View Full Version : Rescue off Yeppoon

05-07-2008, 02:24 PM
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=592472

Anyone we know? Glad they're safe, but hang on -

They were 8 nautical miles SE of Flat Island, but had to ring up to report they were sinking? No radio? No EPIRB?

Is that calm waters? If not, I hope these guys are asked to contribute to the cost of the rescue.

Dear oh Dear,

Local_Guy
05-07-2008, 03:09 PM
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23972650-952,00.html

05-07-2008, 03:11 PM
bump it, bump it good

Local_Guy
05-07-2008, 03:13 PM
aah, i just posted a link for the coriour mail in General .

it is only partially smooth waters up there, but you'd be crazy not to have other means of communication.

We went up there 2 weeks back and inside the bay was flat as glass, but up there it was choppy.

Noiseworks
05-07-2008, 03:23 PM
Good news, sounds like everyone is okay and I hope it stays that way.

Noiseworks

Kendall249
05-07-2008, 06:39 PM
I personally know one of the blokes and I'm glad that they are all safe and well.

Flat Island is a fair distance from rosslyn bay and gets bloody rough. Its also a surprise that they got a mobile phone call away.

I would like to know what happened to the boat, what the story was with the radio and if they disregarded the forecast?

But like I said is good that they're all safe and well.

Outsider1
05-07-2008, 06:43 PM
On the Channel 7? news they had an interview with the 3 guys in Hospital (a bit worse for wear but healthy enough by the looks). Apparently they were anchoring and hit reverse and the motor pulled out a big hole in the transom! That's the way I heard it anyway.

ifishcq1
05-07-2008, 07:04 PM
I was down at the harbour today and the trawler boys were talking about it... they either didn't get a weather report or they were fooled by the conditions inside the bay but 20odd knots at Herron means forget it.. the boat was a quintrex...they would have been pounding thats for sure... lucky buggers to be alive.. I wonder how long until next fishing trip

SL

SnapHead101
06-07-2008, 10:56 AM
If they had a large hole in the transom the floor may have been flooded quickly destroying the battery/electrical system hence no radio.

SatNav
06-07-2008, 12:11 PM
1. From all reports there is one essential piece of equipment that has not been mentioned - EPIRB, Why not?

2. They would have been required to have one. Where was it? If there was one why was it not activated?

3. There are some serious questions to ask with regard the lack of EPIRB activation as an EPIRB can be grabbed quicker than someone making a mobile phone call.

4. Why did it take 3 helo's 15 hours to find these people? NO EPIRB?

5. Highlights the inadequacy of relying on mobile phones

6. Why this crew was in that area, in a vessel like that, at a time like that based on the forecast and conditions at the time leaves a whole range of unanswered questions.

ifishcq1
06-07-2008, 12:30 PM
Young blokes from the mines, limited time off , rush, rush, rush,,then probably got past conical and said will we won't we,, here goes into a bad formula

testosterone+crap conditions+weekend off+inexperience = trouble

who of us didn't do stupid things and how many times did we get away with it

I recon most people here were just lucky

SL

Outsider1
06-07-2008, 01:05 PM
1. From all reports there is one essential piece of equipment that has not been mentioned - EPIRB, Why not?

2. They would have been required to have one. Where was it? If there was one why was it not activated?

3. There are some serious questions to ask with regard the lack of EPIRB activation as an EPIRB can be grabbed quicker than someone making a mobile phone call.

6. Why this crew was in that area, in a vessel like that, at a time like that based on the forecast and conditions at the time leaves a whole range of unanswered questions.

Actually believe it or not they weren't!

Keppel Bay and out to beyond the islands is classified as partially smooth waters. The line where EPIRBs are required is over 10 nautical miles out to sea off Yeppoon.

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Waterways/Smooth_and_partially_smooth_water_limits/swl_keppel_bay/

Should they have had one, yes! no doubt and they would probably agree now!. But they were not legally required to have one.

SatNav
06-07-2008, 01:40 PM
"Actually believe it or not they weren't!"

1. Weren't what? What were't outside Keppel Bay? if that's what you meant you have absolutely no idea what you are talking about.

"But they were not legally required to have one."

