View Full Version : A CRACKER OF A DIAMOND @ Noosa 28-06-08
Pistol_P
28-06-2008, 08:07 PM
OK all you little cheeky young blokes at Noosa.....Here is one for you to try and chase down....:P :P ;D ;D
Had a fish this afternoon with my good mate Craig and what turned out to be a slow session soon turned into a great one just before heading home.
We threw around poppers and plastics at all our normal spots for NO hits at all and we were talking about how unpredictable the Noosa river is....:-/ ....So hot and cold.
Just before heading for home we threw plastics around again and I got a good hit and set the hook on a good fish...Had an awesome fight on the light 6lb gear with some very powerfull runs.We didn't know what to call the fish for during the fight and got nervous as I saw some colour....A DIAMOND and a big one too.
Guided the fish into the net and it was happy days....:2thumbsup: ....
Some quick pics and the fish was released. `
Got to be one of the prettiest fish around I believe.
snagking
28-06-2008, 08:14 PM
Great fish mate, woulda bin nice to get into the net
matt__hill
28-06-2008, 08:19 PM
nice fish mate but i dont know why everyone says these fish are pretty?
i think they are one of the ugliest things around. not having a go but i just think they are one ugly fish
cheers matt
frankgrimes
28-06-2008, 08:20 PM
Awesome effort Pete - Diamond Trevs are a fantastic looking fish!
frankgrimes
28-06-2008, 08:23 PM
i think they are one of the ugliest things around. not having a go but i just think they are one ugly fish
cheers matt
To each there own mate.....but I think there colouring is magic.
BrandonH
28-06-2008, 08:25 PM
Nice way to show up the youngsters Pete :P
Bet your happy with catching another Diamond!! It goes to show that you shouldn't give up on a session because things appear dead, gota keep on flicking;)
Brandon...
PS: was it on your usual Trevor plastic?
Pistol_P
28-06-2008, 08:26 PM
cheers matt
Each to their own....They have some amazing colours in them...Greens,silvers,pinks....Hard to capture the true colouration in a photo.
Its almost reflective.
Pistol_P
28-06-2008, 08:29 PM
Nice way to show up the youngsters Pete :P
Bet your happy with catching another Diamond!! It goes to show that you shouldn't give up on a session because things appear dead, gota keep on flicking;)
Brandon...
PS: was it on your usual Trevor plastic?
Hey Brandon...
Yes it was that exact plastic you have in your box....:)
You are right hey....you just gotta keep casting.
When are you up next..??
BrandonH
28-06-2008, 08:34 PM
Probably not till August mate, you will hopefully see a very different report coming sometime soon though:D
Brandon...
Jimbo73
28-06-2008, 09:00 PM
Great fish Pete,they sure do have some awesome colours.Cheers Jamie
28-06-2008, 09:18 PM
They are amazing looking fish and thats certainly a good sized example. Well done
killitfillit
28-06-2008, 09:42 PM
nice to see those fish are still around.well done
mossyback08
28-06-2008, 10:07 PM
great diamond. Bugger, the only arvo i dont go to the woods and this is what happens
Pete .... That is a magnificent looking Diamond ( Great photo too) ........ well done!
how do they go on the end of the line???
Nagg
Pistol_P
28-06-2008, 10:44 PM
Pete .... That is a magnificent looking Diamond ( Great photo too) ........ well done!
how do they go on the end of the line???
Nagg
Hey Nagg,
Yeah fought very hard on the 6lb.
Did you test the fireline on the stella yet..?
DEANO68
28-06-2008, 10:45 PM
pete you are on fire...trevs yesterday ,,trevs the day before , jew the other week,now that good lookin specimen....does your missus work during your fishin hours or what....;)
breamnut
29-06-2008, 07:45 AM
fantastic trev there! ive only got them like 20cm hhaha do you get them often that size/
Creek Vermin
29-06-2008, 07:49 AM
That's a beast pete. I'd prefer one of them over a dozen gt's. Still haven't got one myself. Cheers.
tailorboi99
29-06-2008, 08:10 AM
Another brilliant thread. They have some awesome colours too aswell as an awesome fight :D
Pistol_P
29-06-2008, 08:22 AM
fantastic trev there! ive only got them like 20cm hhaha do you get them often that size/
Breamnut...I havent seen one that size in the river before.
The diamonds are no where near as common as the Gt's,Big Eyes etc and the ones that do show up seem mainly to be smaller fish.
Deano....Yes, I have a very understanding wife who has been used to me fishing for a long time....:P
BAR UP
29-06-2008, 08:39 AM
Bloody beauty Pete, how many species of Trevs are up there, Peter.
29-06-2008, 09:14 AM
Hey Pete you know what they say "Some days are diamonds"
Beautiful fish.
imnotoriginal
29-06-2008, 09:39 AM
Beautiful fish Pete, I had so many plans on my last holidays for chasing those fish and it all went to sh*t with the weather. That mother of pearl colouring they have is fantastic, hard to understand unless you've seen one in the flesh. I bet he went like the clappers too. Wel done mate.
Joel
zoo1991
29-06-2008, 10:04 AM
yeah great fish pete, i guarantee if i had that on, a bully would of made his move.
cheers zac
yellahunter
29-06-2008, 10:17 AM
ripper trev pete,
thats an unbelievable catch,
very envious of you Noosa Boys,
geez you have it good up there
Hey Nagg,
Yeah fought very hard on the 6lb.
Did you test the fireline on the stella yet..?
Hi Pete
I bought some 4lb ...... but didn't spool the Stella with it , as yet ......... What I did learn is that the Miss Stella casts heavier lures ( Jackall TN60s) without any dramas :-/ ...... but thats not what I bought the reel for ..... Hey!
