View Full Version : Seaway Today!
Gold_Coast_Chaser
07-07-2008, 07:00 PM
Hey Guys, ;D
Got out to the Seaway this morning at about 7:15, a bit later then planned . I was armed with some heavy rods with Live mullet (15cm Long), looking for a Jew, Trevally etc. over the pipeline. We also had some lighter rods for bream and other fish. Had a few drifts over the pipeline for nothing (We were on the northern side about 20-30m out from wall just drifting over the pipe, can someone offer some info on what we were doin wrong :-/ ). During the drifts we were offered a little show by a big dolphin that was hanging around the boat coming close and surfacing. We then decided to anchor close to the Northern Wall opposite from the carpark and picked up several bream and also a decent 29cm moses perch before the rain moved in, followed by the little "Reefy" fish which just picked at our baits. We then shifted around the corner of the northern wall which was very smooth and glassy and the rain slowed. We picked up several more bream over a couple of hours, releasing everything under 25cm at all spots. We then decided to have another go over the pipe this time on the southern side about 30-40m off the shore for once again, nothing (Again can someone please offer some help on what we were doing wrong :-/ ) We decided to head back towards our house (Sorrento - Nerang River) and stopped a few times on the way back for a few smallish fish before returning home at about 3 with 12 Good size bream and 1 Nice moses perch.
For anyone going out tomorrow, there were about 25 boats fishing around the whole seaway and only a few times did big boats come and put out there big wakes which was good. And Not too many Jetskis (Hey Johnny :P ). The swell was ok, not too big, And not much wind. The bait that did the best damage was Pillys cut up into 3's.
Apart from the few showers that came across it was a nice day out on the water with my Dad. :)
-
For Steve
07-07-2008, 07:26 PM
That's a good report GCC. Good on you and Dad for getting out there amongst it. You ended up with a nice catch for your efforts.
Can't help you with any tips on the jew sorry mate. I'm not familar with the techniques etc.
Brad
cobiaman
07-07-2008, 07:27 PM
well done mate, the beach looked glased out around lunchtime today
Breambuster33
07-07-2008, 08:40 PM
awesome work mate.
keep up the good work;)
the gecko
08-07-2008, 07:44 AM
Hi Gcc,
the pipeline near the nth wall is submerged and covered by sand. Do you have a sounder? Start on the south wall, and follow the pipeline with the sounder, and youll see all the fish disappear about 3/4 of the way across. So I fish it about 100m from the South wall, just by the Red marker. Make sure youre anchored MORE than a cast off the bank so youre not in the way of the LB guys.
What time of the tide were you there? The high or low change of tide is really the only time to fish the pipe. Keep in mind that the change can often be 1 hr later than what the tide tables say. Depends on the moon phase.
Now that you are in the right spot at the right time, you will really only get fish about 1 in 4 trips there anyway. Its a hard spot to fish.
The other option is to drift the North wall.You can drift from the pipe to the tip of the Nth wall. Theres a good deep hole off the tip that holds great fish, especially if you have livies. Be prepared to lose plenty of gear on snags, so have a few pre rigged traces and hooks.
Where did you get the live mullet from?
Nice to see you into it in the crook weather. Youre keen mate.
tailorboi99
08-07-2008, 08:07 AM
That's some beautiful bream there and also a nice sized perch. Good work and keep it up ;D
Cheers Tom
Gold_Coast_Chaser
08-07-2008, 08:10 AM
Hey - Thanks for that Gecko, ;D
At the moment we only had a depth gague (just tells depth) but the sounder is getting fitted this week i think. :)
The first time we tried the tide was coming in and had been for a couple of hours, but the drift wasnt all that fast, I guess we would have been drifting over sand not the pipe though. The second effort the tide was turning and was reallly slowly going out (hardly moving), we were definetly over the pipe there cause we hooked up on it a couple of times >:( .
We dont really want to drift right up to the North wall cause we are unexperienced of the seaway and our boat isnt really designed for rough water (Its sortof like Bayliner, it was good over the pipe but not sure how it would go out there). But maybe once we get to know the area or get a really nice day were it is really flat we could try that.
I got the live mullet from the canal I live on in Sorrento, Ive always been able to catch some good live bait from my canal. Ive heard plenty of people on here saying how hard it is to get live mullet, herring etc. And i guess im lucky that i can go down to my backyard and catch some before we go. I caught a couple the night before and kept em in my live bait bucket in the water then i caught 7 more 15cm mullet in one cast in the morning. ;D
Thanks Again Gecko/ Andrew!!! ;)
whiting-wizard
08-07-2008, 08:41 AM
geeze awesome catch mate......