2. They were definately required to have one as Flat island is actually off the nothern limit of that map and well and truely outside of any non EPIRB required defined area.

Outsider1
06-07-2008, 01:44 PM
"Actually believe it or not they weren't!"

1. Weren't what? What were't outside Keppel Bay? if that's what you meant you have absolutely no idea what you are talking about.

"But they were not legally required to have one."

2. They were definately required to have one as Flat island is actually off the nothern limit of that map.

If that is where Flat Island is then I am wrong. My understand was/is that it is in the northern part of Keppel Bay. Happy to be corrected.

ifishcq1
06-07-2008, 02:18 PM
O1,

they were well outside the bay aprox 48km from the harbour and 23km from land

SL

Outsider1
06-07-2008, 02:24 PM
O1,

they were well outside the bay aprox 48km from the harbour and 23km from land

SL

Thanks SL,

the info I had said that Flat Island was part of the Keppel Bay Island National Park. but it is obviously much further North than that.

Pridey
06-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Either way an EPIRB would have saved them a few hours in the drink, and probably tax payer a whole bunch of money.

Local_Guy
06-07-2008, 02:26 PM
I've only been up that area once and when inside the bay is so flat you could water ski on it, up there you can get a good 2ft chop.
not to mention that the currents travel through that area they were fishing, and i think the tiger sharks know this too.

but anyone who attempted to go fishing up there with the forecast as it was needs their head read. they should pay for the rescue bill.

SatNav
06-07-2008, 02:39 PM
1. Any rescure bill has been waived as they claim they did have an EPIRB that sunk with the boat

2. If they had 30 seconds to make a phone call then they had enough time to ensure the EPIRB went with them

3. Would appear a bad management of priorities?

4. Even following the freakish phone reception there was no guarantee they would be found and the 15 hours it took to find them proves this.

06-07-2008, 03:24 PM
another boating accident and all the experts come out of the woodwork. I have never been in a situation like that and hopefully never will. Everyone seems to think everyone would be all level headed and reach for the EPIRB etc when the boat is sinking quickly. Very easy to make decisions sitting in the comfort of your home. Thankfully they are all ok..and as for paying for the rescue...no need..we all fund that authority via our taxes.

SatNav
06-07-2008, 03:39 PM
"..and as for paying for the rescue...no need..we all fund that authority via our taxes."

1. No mate the community based recue crew that rescued these guys basically work on donations and corporate sponsorship

2. The volunteer coast guard crews also rely on donations and sponsorship to survive as well as putting thier own lives on the line to search for people who should have never been out there in the first place

3. Pinhead maybe you need to review your OWN vessel safety plan

trymyluck
06-07-2008, 05:30 PM
All ok thats all that really matters in the end.

Has anyone heard what caused the boat to sink?
I read that they were retrieving the anchor in reverse and the motor came off the back of the boat along with part of the transom.Is this a normal practice or have they given us a lesson on what not to do?

I guess it may be a bit early for the why's and hows of it all.
mark

QF3 MROCP
06-07-2008, 05:35 PM
another boating accident and all the experts come out of the woodwork. I have never been in a situation like that and hopefully never will. Everyone seems to think everyone would be all level headed and reach for the EPIRB etc when the boat is sinking quickly. Very easy to make decisions sitting in the comfort of your home. Thankfully they are all ok..and as for paying for the rescue...no need..we all fund that authority via our taxes.

I can only encourage those skippers or masters of the vessel who have maritime legal responsibility for the vessel and passengers delegate the different roles to each passenger BEFORE they go to see!

Practice an emergency at the boat ramp or even with a AVCGA & VMR VOLUNTEER. When the S... hits the fan, at least the opportunity for a wider coverage of activities to be completed is greater - the skipper cannot do everthing. 5P's Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance.

