View Full Version : advice needed on buying

muzzytt
20-07-2008, 06:58 PM
I am looking ta upgrdaing my boat to something like a haines hunter v17L

as i was told this is a boat good for offshore.
also do these boats fit inside normal garages?

I am looking for a boat to take me around sydney heads etc nothing too far out.

however when I was baoting around grotto point I wasnt feeling very safe in my 4.8 mtr glass boat.

or am i too chicken to go past this area as the swell keeps me from going further or am i being sensible as I am new into boats ...

any advice woould be appreciated. Thanks

Muz

arvor
20-07-2008, 07:55 PM
hi muzz
well from what i have heard the haines v17 is a very nice hull and very capable.
now as for feeling safe in any vessel .sea hours and conditions will give you a understanding of how your vessel will handle.also if you can get a profesional boat handler it would be a great advantage to you and your passengers.so take it easy and take care.
ps i dont think a 17r will fit in the norm garage.sorry.
gary mooloolaba.

wilcara
20-07-2008, 08:08 PM
Muzz, dunno about your garage but they are a nice seagoing hull but unstable at rest... not unsafe just "tender."

As to your own boat, keep within your comfort zone mate, don't worry about whatever anybody else says, your'e the one in it! One person might sail to Tasmania in it and the next drown off the end of the boat ramp.

Anyway it isn't fun if you are worried about conditions etc. AS you progress you will get plenty of advice and learn heaps.

muzzytt
20-07-2008, 08:20 PM
thanks for the advice guys appreciated..
how are the markham whaler 4.9 handle ? are theye safe boats ?

muzzytt
20-07-2008, 08:35 PM
oh and my budget is max $15000

muzzytt
20-07-2008, 10:50 PM
Btw I have a long double garage I am mostly limited by height of boat and trailer.

muzzytt
21-07-2008, 07:14 PM
anyone know the weight of the haines V17L?

death_ship
21-07-2008, 09:05 PM
around 1400kg
good hull, good on the plane, no bad habits such as broaching and a soft ride for a 17 footer.

muzzytt
21-07-2008, 09:09 PM
thanks mate so far sounds good is there any other brand boat that would compare with the v17L ?

Vitamin Sea
21-07-2008, 09:11 PM
Good hull, rides very well into the slop, are a little tender at rest ( deep V )

No anchor well, which I do not like

Capable offshore boat

VS

death_ship
21-07-2008, 10:10 PM
the haines17c is just as good, i have one for sale on this site which spent most of its time offshore. there are some other brands but they are the most popular in the older 17foot fibreglass hulls.

muzzytt
22-07-2008, 07:27 PM
I have seen your advert nice boat but out of my league :)

I have found a v17l with a 90 hp honda 4 stroke I was thinking is that engine enough for that hull? and he asking $15750 for it does that sound ok ?

22-07-2008, 07:40 PM
At the Cairns show they had new boat with a merc on the back for 20k, this boat looked for all the world like a direct copy of a V17 or a V16. I only got a quick glance at it before my attention was pulled away so I could be off the mark but it looked like a great little boat for the price.

The seller was either Affordable cars and marine 40318005 or mitchells 40513512, at least I think so.

Possibly worth a call to find out the brand?

Vitamin Sea
23-07-2008, 08:16 PM

I have found a v17l with a 90 hp honda 4 stroke I was thinking is that engine enough for that hull? and he asking $15750 for it does that sound ok ?

My opinion only, a 90 4 banger would be just enough for that hull, they go well with 115 2 strokes, matter of seeing how it goes on the water I suppose, would not break any records.

Death Ships 17C is a very nice boat, with a good newish motor, once again in my opinion, the C's are better boats than the L'S.

Could be worth talking to him $$$ wise, for a little bit more $, could get a lot better package.

