View Full Version : Shimano Spinning Reels vs Daiwa Sol
WestOzDesertFisher
23-07-2008, 11:08 PM
Need to buy a new setup suited to 20lb braid but stuck in deciding on the reel. Looking at Shimano Sustain 4000, Shimano Twin Power 4000 and Shimano Stradic 5000(new models) or the new Daiwa Sol 4000. What do people think about value for money and performance?? Which of these is more superior??
Really want to put this one to rest..
sleepygreg
23-07-2008, 11:14 PM
ford v holden again. I prefer Daiwa in equivalent models to Shimano. Just make sure you are comparing like for like, not higher model in one brand v lower model in other brand. having said that, at the top of the tree it comes down to brand preference. They both make top class reels reels at the upper end......they also both make crap reels at the lower end...you will get what you pay for. Some of us have preferences dictated by factors other than the performance of the individual reels......like service back up, parts availability, integrity of the aussie agents etc.
BtotheM
24-07-2008, 07:08 AM
It also depends if the lightness of the reel is any factor, i have a 4000 twin power and its great, smooth as, but pretty damm heavy (compared to the other mentioned), i think the sol will be the lightest
Plastic_Magic
24-07-2008, 02:07 PM
Um a Sol is out of ya catagory as it is only comes up to 3000 size....
cheers PM
Um a Sol is out of ya catagory as it is only comes up to 3000 size....
cheers PM
Not anymore. just released a 4000 size.;)
the gecko
24-07-2008, 04:07 PM
It comes down to cost, so how much are you being charged for these options?
I love my sustain, cos its so close to the stella specs. Ive also got a stradic, and Id be open to a diawa next time, just for a change.
Go the sustain if its similar in price.
bushbeachboy
24-07-2008, 05:17 PM
I run 20 pound braid on a 2500 Sol. I quite like the Sol, and it handles the braid well, but can't compare it to the better Shimano's because I've never had one. If anyone would like to know why I run 20 pound braid on a 2500 size reel - because I can.
champion
24-07-2008, 06:11 PM
mate we use the twin power with 20 & 30lbs braid for deep water soft plastics.. does the job very nicely.... you will see when you hook onto a decent fish why it was well woth the money.
cheers joe
Trying to open my other eye::) ..... in considering shimano !
If I was fishing plastics ......... The Sol with its much slower gear ratio ...
If spinning is your go ....... Then the Sustain!
Nagg
WestOzDesertFisher
24-07-2008, 08:59 PM
thanks for the advice so far guys.. i spose any of these reels will be better then what i allready have haha.
lower retrieve ratio just means i'll haf to wind faster right?? also ive heard the daiwa reels would be tougher then the shimano's??
therz only a $60-100 difference between these reels i think! just dont want to be disapointed with my purchase
Cheeers
thanks for the advice so far guys.. i spose any of these reels will be better then what i allready haha. lower retrieve ratio just means i'll haf to wind faster right?? also ive heard the daiwa reels would be tougher then the shimano's?? therz only a $60-100 difference between these reels i think! just dont want to be disapointed with my purchase
Thats right ! ....... but when fishing plastics , it is preferable to have a lower (slower) ratio reel
But if you are spinning ..... the faster the better (usually)
Nagg
WestOzDesertFisher
24-07-2008, 10:06 PM
can anybody help me on the positives and negatives for these particular reels..??
Plastic_Magic
25-07-2008, 07:02 AM
Sorry Guys,
I was still in the dark ages...lol
Now there is a 4000 SOL go it for the Plastician out the reef with 30lb daiwa dineama braid and it'll do u the job just fine....
Cheers and sorry PM
can anybody help me on the positives and negatives for these particular reels..??
Sol ...... The colour (YUK!) ... but a nice reel.