Unfortunately our taxes don't cover the cost of all the VOLUNTEER's who no doubt worked & worried non stop for the rescue duration - if only Govt's were that generous - no more sausage sizzles, raffles or carpark duty to do!!

mangomick
06-07-2008, 05:42 PM
There will obviously be an investigationinto the accident. Does any one know if a copy of any transcript of accident investigations are found on any public forums.
Its always best to learn from the mistakes of others and if Qld Maritime Safety published the reports on small boat accident investigations it could help all of us have better safety action plans (for want of a better name) or give an insight in to the causes so we all can avoid a similar fate.
The last few cases in this area where the crews have ended in the drink have got me thinking about mounting my epirb bracket to my bright yellow esky.
A lot of their pain however appears to be partially or fully self inflicted

QF3 MROCP
06-07-2008, 06:02 PM
There will obviously be an investigationinto the accident. Does any one know if a copy of any transcript of accident investigations are found on any public forums.
Its always best to learn from the mistakes of others and if Qld Maritime Safety published the reports on small boat accident investigations it could help all of us have better safety action plans (for want of a better name) or give an insight in to the causes so we all can avoid a similar fate.
The last few cases in this area where the crews have ended in the drink have got me thinking about mounting my epirb bracket to my bright yellow esky.
A lot of their pain however appears to be partially or fully self inflicted

Try this site: http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Publications/Safety_reports/

QF3 MROCP
06-07-2008, 06:06 PM
I can only encourage those skippers or masters of the vessel who have maritime legal responsibility for the vessel and passengers delegate the different roles to each passenger BEFORE they go to see!

Practice an emergency at the boat ramp or even with a AVCGA & VMR VOLUNTEER. When the S... hits the fan, at least the opportunity for a wider coverage of activities to be completed is greater - the skipper cannot do everthing. 5P's Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance.

Unfortunately our taxes don't cover the cost of all the VOLUNTEER's who no doubt worked & worried non stop for the rescue duration - if only Govt's were that generous - no more sausage sizzles, raffles or carpark duty to do!!

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb89c9031da69c5/Pdf_safety_report_idyllic.pdf

Have a read of the article and note the pick up time from incident start time..

muddei
06-07-2008, 06:30 PM
hey satnav..hope you never have engine trouble,flat battery , low fuel.prop bush gone etc etc...because i wouldn't help ya..maybe being a super hero like you are you can fly home

06-07-2008, 07:16 PM
"..and as for paying for the rescue...no need..we all fund that authority via our taxes."

1. No mate the community based recue crew that rescued these guys basically work on donations and corporate sponsorship

2. The volunteer coast guard crews also rely on donations and sponsorship to survive as well as putting thier own lives on the line to search for people who should have never been out there in the first place

3. Pinhead maybe you need to review your OWN vessel safety plan

I was referring to the cost of the helicopters.

WQe all know about the VMR and Cpast Guard being voluntary etc.

You would not know the first thing about my boat or anything on board it so perhaps instead of making assumptions you try and imagine being in their situation..and think how rational your thought process would be..or are you really Mr Perfect????

06-07-2008, 07:26 PM
Popcorn again!!!!!!!!!!

SatNav
06-07-2008, 07:37 PM
"I was referring to the cost of the helicopters.

1. So was I. You obviously don't know a great deal about how most of the helicopter rescue services are funded do you?

2. Make sure you read the following and then make sure you donate to a worthwhile service at it is people like yourself with misinfomed atttiudes who generally take these services for granted

http://www.cqrescue.com.au/sponsors.php
http://www.chrs.org.au/home.html
http://www.rescuechopper.com.au/our-people/chopper-crew/bundaberg-crew.aspx

3. BTW they were the 3 organisations who responded to these people who should have never been where they were in the first place.

06-07-2008, 08:03 PM
IMO.. if ya don't have the right safety gear for the intended voyage then you deserve a bill for a rescue/tow. There are plenty of people out there not concerned about having the right gear.. giving them a bill may change a few things. It seems all to often the people who need to be rescued don't have the right gear.

ifishcq1
06-07-2008, 08:29 PM
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb89c9031da69c5/Pdf_safety_report_idyllic.pdf

Have a read of the article and note the pick up time from incident start time..

Guess what that boat was from Yeppoon up at Island head Creek. I can't say much more because the family live across the creek from me and by the way the little fella is okay

I really can't believe that people put safety gear where they can't reach it or have it locked and chained as in the case above

any of us working in a trade or at the mines does so much safety stuff that it becomes automatic

my stuff is in a sealed drum that is on a lanyard to the bow rail if all goes bad it can be got at easily and opened floating without wetting the contents even in choppy water.. my life jackets are behind some trawler net with stretchies and they can be easily got in any situation and my boat can't even sink with all the bungs taken out.

