just jokes, it actually looks to be a different spot from the photo. You can pm me the spot, I wont tell anyone :-X hahaha
Seriously though, well done on getting out there, and landing that ripper fish.

Poodroo.... mate.... unlucky! There was two things I heard you say in the video that are both most certainly true. 1. This is a big fish. 2. This is what its all about.

Yeh mate that is what its all about, nothing better then hearing the drag screaming and knowing there's something big on the other end. You'll get him next time mate!

Surley it must be Brads turn for a big one next time hey, he's prob starting to get sick of watching us others get them!

BtotheM
27-07-2008, 06:48 PM
Awesome Stuff, Great Footage

Chris Ryan
27-07-2008, 06:59 PM
Hi Brian - top fish mate. I dream of getting back on the water to find fish like that, but alas not to be right now.

Good to have a support crew around. Bad luck on your Andrew, man that would have been a good fish to see at the surface!

RAT-KING
27-07-2008, 07:59 PM
Well done guys 2 great clips!
Greaat fish scalem!!
Unlucky poodroo not 2 oftenu get to see the fish take the plastic!
Cheers Simon

27-07-2008, 09:10 PM
Thanks all,

I also forgot to wish Poodroo better luck for next time. It's unbelievable how many more solid hits Poodroo has been getting lately, every time he comes back from a trip he's hooked onto that Russian sub and lost. I think he's about to crack a PB that will defy belief, I really mean that. Here's a theory, have a listen to the Vid, and I recon he started to turn the fish, then gets a burst of turbo charger that late in the fight. Sharked maybe??

Great fish scalem! Must of been cause of Brad 'the good luck deckie' Hmmm did he take you to our recently found honey hole, ill have to have a word to him about that Nah just jokes, it actually looks to be a different spot from the photo. You can pm me the spot, I wont tell anyone hahaha

Poodroo.... mate.... unlucky! There was two things I heard you say in the video that are both most certainly true. 1. This is a big fish. 2. This is what its all about.

Yeh mate that is what its all about, nothing better then hearing the drag screaming and knowing there's something big on the other end. You'll get him next time mate!

Surley it must be Brads turn for a big one next time hey, he's prob starting to get sick of watching us others get them!

Marc, as I have got to know Brad, unfortunately ( for him) I have started to hang sh!t on him, but I don't want to push my luck. ;D ;D
The mark you refer to is right on the spot I picked up a few of my best fish, two on the morning of the R2M last year. I think the drift through there is all good territory with irregular ground and bommies all over the place.
It's Brads' turn next - he is just sitting back enjoying all the attention for his good deckie skills, and all the invites.
Who's the 1st skipper to crack his hoodoo? You or I? :P ;D ;D

27-07-2008, 09:39 PM
Another good days fishing Scalem. It was a pleasure to be on the water.

Poodroo, shame about the one that got away. You'll get him another time. You look like a good fisherman.;)

We all really enjoyed our fresh snapper for dinner last night. Harry just loves it. Also, he's been running around with his chainsaw for most of the day.:helpa:

Thanks for your hospitality as always.

Til next time,
Brad
Lol Brad. Yes it was a shame that I got busted off but as you say there is always next time. After looking like a good fisherman(I knew this would come back and haunt me) for this long I am bound to get lucky sooner or later and hold some actual evidence that I can catch nice fish. ::) I can see clearly now why you are a welcome deckie on Summertrance's and Scalem's boat. A good deckie and you are just great company. By the way thanks for helping me get my boat back on the trailer. :) I would ask you to come and be my deckie one of these days but feel that I would have to take a number and wait. ::)

Great fish scalem! Must of been cause of Brad 'the good luck deckie' :P Hmmm did he take you to our recently found honey hole, ill have to have a word to him about that>:( Nah just jokes, it actually looks to be a different spot from the photo. You can pm me the spot, I wont tell anyone :-X hahaha

Marc it is what it is all about and thanks. I may have missed a big fish but I feel the experience has helped me gain more of my daughter's heart. She had a great time and the experience shared with her is worth more than any big fish that comes onto my deck. I don't think I will have to try so hard next time to get her to come along.

