View Full Version : Yamaha 4st not starting

hogesTS
27-06-2008, 07:45 PM

I have a weird problem with my 115 Yamaha 4st (2003 model). I just took it out for a run for about half an hour, everything ran fine. When I got home I went to flush the motor using muffs as usual, it started straight away but there was nothing coming out of the tell tail. I noticed after maybe 30 secs and turned the motor off. I took the pipe off the tell tail and cleared it out as best I could, nothing was in there though. I tried to start the motor again but it just kept kicking over and wouldnt start, which is strange because it always starts first go.

So after a few goes trying to start it it finally turned over and ran perfectly fine for about 10 minutes. I then turned it off and went to start it again and it again didnt start for a few goes, but then started fine and ran fine for another few minutes. I again turned it off and tried to start it but it wouldnt start again.

I finally gave up and had a shower hoping that it was just flooded. So what I am hoping is that because it was run without any water running through it it has gotten too hot and engaged some sort of thermal protection which wouldnt let it turn over until it was at a suitable temperature. And by trying to start it so much I have flooded it hence the not starting again.

So has anyone had anything like this happen before? Is there something I should be concerned about?

27-06-2008, 07:50 PM
Did it get hot? You can tell with your hand on the head, outboards run fairly cool, if it feels anything like a car motor in temperature there is a fault somewhere.

hogesTS
27-06-2008, 07:55 PM
Yeah it did feel a lot hotter than normal, I can normally touch the head with no worries, but it was really hot after it had run without the tell tail. That's why i thought it may be a thermal protection thing.

27-06-2008, 08:10 PM
Probably best to not start it again until it has been looked at, systems fail even horns, thermistors etc although they probably didn't, best not to push it.

Good luck

hogesTS
27-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Yeah thats what I figured, although there isnt a yamaha service place on the island which makes it a bit hard. I thought Id leave it till the morning and see how it goes, it just had a big service 20 hours ago when I bought it so hopefully its nothing major

Tassie JR
27-06-2008, 08:32 PM
Hey mate our twin 60 hp yammies wasnt starting for a few goes either, we changed the fuel bulb on both moters and now the start straight away, give it a try. hope for your sake its that and not the head.

cheers tassie JR

27-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Thats no good, must be nice (usually) being that far from the rat race but it is something serious or potentially serious.

Think the first place to visually inspect is the water pump if you are sure it's getting hot.

hogesTS
27-06-2008, 08:38 PM
Yeah it does have its advantages and disadvantages. The local boat mechanic does do yamahas but just doesnt have all the software etc to plug into the new motors. Ill take it down to him tomorrow to have a look, hopefully its nothing major, it's not a nice surprise for the first day of holidays :(

hogesTS
28-06-2008, 01:44 PM
Well my problem seems to be solved. I rang the outboard mechanic this morning and he said he thought the problem was that my muffs didn't seal properly and were not getting enough water into the motor which caused it to run dry for about 30 seconds. This caused the motor to get hot which engaged the thermal protection that would not allow the motor to start until it cooled down.

He recommended that I take the boat down to the ramp and run it with the motor in the water, which I did and it started first go every time I turned it off and on. So I went and bought a new set of muffs and it started and ran fine when I got home. So hopefully it didn't get too hot that I cooked or half cooked something that is going to stuff up later, but for now it is good as new. Thanks for the help guys.

28-06-2008, 05:05 PM
Should be right mate because the overtemp alarm didnt go off by the sounds of it...but after you turned it off you would get heat sink and she would have got a little bit hotter triggering your overheat shut down by the sounds of things.

hogesTS
28-06-2008, 05:56 PM
Yeah no alarms or anything went off so it didn't properly overheat and it started fine this morning after it had cooled down so I think it should all be fine

black runner
28-06-2008, 07:38 PM
Get yourself a set of muffs with water supply on both sides. I had trouble with inconsistent sealing with std muffs on my 60. No probs now.

They're eastern brand and picked them up at the chandlery.

backlash08
28-06-2008, 07:39 PM
great outcome, did the 2003 models have the fushing point close to the cowl where you plug a hose fitting into the engine without running it? the later ones did and certianly solves the muffs issues

poundalead
28-06-2008, 08:04 PM
I had the same problem with my Yam 100hp. It wouldn't pump water out of the tell-tale just after I had it serviced. Rang Yammie and they said it is more than likely your water pressure not the motor, replaced the muffs and never had a problem since. It was a bit worrying though....

Cheers Benny

GAD
28-06-2008, 08:46 PM
If the alarms didn't go off it should be alright , but a set of double muffs so as to get the pressure to the pump , if you can't find them to buy which to be honest I didn't know you could buy , I made mine out of two sets and a couple of hose pieces and fittings and make sure they are on right , works well.

hogesTS
28-06-2008, 11:20 PM
Yeah a mate just got a set of those double muffs while he was down in Cairns last week and rekons they are good, I will have a look when I am down there next as the local guy up here doesn't have them. I just bought a new set of oval muffs which seal alot better than the rectangular ones I was using, not a drop of water gets past them when the motor is running.

Yeah my motor has the hose attachment up near the cowel, but it has a screw thread on it that I can't figure what would attach to it. Plus I have heard that using the hose attachment isn't as effective as using muffs as it doesnt flush the leg at all?

Hagar
29-06-2008, 12:08 AM
Keep an eye on it just the same - I have a 2006 115 4stroke and to the best of my knowledge yammies do not have any protections in the engine software that activates without a horn sounding as well . I am happy to be corrected on this .

tin can marlin
29-06-2008, 08:39 AM
Ring graham jeffers and ask for keith he is one of the best yamaha tecs in the country and he can advise you over the phone what is wrong. Send me a pm if you want there number.

black runner
30-06-2008, 08:30 PM
The hose attachment on the motor accepts a male 1/2"-snap on hose adapter. Just scew it in and connect the hose.