View Full Version : not so at westpoint

ronnien
13-07-2008, 12:28 PM
hi all,

headed over to westpoint today, got there about 5am. we fished for macks & done some bottom boucing the fishing was very slow, 1 doggie that went 73cm & thats it the best part was that the water was glassed out. tried everything but nothing was doing the marks we usally fish did not fire middle reef had about 20 tinnies sitting around it with no one catching a fish, like the old saying no run no fun.

ron.

13-07-2008, 12:37 PM
bad luck Ron, but at least you got something, unlike last w/end when there was nothing biting all day. Would've headed out today, but I've got the floor out of the boat again, something's blocking the fuel line from the u/floor.

ronnien
13-07-2008, 05:13 PM
scott,

you need to fix that cause there is some nice weather coming soon.

ron.

13-07-2008, 06:07 PM
yeah its done now, just got an issue of dirty fuel coming from the new filter, no floaties, but the fuel is brown. Not sure whether I should run it or not, the engine's due for a service anyway.

ronnien
13-07-2008, 08:15 PM
scott,

who is doing your motor?

ron

13-07-2008, 08:31 PM
dunno, probably just take it into Rising Sun, where we bought it.

levinge
14-07-2008, 08:13 AM
Scott,
If you are out of the Warranty period, take your boat to Scott and NQ Outboard Wreckers, he and his boys do servicing on all motors and he is better priced than Rising Sun and the rest. Honest and doesn't bullshit you.

He is situated over in the Bohle Industrial area, always has boats in there. His work is quick also...

Got the big boat home now, Wet Test in 1.5m swell up at Mission Beach and we managed a conservative 38kts, interested to see what she is going to push on a flatish sea.. She runs really well

ronnien
14-07-2008, 08:17 AM
scott,

give tony a call (tonys mobile marine) ph. 0416132713......... mate he is the best in this town!he will come out to your place & you can learn something while you watch him do his magic.i dont trust anyone else to touch mine!

ron.

14-07-2008, 01:58 PM
So you finally got her, and just in time, this weekend is shaping up to be a goodun (touch wood), but it's only Monday and a lot can change between now and then.

I won't take my outboard to the wreckers Brett, the first and last time we did, was a simple service on our old 50hp 2 str and they totally ripped us off, replaced things without us knowing, nor the engine needing it and charging us for it, losing parts and had to order new ones and tried to charge us, for a simple service, the motor was out of operation for nearly a month because it was in peices. I don't know if its under new management now or not, but they've done their dash with me. I reckon, they've had people come in off the street wanting 2nd hand parts and they've sold ours to them so their regular customers had to wait. Also, they tried to tell us it needed new injectors and it was a carby friggin engine!

I will give your bloke a call Ron, its out of warranty (with only 60 hrs....pitiful) so it doesn't matter who does it, as long as its done properly.

levinge
14-07-2008, 06:46 PM
As usual the bad scheduling demon has struck. Possible good weather this weekend, I have a fishing Comp on (Yippeee) NOPE, bloody comp is Beach Fishing Only (No Boats!!!!!) talk about being ripped off serverely.

Missus is taking Thursday off, with the weather improving, I am taking a small gamble and going to put the boat in early. If all goes well we will hit Cape Cleveland, check out that area and then might do a circuit around maggie with a few Mack lures out, never know what might be lurking behind the island. If all goes well I will be able to give her a good run....

ronnien
14-07-2008, 08:19 PM
levinge,

find out who"s got wolfies & troll them around the cape it should not take long;) .
lucky so&so:)

ron.

14-07-2008, 08:37 PM
Fishing warehouse just got a heap of wolfies in. I'm gonna pick a few up tomorrow for the weekend, but I've never rigged one before, hopefully Pat can give me some good tuition.

levinge
14-07-2008, 08:44 PM
I have 4 of them in the freezer from easter at Lucinda. 1 1/2 footers, and yes they will be trolled, have chin guards for them, but might pick up one of the new bibbed chin guards that Pat is selling.

Just want ot get the Missus on a thumper so that she has first opportunity to blood the boat (that way I'll be able to put the boat in anytime)!!!!

Got some good squid and pillies for floater, also jigs and feather jigs, so hopefully we have everything we need for monsters to chew on!!

ronnien
14-07-2008, 08:46 PM
scott,

get pat to rig one up for you, he wont mind.

ron.

ronnien
14-07-2008, 08:52 PM
have a look at the new mick myres (spelling) wolffie rigs, & the new way of rigging them from the last hook they have single strand wire to treble
with about 3-4 wires & trebles going down the wolffie from the last hook was told that it"s a better hookup rate, protackle was selling them.

ron.

levinge
14-07-2008, 09:00 PM
That sounds like and interesting setup. Might have a look at them tomorrow.

14-07-2008, 09:09 PM
You know what Brett, I'd be telling the fishing comp where to go. With a new rig raring to go, just begging to be blooded, I'm sure they'll understand.

levinge
14-07-2008, 09:12 PM
problem is I am one of the organisers

15-07-2008, 02:05 PM
well, thats your own fault......how long was the comp in the making? Then I and your boat might forgive you.

levinge
16-07-2008, 07:43 AM
We do a 12 month calendar at the start of the year. The Army club was in charge of this one. Comp would have been last weekend but the SLSC Alva Beach double booked and the Army graciously changed the date (so not my fault).\

Next week is starting to look good, Seabreeze has Monday looking really good.

I have Tuesday through to Saturday off, might just have to put her in for a fish. Will need to find a deckie if I do????

16-07-2008, 05:02 PM
Is that this this week? or next? I will talk to the boss, I'm sure it won't be a problem, we're not too bust at work atm

levinge
16-07-2008, 05:31 PM
next week matey, have a look at Seabreeze!!!!!

16-07-2008, 07:12 PM
Well, looking at that, it might be worth me taking a few days off. Will talk to the boss tomorrow.

horseboy
18-07-2008, 10:22 AM
I am off from next wednesday night if you are still looking fora decky.

Wade

levinge
18-07-2008, 07:32 PM
No worries Horse, unfortunately the weather isn't helping us out at the moment..