Hi Brian - top fish mate. I dream of getting back on the water to find fish like that, but alas not to be right now.

Good to have a support crew around. Bad luck on your Andrew, man that would have been a good fish to see at the surface!

Thanks Chris. I kind of knew when the fish first latched onto the plastic that I was not going to see it. That first run was a blinder and for every bit I gained it stripped off twice as much on the next run. I will be out there again to try. I dare say that would have been my PB without a doubt if I landed it.

Thanks all,

I also forgot to wish Poodroo better luck for next time. It's unbelievable how many more solid hits Poodroo has been getting lately, every time he comes back from a trip he's hooked onto that Russian sub and lost. I think he's about to crack a PB that will defy belief, I really mean that. Here's a theory, have a listen to the Vid, and I recon he started to turn the fish, then gets a burst of turbo charger that late in the fight. Sharked maybe??

Marc, as I have got to know Brad, unfortunately ( for him) I have started to hang sh!t on him, but I don't want to push my luck. ;D ;D
The mark you refer to is about 5 mtrs away from the spot I picked up last years' best fish, two on the morning of the R2M. I think the drift through there is all good territory with irregular ground and bommies all over the place.
It's Brads' turn next - he is just sitting back enjoying all the attention for his good deckie skills, and all the invites.
Who's the 1st skipper to crack his hoodoo? You or I? :P ;D ;D

Thanks Scalem. I guess I will never know. I don't think I was sharked this time though because of where the flurocarbon gave way. Sharks normally take all but the head when it is a big enough fish but if it swallowed my fish whole then the trace would have snapped in a different location I think. It got the adrenaline pumping anyway and even though I didn't bring it in it was exciting to have at least tried which is a pleasure many people out there don't get to experience. You are right about one thing though. I can feel my time is close to upping the PB level by a notch or two. ;)

the gecko
28-07-2008, 07:11 AM
Nice fish Brian, Im using the prongs a bit too. Flathead and jacks both love em, but I still think the prawnstar is even better.

Podroo, bad luck mate, we all know the feeling. Nice video job by the new deckie tho.

T1
28-07-2008, 11:18 AM
Great Vid & great fish Brian! What i want to know is why your deckie lacks a bit of multi tasking skills???? Couldn't he keep the vid rolling while he netted it??? LOL! That would have been fun to watch...

Unlucky Andrew! But when you have the pressure of your little on in your ear, makes it tough i guess! Was still nice to hear that zzzzzzzz - haven't heard that for a while! Just don't get that effect in the driveway much!

Take Care T

Obi _ Wan
28-07-2008, 03:39 PM
Scalem, congrat's on the thumper snap mate it's a bloody ripper, well done. The video is very good also, thanks for the report, i'll keep an eye out for your next one.

And Andrew, bad luck with the dropped stud fish, mate you were not holding your mouth just right.
Great video too and the daughters commentry, "This fish dosen't want to be caught" and the zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz --- zzzzzzzzzzzz immitations, just great mate.
I guess you will pick up that fish in the next couple of trips i hope you do.

I have not been out chasing the Redcliffe snaps for a month now so based on this report i will have to get the lead out lol.

Once again guy's a bloody ripper report, looking forward to some more.

John.

28-07-2008, 05:35 PM
Great Vid & great fish Brian! What i want to know is why your deckie lacks a bit of multi tasking skills???? Couldn't he keep the vid rolling while he netted it??? LOL! That would have been fun to watch...

Unlucky Andrew! But when you have the pressure of your little on in your ear, makes it tough i guess! Was still nice to hear that zzzzzzzz - haven't heard that for a while! Just don't get that effect in the driveway much!

