View Full Version : Fun On SP's
snagking
29-06-2008, 06:35 PM
After going fishing last weekend and fishing for the first time solely using SP's, and catching a nice big 47cm flattie pretty quickly, my dad and I went out again to a similar spot. It started off slow, with only a few hits, then went dead. We decided to wait for the tide to drop low enough so that we could beach our canoe and fish from our favorite sandbar. While we were waiting we decided to anchor up in the middle of two sandbars and fish there till the water dropped. My dad was using a 3" Nuclear Chicken (I soon swapped over) :) and i was using a 3" paddletail minnow in pumkinseed. All we had to do was lob the lure onto the top of the sand bar and real it in a few meters and BAM we would get a hit. We both hooked two monsters that were lost because off stupid mistakes, and my dad landed a 50+cm specimen, and a 45ish one as well. After too a while the water was too low and we went off to the sand bar. We beached the canoe and proceeded to fish there, and same story, they would just get hammered. I think we caught half the flattie population in that channel, and boy was it fun!!!! I think we should go out again tomorrow.... :)
29-06-2008, 06:40 PM
That sound s like you had a top little session Snag.
Good reading, thanks
MeePee_99
29-06-2008, 07:24 PM
Nice Work, yer when u get on to a patch a flatties there great fun!!!!!
chief
29-06-2008, 07:30 PM
Well done champ, A good report .Sounds like your going to have great success with the plastics ,Keep going
RAT-KING
29-06-2008, 09:24 PM
Goodstuff snagking sounds like a good sesh!!! thats the best way not get snaggs fish sand banks ;)
Cheers Simon
snagking
29-06-2008, 09:34 PM
Thats what I reckon, you can't snag on sand...
Though I have gotten snagged on the one bit of weed in the entire channel before :)
For Steve
29-06-2008, 09:40 PM
It's starting to fall into place for you both.
Thanks for the report.
Brad
tailorboi99
30-06-2008, 06:32 AM
I think you should go back today :D Nice fish also. Where's the piccys :P?
snagking
30-06-2008, 08:38 AM
There was only a mobile phone to take pics with :(
but we Are going to leave to go out again in a few minutes!!! :)
snagking
30-06-2008, 03:56 PM
Today was a great success as well, using only sp's, we caught heaps of flatties, includeing my dad and I's double hook up, which will now be dinner, He got a 44cm one and I got a Nice fat 51cm one. My dad also caught a 27cm whiting which he unhooked then accidentally dropped back into the water :( There goes lunch. Then at 1:30 at dead low tide my dad caught two Flatties in two casts. One was just legal, and put back, and the other too small. All in all a great morning out.
01-07-2008, 11:22 AM
mate its good when theyt are like that great work