View Full Version : Boonooroo Tuan Fishing Comp !2/07

elprez
26-07-2008, 01:08 PM
Sorry for the late report but have been waiting on photos from my little fat mate, still not here yet. Went to the comp expecting bad weather as forcast, no fish as predicted and big hangover as a given. Turned out a great weekend weatherwise just got better by the minute o Saturday, fish hard to find as usual for us, hangover Sunday morning was huge.
Friday 11/07 LFM's bus got in late so left Sunny coast in peak hour traffic deciding to get fuel, bait ice beer etc on the road in less congested areas. Fueled up along the road, hit Gympie at 5.30 bait shop closed ! Got beer and headed for Gamborian 5.45 servo closed ! no bait so all going well so far. Sat. 12/07, 7 am Maaroom caravan park opens and we get a few bags of pillies and head off, pump some yabbies and head towards that powerful magnet Ungowa. Mackerel about, chasing and bumping but not biting, very frustrating. Went on the drift for a few winter whitting, trolled some drains for a few decent flatties and 2 or 3 cod then got caught in an eddy going nowhere. Here we boated a few soapies, moses, bream all throw backs when just as I'm having a wizz mate yells at me, rod in holder is bending over trying to cut my left ear off. LFM got excited but I had to calm him and finish my business before pulling in Jack on a set of 4/3-0's with pilly, god I'm a good fisherman. Home to Maaroom and off to the bowls club for feastivities (more beer).
Sunday, far too slow out of bed, miss tide, drizzling rain, head up creek,.sleeping sitting up with your head on a life jacket resting on side of boat is possible. 1-30pm still cant and realy dont want to get out of the creek. Off to the weigh in, LFM takes in my Jack and it wins, now wish I took in a couple of the cod to see if there was a prize for best pair of cods. Stayed on Monday and what a cracker of a day, no fish but saw heaps as the water was that clear.
LFM is now back in the desert where he belongs with his memories and photos of my fish.
God I love that part of the world.
and still champion
Elprez.