View Full Version : east of green

snapperbasher
16-07-2008, 07:59 PM
Hey Guys,

I had a call this arvo from my usual deckie. He had to take his old mans boat for a run as he is on holidays it didnt take much arm twisting to go along as the deckie for a change so we headed out about 3.30 to a spot we did allright at this time last year. After about an hour of nothing but a couple of little taps I finnaly hooked up solid and the first run was a ball tearer I was thinking we would have to chase it for a while but it turned and came straight at the boat which nearly gave me a stroke cause i thought it had spat the hooks but a little bit of crazy winding and I came up solid again a few more runs and it was all over for 80cm's of fat bay snapper.

Cheers Lochie

SummerTrance
16-07-2008, 08:09 PM
What a whopper! great snap mate, well done! Bait or plastics ?

Just goes to show that there's plenty of good size snaps lurking all around the bay at the moment, just have to find them.

reelchippy
16-07-2008, 08:13 PM
Great or should i say super fish.cheers

reelchippy
16-07-2008, 08:15 PM
Sorry mate what did you get it on. cheers

snapperbasher
16-07-2008, 08:18 PM
Thanks guys,

Hate to say it but it was on a 7" nuke chook

SummerTrance
16-07-2008, 08:24 PM
Thanks mate. Its been running through my mind lately of trying a 7" in the bay. Might deploy one tomorrow and see how I go.

slyman
16-07-2008, 08:28 PM
Another cracker bay snap, there's been a few caught recently. Well done mate.

Steven78
16-07-2008, 08:34 PM
Thats a Nice Snap for around Green well done :)

Reel Nauti
16-07-2008, 09:49 PM
That's a beautiful snapper for around anywhere I'd say!

Well done mate. Still looking forward to getting my first.

For Steve
17-07-2008, 10:44 AM
That's a screamer of a fish. Congratulations on scoring that monster.

What outfit were you using? Was it the light plastics outfit in the rod holder? Also, what weight and size jighead for the 7" chook?

Cool pics too.

Brad

snapperbasher
17-07-2008, 10:58 AM
Hey Brad,

It was the outfit in the holder.It is a 4000 tierra on a wilson lcs pelagic spin 8 / 20lb rod with 20lb nitlon braid and 30lb fluoro leader. Jig head was a 1/2oz 7/0 TT

Az
17-07-2008, 12:27 PM
stonker!!!!!! nice fish!!

plaztix
17-07-2008, 01:07 PM
Lovely snap mate. There sure are some good snaps in the bay at the moment. Good skills for finding one.

How'd you go on the jackalls?

Rufus
17-07-2008, 01:23 PM
Hey Lochie, great fish, and on a 7" SP. Brilliant. There are some nice fish wondering around in the bay, just need to find the bait and there they will be. Never fished Green, how far East were you. I know when the guys mention East of Mud this could be 100 meters or 1000 meters. also, with a 1/2oz TT you must have been getting to the bottom quickly. I have only used 1/6 or 1/8.

Cheers, Mark

plaztix
17-07-2008, 01:32 PM
In the deeper sections of the bay when the current is moving you will need atleast a 1/4 oz. on a 7". They have a huge amount of drag and dont sink real quick on 1/6 or lighter.

snapperbasher
17-07-2008, 02:32 PM
hey plastix,

Thats correct about the jighead sizes also I usually fish slightly heavier jigheads than you have to I think snapper sometimes like a quick eratic retrieve especially coming up to a full moon. I have changed some hooks over on the jackalls as you saw in my other post.I had a fish in the river a couple of days ago no big fish but landed about 5 squire and a couple of cod i think the single hook will be better only time will tell.

Cheers Lochie

madmackrel
17-07-2008, 04:51 PM
8-) Good one Lochie , what boat yard is that in the background;D
Cheers Perry PS mate had an awesome overnighter offshore Will post in offshore section soon

Dylan_Rylatt
17-07-2008, 05:16 PM
great fish mate......... i gotta organise a trip out soon if yah keep pulling thease fish.... great stuff

Cheers Dyl

whatscracken
17-07-2008, 05:19 PM
Nice work there Basher, Gee the conditions look tough!!

cobiaman
17-07-2008, 05:59 PM
nice fish lochie!!!

17-07-2008, 09:26 PM
Great fish there. You certainly have the Bay Snapps sorted out a lot better than most of us. Do you normally work 7/0's in the bay?

snapperbasher
17-07-2008, 10:38 PM
Thanks guys,

Hey dylan: and to think you were on board when I caught my first bay snapper nearly 11years ago to the day. Have to tag along soon hey.

perry: it's starting to look like a boat yard here. keen to see your report on the overnighter.

Horse: yeah usually run 7/0's with the 7" placcies usually only use 7" placcies in the bay.I hate sorting thru the s#%t (s#@t) to get a good fish.usually dont get alot of action on the 7" but when you do it's a good fish.I have caught a couple of snapper in the high 50's to 60's lately but havent bothered reporting.

Cheers Lochie

chief
18-07-2008, 03:33 PM
Great fish and some nice pics. love the conditions in the background.Cheers

RAT-KING
18-07-2008, 06:43 PM
Well done agreat looking snap it sounds like it gave u a bit of grief! cheers Simon

ALB78
19-07-2008, 05:56 AM
HaHaHa aahh Lochie!!!! nice fish you got there mate! That would have to be the biggest fish that boat has ever seen ay........well done. How'd the boat go? Its been a long time between trips for that one i'm guessing. We'll have to catch up soon ay!! Cheers Adrian!!!

snapperbasher
20-07-2008, 06:12 PM
Hey Adrian,

Ha Ha I told him on the way out I was going to christen the boat with a good snap. It's not a bad rig for running around the bay islands gotta love the yammy four stroke too there so quite I think I would have spooked that fish in my boat we were only in about 8mtrs of crystal clear water. I think it was nearly 12 months since that boats been on the water.

Cheers Lochie

T1
21-07-2008, 09:28 AM
Awesome again Lochie!! I've nearly forgotten what a Snap looks like it's been so damn long :'( !

Oh well, that's what happens when you get bored in the footy off season ;) !!!

Take Care T