VS

rhycebullimore
23-07-2008, 09:08 PM
hey i picked up a 17c for that exact reason of how well they ride in rough water, definitly one of the best going around. here are a few pics, got hull for 1,000, new trailer 4,500 total 5,500. Now its just basically labour till i fit the go fast 140 on the back. as you can see (late pics have to a lot more since) total rebild from stringers up, replacing all timber so rot is not a possibility. jacking plate on back, fill in transome height rear casting deck, side console, front casting deck, rod lockers, under floor fuel,esky, front anchorwell, basically a hell of a lot better desigined and more practicle bass boat, with offshore capabilities.
and for about a grand total of im estimating 25,000. that brand new everything.

rhycebullimore
23-07-2008, 09:11 PM
oh, and a wicked paint job to go aswell.

death_ship
23-07-2008, 09:20 PM
the 90 honda would do the job but the 115 is perfect i reckon, ive seen them with 90 2 strokes on them a bit. a 17l with a 4 stroke for 15k is a good buy if it has been looked after, dont forget they are nearly 30 years old and can have a lot of deterioration to the hull if they have had a hard life. i have found its hard to get a good seaworthy offshore boat for around 15k that doesnt need a few grand spent on it to get it up to scratch. thats my opinion on what i have experienced, and yes i have been towed in due to motor failure, thats why my boat has a new yammy on it. but theres a lot more to it than just boat and motor.

nice project rhyce, lots of work ahead, but its ok if you love boats. and when its done you know every inch of your rig inside and out.

rhycebullimore
23-07-2008, 09:27 PM
as far as i am aware, correct me if i am wrong but the v17 L,C,R are all i dentical hulls from the gunnels down, and it was only the gunnel and tops that were modified, and they should all offer the same ride.

Hornet Rider
23-07-2008, 09:52 PM

Muzz, you may already have a boat that can give you the satisfaction & freedom you need. I'm no boat handling expert, but I did learn a few things from a few experienced boat handlers (an SAS water ops specialist, a US Navy SEAL & a crayfish captain in Geralton WA) about just how far you can push things in rough weather. If I were you, I'd get with someone who knows how to handle a boat in difficult sea conditions, & can read weather patterns & make that your main effort for the immediate, then maybe later examine options for a replacement boat.

If your still contemplating that rig with the Honda 90, you might want to guage it's age & if it's going to cost you repair or maintenance money in the near future. Newer 4 stokes are in a league of their own, but older ones can be cranky.

Safe boating mate.

muzzytt
23-07-2008, 11:17 PM
thanks for all the replys everyone it is much appreciated. It s dawning on me that selecting a boat is hard as Just when you think you find one you see another...

at this stage I am not hell bent on going offshore my aim first is to be able to confidently hng around the heads or there abouts.. I usually launch from roseville bridge and head out so far I have gotten as far as grotto point when I decided to turn back :)

I have also been looking at a haines 565 L that is a newer hull for about the same sort of cash it is fitted with a 115 hp evinrude ocean pro 1998...

muzzytt
26-07-2008, 07:26 PM
Update. Currently looking at 2 haines hunter 565's was gonna buy one til the trim tilt stopped working on the johnson. But the short ride i had in it was great .feels like a very stable boat.

muzzytt
26-07-2008, 07:49 PM
I also need to know if tandem trailers are hard to move around off the car? As i mite need to move it around thx?

muzzytt
30-07-2008, 06:43 PM
I was looking at this hh565 all ok however soft spot behind driver chair the owner has screwed plywood over it. My question is does the whole floor need replacing or can that area be fixed on its own? I do understand that stringers could be rotten is there any way of knowing? Thx

death_ship
30-07-2008, 08:10 PM
i would be sriously looking at transom and rest of floor. tap it with the handle of a screw driver, you will hear a different sound if soft. give the motor a good wobble to see if transom flexes. once you cut the soft spot out you will know by looking inside, very high chance of soft transom at that age

rhycebullimore
30-07-2008, 08:13 PM
short answer, NO. unfortunatly you will not know if there is rot in the stringers or bulkheads without first pulling the floor. Also it could be possible but for the sake of it, it is probably much easier to replace at the minimum a whole section of flooring, ie from one bulk head to another or something, you will find it diffuculy to replace such a small patch, and really you won't get a good indication of how far the water has travelled in the remaining plywood. it may start delaminating a few months down the track.

muzzytt
30-07-2008, 09:54 PM
when I had a quick look at it the transom seemed very stiff no movement or any signs of cracking etc. the rest of the floor was good.
I will be going over it this saturday so will think about it..

appreciate the help all as I am learning about boats every day thx

Tri N Hard
31-07-2008, 04:21 PM
The v17l hull ways about 480kg u dont want anything less then a 115hp on it.