SL

06-07-2008, 08:54 PM
"I was referring to the cost of the helicopters.

1. So was I. You obviously don't know a great deal about how most of the helicopter rescue services are funded do you?

2. Make sure you read the following and then make sure you donate to a worthwhile service at it is people like yourself with misinfomed atttiudes who generally take these services for granted

http://www.cqrescue.com.au/sponsors.php
http://www.chrs.org.au/home.html
http://www.rescuechopper.com.au/our-people/chopper-crew/bundaberg-crew.aspx

3. BTW they were the 3 organisations who responded to these people who should have never been where they were in the first place.

funny that a woman from AMSA stated on one of the news services that AMSA funded the helicopters for that rescue and no bill would be forwarded to the men.
But then I obviously do not know everything about everything nautical unlike some others.
Back to my original point..why, when there is an accident do many people make accusations which are based on nothing. How about the Sydney harbour accident...everyone was blaming the skipper of the, granted overloaded, smaller boat when it was the trawler that ran into the back of them.
How about the one a while back where the cat ran aground in the Broadwater..everyone was saying the skipper had gone out of the channel.that fact was that the Govt had failed to dredge the channel as they were supposed to do.
How about everyone wait until the findings from those whose job it is to investigate these matters conduct their investigations and we leave the people involved alone.

06-07-2008, 09:00 PM
my boat can't even sink with all the bungs taken out.

SL

Good point and in both boats i have owned it has been the first thing i have considered when looking for a boat that suited my needs. The old ub had foam filling from floor to the gunnels and the kevla cat doesn't have bungs and it's got many sealed chambers in each hull. It's comforting that if the sh!te hits the fan at least there will be a hull to cling to!

Maybe instead of side pockets , floatation would be a good feature on many boats

mangomick
07-07-2008, 10:25 AM
any of us working in a trade or at the mines does so much safety stuff that it becomes automatic
SL

:-[ Bugger,I wear thongs while mowing the yard. I think working in industry for so long ,I've had so much crammed down my throat over the years that I'm starting to become immune :-/

I bet you dont wear your safety jacket while under way ;D

ifishcq1
07-07-2008, 02:39 PM
:-[ Bugger,I wear thongs while mowing the yard. I think working in industry for so long ,I've had so much crammed down my throat over the years that I'm starting to become immune :-/

I bet you dont wear your safety jacket while under way ;D

yes I do mick if it is cold (free jackets always keep out the cold better):P

the 3 boys did have all their safety gear apparently and the boat went down too quick to get it.. the poor buggers mistake was not getting a better weather report

SL

08-07-2008, 11:25 PM
Radio report said they had inflatable jackets but they got shredded ????

I understood the Sydney accident the vessels were heading in opposite directions and hit fromnt on port side to port side. The smaller vessel had damage to the stern as the stebers bow spun it as it hit. They interviewed the survivor off the smaller boat who they thought was helming just last week but haven't seen any details. Weird no charges have been laid for such a terrible accident but I guess they can't do anything until they have all statements and evidence.

09-07-2008, 06:56 AM

They had an epirb, its now at the bottome of the ocean with the boat.

09-07-2008, 07:19 AM
They are safe and home
Their family and wives would be happy for their rescue and all that made it possible as i would if it was myself no matter what the circumstances were.
Cheers JT

SatNav
09-07-2008, 01:53 PM
"They had an epirb, its now at the bottome of the ocean with the boat."

1. Apparently so based on the media reports?

2. Which again raises the point in question? Have just enough time to make a phone call, get the coords from a GPS (at night) that were of not much help instead of a bit of kit that could be tracked within the hour. Might be a wakeup call for some?

3. No point in having an Epirb if it is not IMMEDIATELY available, is there? Raises another serious question, doesn't it?

