bballfisho
06-07-2008, 08:26 PM
Gday all,
a bit of a late report but was waiting for the photos.
day1,
arrived at orchid beach at about 12 ish after collecting plenty of big pippies on the way up there. We head down to the beach and found heaps of good looking gutters to the north. We got setup and got a few small dart for 20 minutes and things weren't looking too flash. Moved onto the next gutter and the 4 day onslaught of big dart began. We kept 20 of the biggest (40cm+) and threw back probably 40 more. One surprise was a 42cm queenfish on a 7g slug with 8lb braid outfit (this outfit accounted for at least 80 dart on the same lure over the whole trip). Managed one tailor later on but they were very finicky and hard to hook.
day 2
we got plenty of worms early on the low and then hit the waddy point rocks for the morning. got one 1.5kg gold-spot sweetlip and a few dart and bream. Also missed a few more hits from queenfish on poppers. In the arvo we hit the same gutter at the ocean lake track and got heaps more dart (50+) 3 bream and only 2 tailor. The tailor were proving to be really hard to hook but they were really only small choppers from 35-40cm
day 3
drove to Indian head nice and early to see if any tailor were around but they weren’t there in numbers. I went up the rocks and managed plenty of big dart (sick of dart by now) and few bream and lost a respectable trevally which really pissed me off. The others on the beach managed a 40cm 1kg bream on the first cast followed by on constant stream of tarwhine 25-30cm. With plenty of fish to fillet we stopped to get more worms and managed a few more tar whine and a bust off at the southern side of waddy (where the worms were). Cleaned fish for 2hours then went to go to the waddy rocks again for a tailor or Jew. We went down a super soft down track and could get back up so we missed the best part of the fishing time. When we finally got there we see 2 blokes leaving with a few 2kg+golden trevally. Had a go anyway and hooked something big on and unweighted pilly than ran us around the headland and snapped off…big Jew….
Day 4
Hit the southern corner of waddy pt rocks for tailor and bream in the morning getting one nice bream 37cm and plenty 25-30cm along with ever present hordes of dart. Managed two tailor on the 7g slug amongst blokes fishing with pillies. Bit of a laugh. Plenty of whales were coming close enough so we could the barnacles on there backs. In the arvo we hit the rocks at waddy late due a fair squall but when we arrived we saw some fella get busted off for the 7th time (so he rekoned) by goldens. He already had 2 fish 2-3 kg. First bait down and the school moves on to my great disappointment and my mate gets a 35cm bream to finish the trip.
Overall a great trip with some surprises due to the lack of tailor and whiting (we got 1 for the trip!!!!!!) the weather was great as we leaving with TGO conditions all day.
Sorry for the long post but couldn’t leave anything out. pics to come
a bit of a late report but was waiting for the photos.
day1,
arrived at orchid beach at about 12 ish after collecting plenty of big pippies on the way up there. We head down to the beach and found heaps of good looking gutters to the north. We got setup and got a few small dart for 20 minutes and things weren't looking too flash. Moved onto the next gutter and the 4 day onslaught of big dart began. We kept 20 of the biggest (40cm+) and threw back probably 40 more. One surprise was a 42cm queenfish on a 7g slug with 8lb braid outfit (this outfit accounted for at least 80 dart on the same lure over the whole trip). Managed one tailor later on but they were very finicky and hard to hook.
day 2
we got plenty of worms early on the low and then hit the waddy point rocks for the morning. got one 1.5kg gold-spot sweetlip and a few dart and bream. Also missed a few more hits from queenfish on poppers. In the arvo we hit the same gutter at the ocean lake track and got heaps more dart (50+) 3 bream and only 2 tailor. The tailor were proving to be really hard to hook but they were really only small choppers from 35-40cm
day 3
drove to Indian head nice and early to see if any tailor were around but they weren’t there in numbers. I went up the rocks and managed plenty of big dart (sick of dart by now) and few bream and lost a respectable trevally which really pissed me off. The others on the beach managed a 40cm 1kg bream on the first cast followed by on constant stream of tarwhine 25-30cm. With plenty of fish to fillet we stopped to get more worms and managed a few more tar whine and a bust off at the southern side of waddy (where the worms were). Cleaned fish for 2hours then went to go to the waddy rocks again for a tailor or Jew. We went down a super soft down track and could get back up so we missed the best part of the fishing time. When we finally got there we see 2 blokes leaving with a few 2kg+golden trevally. Had a go anyway and hooked something big on and unweighted pilly than ran us around the headland and snapped off…big Jew….
Day 4
Hit the southern corner of waddy pt rocks for tailor and bream in the morning getting one nice bream 37cm and plenty 25-30cm along with ever present hordes of dart. Managed two tailor on the 7g slug amongst blokes fishing with pillies. Bit of a laugh. Plenty of whales were coming close enough so we could the barnacles on there backs. In the arvo we hit the rocks at waddy late due a fair squall but when we arrived we saw some fella get busted off for the 7th time (so he rekoned) by goldens. He already had 2 fish 2-3 kg. First bait down and the school moves on to my great disappointment and my mate gets a 35cm bream to finish the trip.
Overall a great trip with some surprises due to the lack of tailor and whiting (we got 1 for the trip!!!!!!) the weather was great as we leaving with TGO conditions all day.
Sorry for the long post but couldn’t leave anything out. pics to come