Take Care T

My deckie did extreemly well didn't he - if he deserves a certificate of any sort to say he has passed the test, he's got straight A's.

Parked in the driveway??? What's going on T??? Give me a ding mate, I can't beleive only 12 months ago you were defending the "Wello Cop" reputation, and now nothin!:-/

You're still alive I see, but hopefully still got arms that can fling a placcie or two. Take it easy mate!

28-07-2008, 10:34 PM
Scalem, congrat's on the thumper snap mate it's a bloody ripper, well done. The video is very good also, thanks for the report, i'll keep an eye out for your next one.

And Andrew, bad luck with the dropped stud fish, mate you were not holding your mouth just right.
Great video too and the daughters commentry, "This fish dosen't want to be caught" and the zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz --- zzzzzzzzzzzz immitations, just great mate.
I guess you will pick up that fish in the next couple of trips i hope you do.

I have not been out chasing the Redcliffe snaps for a month now so based on this report i will have to get the lead out lol.

Once again guy's a bloody ripper report, looking forward to some more.

John.

G'day John. Mate it is great to see you still posting. Have been missing you a little on here. Well what can I say about the video? I missed a nice fish and I almost didn't share the clip because my daughter is such a dag with her commentry. In the end I thought it was worth sharing so posted it up. That drag was screaming eh? ::) At first I thought my daughter was immitating the drag but she was just putting on a silly voice and chanting "Reel, reel, reel!" She wanted me to get that fish in but she was right, "That fish doesn't want to be catched does it dad?" That reminds me I need to speak to her english teacher later this week. ::)
Ironic how she said that and immediately the fish did the last big run and snapped me off almost as if it heard my daughter say that. :P

nuggstar
28-07-2008, 10:41 PM
awsome post. i love the vids. top work

Kleyny
29-07-2008, 07:51 AM
I am hoping this link works. This is the footage of the one that did get away (This time). I loosened the drag twice for fear of being bricked by this brute and he still managed to brick me. Oh well, that's fishing for you.

Ouch thats got to hurt:P . I was cringing on that second last run and of course had to have a jiggle at the end.;D

Now i know the reason i didn't see the video. I had a squiz at the thread before your vid and haven't had time to revisit.

neil

29-07-2008, 08:02 AM
Ouch thats got to hurt:P . I was cringing on that second last run and of course had to have a jiggle at the end.;D

Now i know the reason i didn't see the video. I had a squiz at the thread before your vid and haven't had time to revisit.

neil

Hi Neil. Every time I lifted the rod and it went for a run I cringed. I hate being busted off like that and it has happened to me a bit lately. Maybe I am fishing too light. I reckon that would have been a PB for sure if I got it in.

Frank OO
29-07-2008, 08:22 AM
Hi Brian,

Great fish in shallow water. I can just about feel the freezing cold wind in the video.

Frank OO

Kleyny
29-07-2008, 05:14 PM
Hi Neil. Every time I lifted the rod and it went for a run I cringed. I hate being busted off like that and it has happened to me a bit lately. Maybe I am fishing too light. I reckon that would have been a PB for sure if I got it in.

What weight line/leader are you using?

neil

29-07-2008, 06:46 PM
What weight line/leader are you using?

neil

Braid is 15lb and the flurocarbon leader is 12lb. I would have put that fish possibly in the 6-10kg bracket maybe considering I pulled a 74cm snapper in on the same line class without too much trouble in the past. This one must have been a horse. :o

For Steve
30-07-2008, 09:54 AM
Braid is 15lb and the flurocarbon leader is 12lb. I would have put that fish possibly in the 6-10kg bracket maybe considering I pulled a 74cm snapper in on the same line class without too much trouble in the past. This one must have been a horse. :o

Hey Poodroo

I've been thinking about where your leader broke - it was a wishbone wasn't it.

With a loop knot, the eye of the jighead would be rubbing on the leader and slowly wearing it and creating a weak spot. This must be the area most prone to wear as the leader does a 180 degree turn as well.

