View Full Version : Ok to extend fuel line by 2m on BF25?
foxx510
26-06-2008, 01:39 PM
Hi folks. We recently purchased a Seajay Magnum 4.15 with a Honda BF25D and wish to stick the fuel tank up in front of the front bench seat. Is extending the fuel line by ~2m going to cause any issues? Thanks for any advice.
coucho
26-06-2008, 01:55 PM
fox no dramas what so ever
26-06-2008, 03:01 PM
Just try to keep the joins to a minimum..ie replace with a complete length rather than just join a bit on :)
bushbeachboy
26-06-2008, 03:54 PM
Got a mate with a 4.15 Magnum running 30 Yammie and he did just that. Bought a length of fuel line for the job so no joins, and no worries so far.
Skusto
26-06-2008, 04:49 PM
we had the fuel tank right up the front of our old 420 stacer tinnie never had a drama with doing it.
foxx510
26-06-2008, 05:03 PM
Thanks heaps guys. Any type of fuel line preferable? I was going to join on to the existing line as there is a nice crimped connection at the motor end I wanted to retain, but if the joiner is going to be too restrictive/unreliable I'll replace the lot. I was going to use EFI fuel hose as it is high quality and doesn't go hard like some cheaper stuff does. The current hose is very flexible, looks like an unreinforced rubber hose. Can I buy this stuff off the roll?
backlash08
26-06-2008, 05:04 PM
all the guys are right, no issues, keep ID of fuel line std and tight bends limited to avoid kinks - cheers _ Craig
ozbee
26-06-2008, 05:31 PM
just join on any automotive fuel line from repco etc . if the bf25 had a extra 0 then i would run a hose with reinforcement in it. once a time motor hoses for boats came long standard were great till a crab would shorten it for you.
Kleyny
26-06-2008, 06:34 PM
i have put my tank up the front of my 4.6m tinnie with a 60hp. So the line is at least 4m in total length and i dont have any dramas. i used quality high pressure fuel line designed for injected cars.
neil
foxx510
26-06-2008, 07:47 PM
Thanks for all the help. Will be nice to get a bit of weight up front with the big Honda out back.
foxx510
26-06-2008, 08:13 PM
Actually, one last thing, does anyone know off hand what size hose the standard Honda barbs are designed for?
26-06-2008, 08:43 PM
Yeh mate... 8mm or 5/16
foxx510
26-06-2008, 08:55 PM
Ta. Helpful bunch here. I'm sure I'll have more questions when I give the Honda a check over. On a cursory check the timing belt feels a smidge loose. Shouldn't be at ~120hrs, but I've only worked with car timing belts in the past. Service manual for it is on the way. Thanks again.
01-07-2008, 05:59 PM
Foxx, wait till ya get the service manual.. they don't run a real tight belt.. worth going by the manual.. easyer to read and do rather than explain and do :)
foxx510
01-07-2008, 07:10 PM
Got the manual yesterday. Couldn't find much about belt tension in there yet, I assume it's just a self adjusting spring tensioner. Will pull the cover off one day soon and check it all out. Sounds like you know a thing or two about the Hondas. Thanks for your time.
01-07-2008, 07:23 PM
foxx.. you seem to have a bit of engine knowledge
Align the cam belt pulley with TDC
Loosen the cam tensioner pulley
rotate cam pulley 5 teeth counter clockwise
then rotate cam puley 3 teeth clockwise.
then tighten cam tensioner
The spring tension on the cam tensioner will set the correct tension iof youfollow these instructions..
need to remove the top flywheel covers and maybe another bracket...so you have full view of the belt :)
foxx510
01-07-2008, 07:33 PM
Too easy, thanks heaps. I'll feel more comfortable heading out to sea knowing the belt has been tensioned.