They would have been a nice feed for ya aye;D ;D
MeePee_99
08-07-2008, 08:44 AM
Nice Bream GCC
Gold_Coast_Chaser
08-07-2008, 09:10 AM
geeze awesome catch mate......
They would have been a nice feed for ya aye;D ;D
Hey, ;D
Had them for Brekky this morning and fed 4 people so that shows you dont need to keep to many to have a good feed. ;)
youngy
08-07-2008, 09:20 AM
Dylan if you want to know how to fish the seaway you should have a look at a dvd called "Under The Gold Coast" it is put out by Dave Downie [Nugget].
It has no fishing on it but has all underwater footage of that area, shows where all the structure is located and from that you can understand how to fish it and what to fish for.
It is available on his website. cheers wayne
whiting-wizard
08-07-2008, 09:26 AM
Hey, ;D
Had them for Brekky this morning and fed 4 people so that shows you dont need to keep to many to have a good feed. ;)
Haha nice,
And true you dont need alot of fish for a feed i caught a 37cm bream a few weeks back which fed 3 people and had a few veges on the plate aswell.
;D ;) :)
Pistol_P
08-07-2008, 10:28 AM
Haha nice,
And true you dont need alot of fish for a feed i caught a 37cm bream a few weeks back which fed 3 people and had a few veges on the plate aswell.
;D ;) :)
3 people...I would knock that over myself...;D
08-07-2008, 11:49 AM
well done mate - what a great catch. Good stuff having father and son outings too...I took my 9 year old out a few weeks ago and he had his first coke (a cola) and talked, I swear, non-stop until midnight (from 4.00pm!) and then zonked on the way back to the ramp, then woke up during loading and was off again like a cracker to 1.30!!.
I lost a good anchor at the Seaway once - could see it in amongst the rocks - didnt have the balls to dive down the 4m or so to try and get it! Bet there is some good gear down there!
Cheers and great report.
Gold_Coast_Chaser
08-07-2008, 01:17 PM
So true Ozscott, ;D
I could not imagine the amount of hooks, sinkers, lines, lures, anchors etc. that have been lost in the seaway especially over the pipeline there must just be hundreds/thousands items down there.
Cheers :P
pedrodepacus
08-07-2008, 01:31 PM
hey ozscott you should of grabbed one of those crazy surfers that paddle across ther and got them to dive down for you
Gold_Coast_Chaser
08-07-2008, 02:12 PM
hey pedrodepacus, ;D
There was actually a water taxi there yesterday giving them blokes paddling over to straddie a lift for $6 Return, I thought it was a pretty good idea at the time and he was getting a fair bit of work. There were still a couple paddling over but not as many.
08-07-2008, 02:40 PM
Yep Pedro' - have seen them. I was tempted to dive down on the turn of the tide but have an aversion to Noahs and I have seen some come through there.
nuggstar
08-07-2008, 03:21 PM
cool bag dude. thats a solid moses perch ya got there.
dreemon
08-07-2008, 08:43 PM
Hey Dylan by the looks of your catch your not doing anything wrong, weekdays are the best in the broadwater arent they, see ya out there :D
the gecko
09-07-2008, 08:31 AM
Yes Youngy, I was gonna suggest Ian Banks. You can watch a lot of the newer footage here too
http://www.divingthegoldcoast.com.au/
everyone who fishes the seaway should see this. It explains a lot of bustoffs.
I nearly lost an anchor on the pipe too. Got fouled on it and spent half an hour going in all directions with the boat before it came free. Nearly had to cut $150 worth of rope and chain, but lucked out in the end, and it came free. Be careful boys, its easy to drift onto it as you raise the pick.
GCC- the North wall tip is no worse than the pipeline for swell, provided you pick your days. Any swell under 2m is ok. I use seabreeze and surfcam to check swell before I leave home.
http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/qld4.asp
http://www.coastalwatch.com/camera/cameraOverview.aspx
Now if only I could catch a decent fish with all this info........
RAT-KING
09-07-2008, 09:51 PM
Well done great 2 see ur persistant!!! Jew are a prick of a fish but very addictive!!! it took me 2 yrs of solid fishing (in SA) 2 get my first then they came thick n fast!! So good luck if u put the time the study and the effort they will come cheers Simon
Braddles
09-07-2008, 10:21 PM
Mate I hear your pain lol... I have seen nuggets video of the impressive table fish that live around the pipeline - and I am yet to get one...
bugger... One day!