View Full Version : Towing a 2.9t platey

24-06-2008, 03:10 PM
hey fellas just got a new alloy c/cab on order and was curious as to what to tow it with as my gq patrol is not as rated to that, its only a 2.4t towing capacity, was after some info on what you other guys tow your big boats with, i didnt really want to buy new, is there anything out there that will tow this?

cheers for your thoughts

Justin;D

Mr__Bean
24-06-2008, 03:33 PM
Here is a picture of mine on Moreton Bay Protest day.

I tow with a turbo diesel landcruiser and it does it with absolute ease.

- Darren

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbpgimage.php?do=full&p=1008&d=1196829973

24-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Justin, I have a 2.7t Glass boat. I was in the same predicament as you.. had a pajero(rated to 2.5T) I ended up going r the V8 Lancruiser..have you seen the price of diesel lately :P take a hell of a lot of driving to save the $$ now :)

reel therapy
24-06-2008, 04:23 PM
Justin, Honestly go the ever reliable Landcruiser, if your budget allows the V8 200 series would be the go. (If i only had the cash to buy one myself) otherwise shop around for a good turbo diesel 100 there will be some great buys around with the price of diesel and interest rate hikes of late. Remember to search everywhere including interstate for that bargain.
Best of luck,
Dags..

dfox
24-06-2008, 04:38 PM
Justin if you cant justify the expence of a new car id go a 4.2 td cruiser (wagon or ute) or a GU patrol 4.2td wagon.
If your only doing short trips to the ramp and back its probably best to save the dollars and buy a petrol cruiser over the diesel.
But if your planning on plenty of longer hauls to more distant destinations i'd go diesel. As you might already know I resently towed gregs new 7 meter platey from alexandra hills to waddy point and back with a loaded up V8 TD cruiser ute, the car used around 200 ltrs all up thats including a bit of running around up there. Theres no petrol car that would even come close to that economy towing that boat . (sorry garry ;) )
It all comes down to where you plan to travel and your budget ... foxy

honda900
24-06-2008, 04:40 PM
Mate, be warned about the 200 series, my old man and brother spend most of their time out bush (serious desert work), the brother says the 200 series is a dog, leaking door seals, apparantly more dust inside the care than out, not the only bad reports I have heard either.

Dont forget the Jeep, grand cherokee v8, goes great, petrol and pretty good on the juice, with 3.5t tow rating, very underated vehicle, can pick up a nice one second hand more reasonable priced than the toyota equivelant.

Honda.

Roughasguts
24-06-2008, 05:39 PM
You know I have been thinking lately when I retire what would I tow the new caravan with.
And the thing is why buy a 4wd or similar when you can buy a diesel Toyota truck with all the room you will ever need. And more towing capacity than you could ever use and as far as ruggedness goes, not going to kill the gearbox are you ? and don't forget buggger all price. So how could you go wrong with a truck, even rent it out during the week if you wan't geez even have a buisness on the side with it.

Yeah I know cost more for rego, but insurance shouldn't be bad.

24-06-2008, 05:44 PM
Theres no petrol car that would even come close to that economy towing that boat . (sorry garry ;) )
It all comes down to where you plan to travel and your budget ... foxy

I agree foxy.. but the Honda don't run to well on diesel;D

tenzing
24-06-2008, 05:59 PM
Mate take a look at the Rodeo turbo diesel.Rated to 3 t . Would pull it along easily and much cheaper than the others to buy and run. If you have the funds and like the exotic things try a vw touareg rated to 3.5 t even in the 2.5l 5 cyl turbo diesel. It has more grunt than anything in its class but dear as poison new and rare second hand without a million km on them.
Brendan

ashleyhj74
24-06-2008, 06:37 PM
I've gotta 4.2ltr turbo diesel GU patrol (its not stock, its had a few adjustments), tows my 2+ton boat easily. Towed a 3ton or there abouts Razerline platey for work, towed my mates 3+ton formula with ease. Passing people towin 3ton of boat up a hill in a 100km/hr zone is gold ;) I'll be sad to see it go (yes, its for sale), but hey it means my boat will be paid off quicker and i can get a few of my other projects goin :)

24-06-2008, 07:07 PM
thanks guys for your answers

FOXY saw it up there and looked great we are currently towing a 6.4c/cab with a 4.2 td 80 series but it only comes in at 2.2 t and we are much the same having just ordered a 6.5 half cab from dave at riptide

i was hoping to go more along the lines of a ute to carry a ice box on the back,

but at the moment the boat is most important and will look deeply into the right vehicle to tow

we will be doing many trips to fraser is, and probly very often to 1770 but the majority will be to noosa and back to deception bay

