View Full Version : New Transom

jjaaccee
12-07-2008, 12:09 PM
This Is The Love Of My Life
Its A Fish Killing Machine Called A Mako 21
I Bought It With A 95 Model 225 Evinrude That I Spent Silly Amounts Of Money On Trying To Make It Reliable
After My 2nd Rescue From The High Seas For Obvious Reasons I Decided It Was Time For A Repower
The Boat Is A 83 Model And Had Dings Chips Scratches And A Transom That Had Some Minor Flex
So Rather Than Just Bung A New Outboard On The Back And Hope The Transom Held Together I Also Decided To Rip The Thing To Bits Replace The Transom Respray The Whole Boat And Get The Thing Dripping In Nice New Shiny Stainless Steel Fittings Prior To Fitting The New Motor
Ive Been Working On This Project For Around 4 Months Now On The Weekends So Ive Made A Bit Of Progress
Any Tips Ideas Etc Will Be Appreciated
Jace

jjaaccee
12-07-2008, 12:18 PM
So I Removed All Fittings From The Transom And Check The Water Flow From The Speed Wheel And Scuppers That Transom Was Holding A Supprising Amount Of Water

After Quite A Bit Of Research I Opted To Cut A Chunk Of The Top Deck Out And Access The Transom From The Inside Rather Than Mess With The Hull Itself From The Rear

So The First Cut Was Made And Out Came The Rear Section Of Top Deck Without To Much Trouble .

I Used A Diamond Masonary Blade Fitted To The Angle Grinder It Works A Treat On Fiberglass

ifishcq1
12-07-2008, 12:29 PM
JC

I am in the middle of patching painting and refitting a 30' stinger and I know what you are up against

You are right in doing it properly now.. Other guys will have the best advice on how so I will sit back and learn

Keep the progress photos coming

good luck

SL

bushbeachboy
12-07-2008, 07:22 PM
Good to see another proper refit. What motor are you planning to fit?

jjaaccee
14-07-2008, 03:02 PM
I reckon a 225 etec will push it along nicely Bushbeachboy

here is a flick of the grinding process "a very painfull grinding process"

jjaaccee
14-07-2008, 03:18 PM
The inside rear section of the hull was ground out until smooth enough to lay new glass on. I had to remove around a ft of the port side stringer as some minor rot was showing at the very base
All the rest of the stringers were dry and were left untouched
as i managed to remove the old transom in one piece it was used as a template for the new one.
We bonded the new sheets together with a single layer of 300gm mat and vynilester resin and weighted down until cured.
We made a clamp by running bolts through the hull to rigid timber and performed a dry run to ensure it would work prior to wetting out

jjaaccee
14-07-2008, 03:21 PM
And No The Single Layer Of The Sunday Mail Dident Cut It:-[
And Yes It Did Get Stuck To The Concrete Floor:-/
Jace

jjaaccee
14-07-2008, 04:17 PM
After the transom was bonded to the hull we coved all the corners with Probond and layed the matt on while the probond was still wet and wet it all out with vynilester reso after curing gave it a sand and hit it with a layer of FGI flowcoat
everything was washed down with acetone and spotless prior to any glass going in.and all glasswork was rolled thorougly to remove all entrapped air.
the top deck was slipped back into place and tabbed in from underneath then the join on the top side was faired out to the full thickness of the original glass and stuck back in.
I might make it sound easy but it aint there is quite a bit of work involved in preperation and small tasks like replacing the old stringer
extra tabbing around original stringers and the join to the hull
new battery boxes on either side of the transom
filling old thru hull holes
cleaning up all that fluccen dust
removing foam from the gunwales so i can fit rod holders with drain hoses fitted i destroyed the missus soup ladels by sharpening the edge so i could scoop the foam out ,she was pissed;D .
the list goes on

jjaaccee
14-07-2008, 04:33 PM
some flicks of the almost finished product
the boat had a fold down splashwell door which was originally designed to provide more fishing room at the rear of the boat. In the time ive owned the boat i found i never needed the extra room so i made a mould the right size and made a permenant splashwell door and glassed that in its place it will be fitted with flush mount rod holders.
most of the filling has been completed at the back of the boat and its starting to come together nicely.
i am in the process of grinding out and filling every little crack in the gelcoat and being a 83-4 model boat it has a few,most of them stop at the gelcoat but some penetrate into the original glass mainly due to voids i am grinding these right out and reglassing the areas.