How long had that jighead been in place? It might be worth cutting off the jighead and redoing the loop knot more regularly.

Brad

30-07-2008, 10:18 AM
Hey Poodroo

I've been thinking about where your leader broke - it was a wishbone wasn't it.

With a loop knot, the eye of the jighead would be rubbing on the leader and slowly wearing it and creating a weak spot. This must be the area most prone to wear as the leader does a 180 degree turn as well.

How long had that jighead been in place? It might be worth cutting off the jighead and redoing the loop knot more regularly.

Brad

Hey there Brad. Yes it was the dreaded wishbone that I ended up with and yes there has to be a better knot than the one I am using. I am keen to learn some new knots at the knot tying M&G at my place on Saturday 9th. Once I sort out the knot I am going to seek revenge on these BIG snapper. ::) I did replace my leader before the trip so I don't think it was wear and tear on the leader from the jighead but rather just a lot of strain on the weakest point. Backing the drag off to avoid the bust off proved to be fruitless. If you listen carefully to the footage as I have on numerous occasions now to figure out what went wrong I just believe the fish was too big for the line class because when I lifted the rod the sheer weight of the fish was pulling the drag off without him going for a run. I really wasn't winning and feel that if the leader didn't break I was in for quite a long battle.

Roo
30-07-2008, 10:55 AM
Well done Scalem, Bad luck Poodroo.

Up the leader size to 16lb and push the gear a little harder initially, you might find the shorter fight a benefit for Line wear on loop knots. To be honest, I've stopped using loops unless fishing ultra light finesse stuff. the added wiggle you get from a loop knot is not really of great benefit compared to the downside of losing fish to knot/line failure when fishing for larger predators. that said, I've pulled 12-15kg jew up from 30m deep reef on 12lb FC with a loopknot to the jighead. I guess I was lucky.

Cheers Roo.

For Steve
30-07-2008, 11:12 AM
Hey there Brad. Yes it was the dreaded wishbone that I ended up with and yes there has to be a better knot than the one I am using. I am keen to learn some new knots at the knot tying M&G at my place on Saturday 9th. Once I sort out the knot I am going to seek revenge on these BIG snapper. ::) I did replace my leader before the trip so I don't think it was wear and tear on the leader from the jighead but rather just a lot of strain on the weakest point. Backing the drag off to avoid the bust off proved to be fruitless. If you listen carefully to the footage as I have on numerous occasions now to figure out what went wrong I just believe the fish was too big for the line class because when I lifted the rod the sheer weight of the fish was pulling the drag off without him going for a run. I really wasn't winning and feel that if the leader didn't break I was in for quite a long battle.

Agreed, the leader was new and it was right at the start of our session so wear and tear to the leader is unlikely.

It's a tough one - would the fish have struck if you were using a heavier leader or no loop on the jighead? A question that can't be answered.

Brad

Well done Scalem, Bad luck Poodroo.

Up the leader size to 16lb and push the gear a little harder initially, you might find the shorter fight a benefit for Line wear on loop knots. To be honest, I've stopped using loops unless fishing ultra light finesse stuff. the added wiggle you get from a loop knot is not really of great benefit compared to the downside of losing fish to knot/line failure when fishing for larger predators. that said, I've pulled 12-15kg jew up from 30m deep reef on 12lb FC with a loopknot to the jighead. I guess I was lucky.

Cheers Roo.

G'day Roo,

I'm really in two minds about the loop knot. I usually use a perfection loop on 1 rod and a normal uni knot on the other. Some days one works better than the other but the outcome isn't consistent. I guess it's just another variable, like lure colour, jighead, leader etc.

Brad

30-07-2008, 11:40 AM
Agreed, the leader was new and it was right at the start of our session so wear and tear to the leader is unlikely.

It's a tough one - would the fish have struck if you were using a heavier leader or no loop on the jighead? A question that can't be answered.