4. Unpreparedness such as this would probably not duplicate this outcome a second time around?

mik01
09-07-2008, 02:14 PM
Pinhead's right - transom rips off in decent swell and windy conditions - one minute you are fishing happily then, bang!, you're falling into the drink without a life jacket and waters rushing in.
news said the boat sank in about 30secs.
what do you think of first? mobile phone in pocket - presto - call 000 and grab something that floats. or grab epirb, activate and miss your chance to grab floaty? then proceed to drown but have the comfort that the epirb will alert the authorities to where to find your body.

how do you know half the phone call wasn't made while floating in the drink, using his memory of the gps co-ords, or rough location?

easy to sit back and throw accusations, but if you were there it would be a different story. maybe they shouldn't have been there in the conditions - I don't know enough to say anything, but you can't flog them for the way they alerted authorities. just my opinion

ifishcq1
09-07-2008, 02:31 PM
Mik01
dead right we aren't judge or jury and until all the cards are on the table, at least they got rescued

SL

09-07-2008, 05:34 PM
How can a transom get ripped off?

sid_fishes
09-07-2008, 05:45 PM
shitty work by the boat builder

Xahn1960
09-07-2008, 07:17 PM
Well this thread has been an interesting read..... I will definately look closely at how my safety equipment is set out..

Rather than second guess the safety readiness of the guys that got rescued I think I'd rather send out a " Well Done " to the people that rescued them.....

Bill.

09-07-2008, 07:25 PM
Yeah well, ultimately regardless of their level of preparedness or experience it's great to see them safe and well...in the end that's all that really counts..
I'm sure they will be incredibly grateful to our fantastic emergency service crews...well done to all.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

scoota
09-07-2008, 08:50 PM
Hopefully, everyone who fishes offshore is familiar with the term a "grab bag" or "essentials pack", for those times when it happens to quick at night or even broad daylight.
This saved a very good friends life a few years ago when bringing his boat from Gladstone to Bribie Island when all of a sudden in average conditions, the hull let go and he was floating on a upturned hull within minutes, miles off Fraser Island but with all the safety gear including EPIRB and flares in a grab bag right beside the helm.
He was rescued within 24 hours which was great news and I know I was in the same boat in worse conditions and was fully aware of the "grab bag" should a situation arise.
It is truly up to the skipper to make aware of all safety gear and access should any situation arise.
Don't be a statistic and let everyone and anyone know your boating intensions being family, friends and coastgaurd and play safe and tell us all of your great fishing adventures.

Scoota....

09-07-2008, 09:18 PM
All my goodies sit in a wooden box that doubles up as a seat. The box is not bolted to the boat, so it can float free, provided the boat does not go upside down. Whilst I am not required to carry an epirb in moreton bay, I have a personal epirb that I use for bushwalking that stays in my pocket.

BTW, the one other thing i do is make sure I wear the engine kill strap when I am running solo. Everyone should do this.

mik01
10-07-2008, 05:55 PM
How can a transom get ripped off?

probably should have said - 'outboard gets ripped off transom', however paper said outboard disappeared with transom so possibly rotten and just let go?

pirate2540
10-07-2008, 07:18 PM
mik01, some one quoted it was a quinnie? aluminium, seems very odd, would like to know all the facts.
well done to the rescue teams!

mik01
11-07-2008, 05:20 PM
no epirb - from the horses's mouth.

'anchor holed the boat'???? not sure what that means.
http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/storydisplay.cfm?storyid=3777782

Local_Guy
11-07-2008, 05:42 PM
i was talking to the coastguards today about this incident..

all i got out of them was they had a hole in the back of the boat, whether it was a bung or damage, they weren't sure on. but apparently the boat went down quickly.

as for the EPIRB. i was only informed that they had one on the boat, but didn't/couldn't, for what ever reason, get to it in time.

also the day they went out conditions were favourable in the morning, but later turned nasty.

lunchcutter
12-07-2008, 09:47 AM
by the way all they did have a epirb the truth that is but evrything hapeened so quick by the way dont listen to the papers they all speak sh-tchannel7 has paid these guys for there story which all will be going to coast guard and air and sea resue

Fish Guts
12-07-2008, 11:39 AM
good to see them safe. probably shouldnt have happened but very easy to sit back behind a computer and criticize. Whats the go with everyone asking for people who are rescued to pay the cost. A number of the helicopter rescue organisations have governemnt contracts and funding. Soon people will be scared to call for assistance in fear of having to pay the costs. Well done to the rescue crews.