Az
14-07-2008, 05:10 PM
looks great mate, keep the pics coming!!

pilchardjones
15-07-2008, 12:18 PM
looks like you are doing a top job there mate. great hull to begin with also.
keep them coming.
steve

jjaaccee
15-07-2008, 03:29 PM
I Also Tore Into The Centre Console Last Week Had A Couple Of Days Off Work So I Made Good Progress
To Raise It And Keep It Square I Had To Cut The Thing Into Quarters
The Hardest Part Was Making The First Cut, It Was A Big Decision To Mess With It But All Is Good
You Can See In The Flicks I Used Ply As A Mould Screwed To The Outside And Layed It Up From The Inside Also Changed The Shape To Accomadate Flush Mount Sounder/gps, Switches And Gauges
Just Some Filling Etc To Complete Ready For Respray

lunchcutter
16-07-2008, 04:18 AM
hi\what thickness of ply r u going on the transom

jjaaccee
16-07-2008, 01:51 PM
hi\what thickness of ply r u going on the transom

2 sheets of 18mm pacific maple structural marine ply.
total thickness of the transom when glassed in is around 55mm

lunchcutter
16-07-2008, 05:48 PM
no thats cool jj im getting a new transom on my boat it was 24mm thick the new 1 he is putting in is 36mm so it will be raised out a touch on the back but stronger the better i say i have a 150 hp evinrude on the back

jjaaccee
08-09-2008, 02:41 PM
well im fast running out of time
anyone want to paint this thing
or know someone that can for a decent price
plan to use imron

jace

maco
10-09-2008, 05:08 AM
hi jj
doing the same. i bought an early 80s mako 20ft baycruser. so i replaced a few stringers ,new floor, new transom, decided to rip out the splashwell & wack a pod on the back. cut the roof off & raised it to a half cab. project nearly complete (SICK OF THE ITCHES) .as i havent had the boat in the water, how does your boat sit when fishing/ anchored eg. does it roll much.
thanks keith ps ill try to get some fotos of my boat on here

jjaaccee
10-09-2008, 09:32 AM
yeah post some fliks im keen to have a look
i have been ouside many times in this vessel and its rock solid i am happy with the way it performs at anchor,adrift,trolling and at speed
cant wait to get it back on the water so i can work the shit out of it

maco
11-09-2008, 10:25 AM
ill try to put some new fotos of my boat up . had some ones when i first bought the boat last year. it was sitting out in the weather since 1993 but computor died so did my fotos

maco
11-09-2008, 10:32 AM
do i have to put fotos in a new thread or can i somehow put them in this thread

jjaaccee
18-01-2009, 07:51 AM
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i314/jaseola/100_2953.jpg

jjaaccee
18-01-2009, 07:55 AM
finally got the thing going again

Mindi
18-01-2009, 08:11 AM
congratulations what a result it just looks like 40 knots at rest.

dnej
18-01-2009, 10:11 AM
ripper Rita.Good looking boat
David

pilchardjones
18-01-2009, 11:48 AM
wow - that has come up awesome. nice work.
steve

marty+jojo
18-01-2009, 11:59 AM
Hey Jace,
That is a sweet looking boat now mate. Got any pics of the inside and the console?
Marty.

jjaaccee
18-01-2009, 01:50 PM
yeah sure

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i314/jaseola/100_2958.jpg

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i314/jaseola/100_2926.jpg

pursuit001
18-01-2009, 07:11 PM
wow very stunning put in the work and get that as a result well done mate very good job you have done well

pursuit001
18-01-2009, 07:13 PM
all you need know to set it off is a nice stainless targa and rocket launcers

ifishcq1
18-01-2009, 10:26 PM
JC

Mako never made a better looking boat than yours
it looks great

SL