Didley
29-06-2008, 10:50 AM
Nice one Pete, how'd ya be with a full wall fish tank with a few of those, a few jacks, cod ect. ect. ect.
Dids
BLOOEY
29-06-2008, 12:12 PM
Wow that is a cracker:o . I've never seen one in the flesh but read articles on how hard they pull. 6lb line too.8-)
ddobson
29-06-2008, 01:39 PM
A perfect shot with all in the background dark and a shine on the fish. Good size and good fight. Our brissy river seems to be similar as well with good fish caught and nights with not a touch.
seapup
29-06-2008, 03:16 PM
Nice work Pistol Pedro!
abbot_86
29-06-2008, 05:22 PM
nice work pete , i went for a flick this arvo but didnt get a touch. i didnt even see a fish or any bait . i might have to re join the woods bay brigade cause that little spot round the corner didnt produce today!! nick
matt__hill
29-06-2008, 06:29 PM
yeah i have caught them before in the goldy canals and the colours are impressive but definately a head only a mother could love
nice fish tho and well done on the light string
chief
29-06-2008, 07:36 PM
Pete, thats a cracker .I would love to have caught such a fish , I'd be cheering for days.Excellant effort.cheers
nuggstar
30-06-2008, 08:26 AM
not fair.....catfish pete
Pistol_P
30-06-2008, 06:48 PM
not fair.....catfish pete
Cheers for the repies fellas.
Nugg....How did I inherit that name...After that huge catty I got...:D
nuggstar
01-07-2008, 06:28 AM
yer, hehe im just jealous
Crumbo
01-07-2008, 09:21 AM
Awesome fish pete. They really are great lookers. The Noosa river must also be the most consistent river to catch diamonds from.
simool-awiad
01-07-2008, 11:07 AM
Sorry To Take The Wind Out Of Your Sales Pete But I Had To Do It! How Is This For A Fish 115cm Caught On Fly,this Guy Is A Pete Too And Really Knows His Stuff.i Cant Say As To Where It Was Caught But It Was Caught On Sunday In The Hervey Bay Area And It Was Caught On A 12 Weight ATC Fly Rod(AWSOME ROD!!!).it Was An Experience On It`s Own Just Too Watch And There Was A Few Happy Boys On Board I Can Tell You.none Of Us Have Seen One That Big And To Get It On Fly It Doesn`t Get Much Better!still A Good Diamond For Noosa But Mate Well Done!
noosa_nipper
01-07-2008, 11:37 AM
Each to their own....They have some amazing colours in them...Greens,silvers,pinks....Hard to capture the true colouration in a photo.
Its almost reflective.
here here pete....i caught my first on a plastic in the noosa river. nothing can capture the colours they boast as soon as they come out of the water....great fish great fight too.
nice catch mate....should keep ya happy for a while.
nipper
nuggstar
01-07-2008, 12:28 PM
simool thats bloody huge. you r the king of dimonds hehe.
Pistol_P
01-07-2008, 12:38 PM
Sorry To Take The Wind Out Of Your Sales Pete But I Had To Do It! How Is This For A Fish 115cm Caught On Fly,this Guy Is A Pete Too And Really Knows His Stuff.i Cant Say As To Where It Was Caught But It Was Caught On Sunday In The Hervey Bay Area And It Was Caught On A 12 Weight ATC Fly Rod(AWSOME ROD!!!).it Was An Experience On It`s Own Just Too Watch And There Was A Few Happy Boys On Board I Can Tell You.none Of Us Have Seen One That Big And To Get It On Fly It Doesn`t Get Much Better!still A Good Diamond For Noosa But Mate Well Done!
YEAH....Thats an AMAZING diamond that one Simon...!!
Very long fish..!!!.....
That must be a fly fishermans DREAM capture....:o
The only one I have caught to compare size to that one is the one in my avatar.
Not quite as long as that fish though by the looks....???
Again plastics caught and a bit further North of Noosa.8-)
hooknose
01-07-2008, 07:08 PM
Guts effort Pete,
Here are a couple taken at a spot north of Yeppoon on Pilly !
Cheers !!
imnotoriginal
01-07-2008, 07:31 PM
A fantastic fish your mate caught there, was it released?
Joel
simool-awiad
02-07-2008, 08:54 AM
A fantastic fish your mate caught there, was it released?
Joel
Was a nice fish alright and for him to catch it on fly makes it a fish he won`t forget for a long time,i`m am sure.yes the fish was realesed,a few quik pics and back to fight another day!the big girl swam away strongly!it would be a crying same to kill a creature like that one!:'(
imnotoriginal
02-07-2008, 06:26 PM
Was a nice fish alright and for him to catch it on fly makes it a fish he won`t forget for a long time,i`m am sure.yes the fish was realesed,a few quik pics and back to fight another day!the big girl swam away strongly!it would be a crying same to kill a creature like that one!:'(
Couldn't agree more mate, nicely done.
Joel
BARRAkid
02-07-2008, 06:41 PM
I seen these blokes on the charter on sunday and what a day it was must have been a few on the feed i got mine only about 15km away from where your mates where fishing.
sorry for hijacking your report pistol _P they go hard on 6lb don't they ;D
Pistol_P
03-07-2008, 09:51 AM
Only just seen these new pics as I have had some computer dramas.
Some big diamonds there.
ffejsmada
03-07-2008, 10:35 AM
Only just seen these new pics as I have had some computer dramas.
Some big diamonds there.
Gotta get off the red tube Pete!!;)
Nice Diamond by the way!;D
nuggstar
03-07-2008, 04:44 PM
baaahahahahahahehehehe baaaaahahahahahehehe. yer i think jeff is right pete. hahaha thats gold jeff hehehe