Sustain ..... Is a little smoother to use & so it would just edge out the Sol IMO ( Depending on the final use)
WODF ....... if you bought either the Sol or Sustain , you'd have nothing to complain about as they are both well built , have nice waterproof drags .....Both come with a spare spool 8-)
I'm a Daiwa man ..... but having tried both (2500s) , I'd have either ......... but would paint over the Sol;)
Good luck with the purchase ..... & let us know what you went for & think about it!
Nagg
plaztix
25-07-2008, 10:26 AM
I think the sol is better value for money than the sustain.
I personally prefer the feel of the sol over the sustain as well , i find most of the middle range shimano stuff is a bit el cheapo looking and dinky. The daiwa's feel more solid but thats just me. ::)
Its a tough choice that i couldn't make 6 months ago when i was looking for a medium heavy tuna/ mackeral combo. So good luck. Which ever way you go i'm sure you will be happy.
WestOzDesertFisher
25-07-2008, 01:48 PM
Can anybody tell me the difference between the Sustain and the Stradic??
Little grey men
25-07-2008, 02:47 PM
The Sustain has seven bearings...the Stradic has 5 bearings. The build quality on the Sustain will obviously be better hence the extra cost. Both reels at the 4000 size will have around 20lb of drag. Both waterproof drag systems which is a big bonus.
Both reels would be great to use. I use a 2500 size Stradic which I really enjoy.
Go and pick ALL of these reels up "Shimano and Diawa" and have a good play with them. Really look closely at them. Ask heaps of questions.
I quite often pick up a reel and just think Nope...wouldn't be happy with using that for four hours straight.
All of the reels you've mentioned would be sweet to use and are well built, but you've got to be happy with it at the end of the day.
The next question is how often will you use it. That can be a determining factor when laying a heap of cash on the tackle store counter.
I use my reels once a week so I wouldn't buy a Stella, I'd like one but I can't justify the expense. The Stradic suits my needs for now.
Oh and think about the warranty they offer. They do break !
cobiaman
25-07-2008, 06:06 PM
go the sol!!!!
WestOzDesertFisher
26-07-2008, 11:08 AM
What is the difference between a reel with a 4.8 ratio and a reel with a 5.8?? 1.0 doesnt seem like much...
cobiaman
26-07-2008, 01:39 PM
the diference is probably around 4 or 5 inches per turn of the handle
WestOzDesertFisher
27-07-2008, 01:48 PM
here is my conclusion.. all these reels would be great though leaning towards the sol for how much line it can hold compared to the shimano's n i believe it will still be able to effectively throw slugs etc.. also it comes at a good price.
what do people reckon???
plaztix
27-07-2008, 10:20 PM
I reckon you've done a great job of talking your self into a great reel. Enjoy it.
But...
Just for the record, the sol wont throw a slug any more or less effectively than the shimanos, it is in the speed of the retrieve where the difference lies. The extra rev per turn of the handle will equate to almost 1m extra per second at full on flat out retrieve, based on 8 spins per second. (i wonder how many spins is possible in one second, 8 maybe 10??).
Jeremy87
28-07-2008, 02:25 PM
For inshore pelagic spinning you can't beat a 4000 shimano. Why? The drag stays smoother longer. I've got an old model sustain that has had literally kilometers of drag stipped off it under pressure which is still running smoothe without being touched. I will use daiwa reels for other applications but for tuna and macks shimano all the way. Manufacturors always use a line per crank measure for retrieve speed, the main problem with this measure is that in real life your interested in speed in metres/second, how easy a reel is to wind and how short the handle is plays a huge part in how fast you can crank the slug back to the boat. Shorter handles on a smooth well balanced reel is my preference as you can crank harder for less effort and consequently for a longer period of time without tiering. A 4000 shimano will fit 300m of 20lb sunline pe on it perfectly. From my experiences of a pelagic has more the 200-250 out on you your probably going to loose it from pulled hooks rather than getting spooled. A 300 metre capacity gives you plenty of time to get the boat started and to be driving up on the fish. I haven't used many 4000 sized daiwas only a 4500 blast but found the long handle made it slow to wind even with a high speed gear ratio, how the new sols compare i do not know.