Brad

G'day Roo,

I'm really in two minds about the loop knot. I usually use a perfection loop on 1 rod and a normal uni knot on the other. Some days one works better than the other but the outcome isn't consistent. I guess it's just another variable, like lure colour, jighead, leader etc.

Brad

Aha. I have been sitting here thinking about the loop knot. Although weaker I still prefer the action it gives so I thought I would experiment on my day off and see if there was a modified version of the loop knot that I could use and I figured one out. I basically do a similar thing but the difference is I figured a way of running the leader back through the eye of the jighead so that it is going through twice. Double the strength has to be better? Will show it at the knot tying M&G for those that come to it.

30-07-2008, 08:07 PM
Who knows..... I asked the guru, where I purchase all my gear, and his opinion is that if you are getting wishbone bust offs it means you are tying all your knots perfectly - nothing left do do but dig deep when fighting the fish.

I watched the footage a few times, and not one to put myself on a pedestal and really know 100% sure, but if the fish is in the middle of a burst of speed, drop your rod and point at him, waiting till he slows down, then start the pump and wind. Not before. If you continually try pump the fish up while the fish is in full flight, rod raised higher than 45 degrees, this puts an enourmous amount of pressure/drag at the other end. I stand corrected on this, but had a good think about it, try lowering your rod each time the fish runs too hard... There's a mathematics involved - and is the same reason FrankOO goes off his nut each time someone lifts his Egrell rods past a high angle.

I hope I am making sense, but most of the time it's something that I do automatically. Raising the rod high during most of the fight, especially early, eventually stretches the line beyond its limit.

PS: Brad didn't start filming until after the 1st 2 big runs, which is why you see me lifting pretty high.

SummerTrance
30-07-2008, 08:26 PM
I agree with that scalem. I work with the theory, if the fish wants to run, just let it run, when it stops pump and wind, if it wants to go again, just let it. In saying that though, ive never had a fish big enough, that ive been worried about getting spooled.

30-07-2008, 08:36 PM
Who knows..... I asked the guru, where I purchase all my gear, and his opinion is that if you are getting wishbone bust offs it means you are tying all your knots perfectly - nothing left do do but dig deep when fighting the fish.

I watched the footage a few times, and not one to put myself on a pedestal and really know 100% sure, but if the fish is in the middle of a burst of speed, drop your rod and point at him, waiting till he slows down, then start the pump and wind. Not before. If you continually try pump the fish up while the fish is in full flight, rod raised higher than 45 degrees, this puts an enourmous amount of pressure/drag at the other end. I stand corrected on this, but had a good think about it, try lowering your rod each time the fish runs too hard... There's a mathematics involved - and is the same reason FrankOO goes off his nut each time someone lifts his Egrell rods past a high angle.

I hope I am making sense, but most of the time it's something that I do automatically. Raising the rod high during most of the fight, especially early, eventually stretches the line beyond its limit.

Yeah that sort of makes sense but I was sort of under the impression that a bit of pressure applied to the fish whilst going on a big run would tire it out a bit quicker. I have to admit to being a little inexperienced when it comes to trying to land a huge snapper and this may have resulted in me losing this one. I to date have not felt that much weight on the end of that line class. A 74cm model is my PB thus far and I still think that this one was a lot bigger than that. I will try again for sure.

I agree with that scalem. I work with the theory, if the fish wants to run, just let it run, when it stops pump and wind, if it wants to go again, just let it. In saying that though, ive never had a fish big enough, that ive been worried about getting spooled.

Marc I was letting this fish run. Only when it stopped did I try pumping and winding. I also have to admit that I was starting to panic when I saw the backing. I only just spooled up with new braid for the R2M and was having visions of losing the lot to this fish. ::) Would have been expensive to replace it.

slyman
02-08-2008, 12:37 PM
Give the Palomar knot a try, its not a loop but it is a double line through the eye and its pretty easy to tie.