View Full Version : Shultz canal 1/7/08
Keechie
01-07-2008, 05:51 PM
G'day, well today i rode from my house ddown to shultz canal for a flick at about 11:30, when i got down there i though oh $#^% look how low it is. well i rode down to my first spot where i had visited the day before to find the track was all slush, oops thats it bike in the lowest gear possible and ride as hard as i can. well i got through and started flicking nothing for the first half an hour except watching hundreds of baby mullet swim into my line;D . rode back up to where i had fished about last year for nothing, so back down shorter of my first spot, and what do you know nothing:'(. i decided thats it i will move up further and change to a plastic thats been killing it for me lately (squidgy pro lobby). what do you know 3rd cast i hook up and my line goes screaming off and saw a flathead come to the surface with no plastic too be seen ooh crap here has swallowed it, the fight lasted about 4 mins till i got him to the mud and slid him up the bank and lifted him straight up the cliff face. man was i excited ha had hooked it right down so i decided to cut the hook and let him go free anfter a photo and measure, he went 47cm (not big i know) but i got him on 4lb fluorocarbon right through to the hook. i rode about another 8km in search of a fish and got bitten off and decided to call it quits at about 2:00.
i am sorry for such a long post for 1 small fish but i had alot of fun getting him in;D .
regards,
keechie
(p.s i hope i do better with my uncle tomorrow)
Cammy
01-07-2008, 06:08 PM
nice little flatty there mate, makes it even better when you work harder for a fish eh!
Cammy
baitmaster
01-07-2008, 06:16 PM
hey yes that is a nice little flatty out of there mate was that on your custom or t-curve?
baitmaster
baitmaster
01-07-2008, 06:17 PM
sry bout the double reply but that looks like a pretty healthy fish mate keep up the good work
baitmaster
Braddles
01-07-2008, 06:22 PM
Good on ya mate! Love reading your reports - great to see a young fella so enthusiastic about fishing.
Keechie
01-07-2008, 06:23 PM
it was really fat and quite heavy especially for its size. This one was taken on my nitro powerbream finesse. i worked twice as hard as i normally would as this time 2 days ago i rode down to find a spot to fish, except that was on the high tide so yeah, but i am happy with what i got.
regards,
keechie
84mick
01-07-2008, 07:08 PM
Well done keechie, there are some big flatties in there so keep trying!
Cheers, Mick.
tailorboi99
01-07-2008, 08:22 PM
Hey keechie, while your fishing I am in Sydney with the family =-/ Nice fish too, I'll be heading to the canal soon :D
Cheers Tom
tailorboi99
01-07-2008, 08:31 PM
Oh sorry, good luck with your uncle tomorrow. Get onto a few fish, where are you heading?
Cheers Tom
nuggstar
02-07-2008, 06:52 AM
hehe love ya work keech man
tenzing
02-07-2008, 07:25 AM
Mate that is a healthy looking fish. Nice report too. good to see you combining your daily exercise and fishing. gotta be heaps better than sitting in an office.
tailorboi99
02-07-2008, 09:24 AM
Yeah it would be aye Tenzing :D
Cheers Tom
RAT-KING
02-07-2008, 06:33 PM
Well done Keechie its great 2 see u boys catch and release!!! Keep it up and hopefully the fish stocks will b the same if not better in the future
cheers Simon
Keechie
02-07-2008, 06:51 PM
i really hope whjat i do now increases fish stocks for the future, if i have had a fush stuck in my castnet the i don't want, i cut a hole out of my net and let the fish swim away. i have a side pocket on my bag where i put all my chewed up plastics or spare line. often even when landbased i take my environet for easier catch and release. i know it sounds gay and stupid but i do the best i can to ensure the fish swims back in perfect condition, whether i hold the fish in the water for 10 minutes waiting for it to swim away or even if i don't find the fish is quite right i put it in a esky with an aerator and make sure it is alright before letting it go.
regards,
keechie
tailorboi99
02-07-2008, 08:12 PM
Yeah. Keech it's not gay it's good as I do it too and I am far from gay so yeah..
Cheers Tom.
PS sent you a pm about barra today.
Mark Malcolm
25-07-2008, 10:41 AM
Well done mate, good to see ya getting into a few.
Its an awesome feeling watching the fish swimming away :D