View Full Version : Peel 16.07.08

Leighton
16-07-2008, 07:39 PM
Headed out again this afternoon is absolute glass.
Headed to my usual stomping ground, same weapons of choice.
5" Zooms and 5" Camo Gulps, 10lbs leader
It was a little quiet until about 4pm when I finally located some decent bait shows on the sounder. I have included a pic of what I actively seek out this time of year. The sounder pic is of Tailor feeding on the bait Schools, the place is thick with Choppers this time of year.
I have found is you cast in behind the Tailor there is usually plenty of Snaps in all sizes picking up the crumbs. Didnt land any big fish but came home with a few Tailor and 3 Snaps all over the 40cm Mark. Even picked up a very greedy Flounder that Smacked a 5" Camo the whole way down

Steven78
16-07-2008, 08:03 PM
Thats 2 good trips this week Well done and i have been Stuck at work putting up with upset Optus reps :)

SummerTrance
16-07-2008, 08:06 PM
Good report mate. You came home with the goods again. Thats a great sounder pic too.

Cammy
16-07-2008, 11:36 PM
Awsome report mate, That flounders a good catch they are so bloody nice to eat one of my favs.

Ripper Fish!

Cammy

For Steve
17-07-2008, 10:46 AM
G'day Leighton

It's been a good week for you mate. Two sessions and decent fish both times.

That sounder pic adds a new dimension to the report. Colour is sure the way to go. I think I'll be upgrading soon.

Brad

tropicrows
17-07-2008, 11:10 AM
Top stuff, great picture on the sounder. Im still dreaming of that sort of catch rate.It make a big different when you can get out regularly.

tropicrows
17-07-2008, 11:12 AM
Leighton,
I meant to ask what rod are you using.

Leighton
17-07-2008, 12:16 PM
G Loomis BSR GLX 852 with a 2500 Sol
Egrell S4 Bear with a 3000 Morethan Branzino

plaztix
17-07-2008, 12:57 PM
Another good session. Well done mate, did you lose much gear to the choppers?

The little bastards are everywhere at the moment, we headed out for a quick sess this morning and lost a lot of gear to them but we did manage a 64cm snap.

Leighton
17-07-2008, 01:03 PM
a heap mate, clean bite off and plenty of lost tails
If you cast amongst them let the lure settle and slow the hops down, they dont seem as interested in the slower plastic
I am regretting not cutting a slab off and having a crack for Jew

Rufus
17-07-2008, 01:16 PM
Hey Leighton, great post. Yes there are some good fish in the bay, enought to keep us all interested. I have never fished Peel, do you fish the northern end or down the south end ? Were there many squid about?

Cheers, Mark

plaztix
17-07-2008, 01:26 PM
a heap mate, clean bite off and plenty of lost tails
If you cast amongst them let the lure settle and slow the hops down, they dont seem as interested in the slower plastic
I am regretting not cutting a slab off and having a crack for Jew

Makes sense, will try that, it always seemed to be on the way up (quick retrieve back to the boat) now i think about it.

Theres always a good chance of a big lazy jew under those feeding schools of chopper. i just cant be bothered changing rigs.::):P

Leighton
17-07-2008, 01:30 PM
Hey Leighton, great post. Yes there are some good fish in the bay, enought to keep us all interested. I have never fished Peel, do you fish the northern end or down the south end ? Were there many squid about?

Cheers, Mark
never tried for Squid, imagine they would be there
North West( Spit beacon ) and work your way around to the N/E all the way past Cucumbers

Didley
17-07-2008, 01:32 PM
Good report mate. You came home with the goods again. Thats a great sounder pic too.

Dito from me. Thanks Mate

chief
17-07-2008, 02:18 PM
;D ;D I knew where you would be, when garrett told me you had an early day. Great stuff,Gee your going well, keep the reports comeing ;D Cheers

Leighton
17-07-2008, 07:17 PM
;D ;D I knew where you would be, when garrett told me you had an early day. Great stuff,Gee your going well, keep the reports comeing ;D Cheers
any chance I can get;)

MeePee_99
17-07-2008, 07:55 PM
Very Nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17-07-2008, 08:36 PM
Another good result. Hard to contain excitement with a show on the sounder as good as that??:o

RAT-KING
18-07-2008, 06:55 PM
Well done leighton sounds like another great sesh!
Cheers Simon