Mtx
24-06-2008, 07:17 PM
cruiser or F250

backlash08
24-06-2008, 07:18 PM
Hi justin,
Had a similar situation just now, have a 7M fisher on order, will go around 2.4 dry, close to 3T all up, I have a 80 series cruiser that is 2.5T rated, looked at all sorts of things, the wife didnt like the 200 cruiser (and i didnt like the price) and I did want something that could also suit as family wagon, just like boats, everyhting is a comprimise, anyway after much research I bought a new pathfinder, 3T rated, TD auto - only had it a few days, dont get me wrong, I wouldnt tow the boat to waddy with it (father has the new cruiser ute for that job) but home to ramp and local I reckon it will be absolutly fine - they are really good value at the moment, the narvara is similar mechanically and I have a few mates snigging +2T boats and very happy - the other thing you could do is grab a 1997 model 80 series as they are 3.5T rated and pick one up for around 17K if you only want it for a tow car
good luck with it

peterbo3
24-06-2008, 07:18 PM
I have a 100 Series V8 Auto Cruiser. The Fisher loaded & on the trailer comes in at around 2800 kg. The cruiser pulls it well but does use the fuel. There are a lot of used 100 Series, both six cylinder & V8 around used for reasonable prices. The 100 Series non turbo diesel lacks power when towing, or even when not towing, but will last for a long time.

poundalead
24-06-2008, 07:30 PM
Hey skipalong I thought the 'cruiser's were rated to 3.5 tonne with a braked trailer and 750kg without. My boat weighs a lot less than 2.9t (1.8t) but I tow it easy with my 'cruiser without a turbo. Best car I have owned, I was gonna swap it for a new luxy awhile back but couldn't bring myself to doing it. Hope this helps

Cheers Benny

24-06-2008, 07:38 PM
yeah mate the new ones are, this 80 series td is a 90model and towbar states 2.2 t or if you turn the tongue over it will tow 2.5 braked i went and saw the boat builder and he said loaded will come in at over 2.9 t easily and i dont want to risk it will be towing long distance very regularly so hoping to get some thing that will tow it quite comfortably.

backlash08
24-06-2008, 08:21 PM
Justin, it was either 08 or 09/96 that 80 series went from 2.5T rated to 3.5T rated for towing, absolutly nothing changed with the vehicle, they simply re rated them with the increased capacity, so all 97 80 series are 3.5T

rat_catcher
24-06-2008, 09:58 PM
I have a 100 Series Landcruiser with the V8 petrol engine. I towed my 702L home from Glenn Innes to Rockahmpton and averaged around 25 litres per 100 km. If I really lay the boot in I can get that up to 30 litres per 100 km though. Around town when not towing I average 15 litres per 100 km.

IMHO it depends on how far and often you will be towing. If only around town and down to the boat ramp then the V8 petrol is fine. if long distances then go the 4.2 TD.

I would love a new 200 Series V8 twin turbo diesel, but cannot justify the cost to changeover just based off fuel usage. Remember also the servicing on the diesel is more expensive too.

I would vote for the 100 Series V8 petrol if only towing short distances or the 100 Series 4.2 TD if towing long distances.

If you are chasing a ute the Nissan Navara TD is rated to 3.0 tonnes.

BOMBIE
24-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Pretty sure rover defender will tow 3+ tonne & td no to bad on fuel ?

25-06-2008, 03:00 PM
I have a 100 Series Landcruiser with the V8 petrol engine. I towed my 702L home from Glenn Innes to Rockahmpton and averaged around 25 litres per 100 km. If I really lay the boot in I can get that up to 30 litres per 100 km though. Around town when not towing I average 15 litres per 100 km.

OK OK I give up. what was the key to getting 25l/100klm. I take it you didnt use the cruise control then:o ;D

25-06-2008, 03:47 PM
mte 25l to the 100 is pretty good towing a boat of that size will be doing many long runs

went and had a look at a couple of td 100 series today nice vehicles but people are still asking alot for there age and a new one is not much more, will be going to take a trip to toyota and price the new utes on friday see what they are asking for them.

stesslecc60
25-06-2008, 04:45 PM
a mate has an f100 on carpoint for around 6g's, i reckon it would the ducks nuts for a boat the size your talkin bout.

rat_catcher
25-06-2008, 08:55 PM
OK OK I give up. what was the key to getting 25l/100klm. I take it you didnt use the cruise control then:o ;D
Definitely do NOT use the cruise control......and there is a lot of coasting and using the momentum to move the rig up and down hills.....no harsh use of the accelerator and allowing the whole rig to find it's own pace.....slightly below 100km/h is a big fuel save too!

But it is VERY easy to get the usage way up over 30litres per 100km though if you don't take care!

rat_catcher
25-06-2008, 08:58 PM
went and had a look at a couple of td 100 series today nice vehicles but people are still asking alot for there age and a new one is not much more.......
Yes they do hold their value quite well, especially the TD ones.

25-06-2008, 08:59 PM
Oh well, I guess I am stuffed.. mine just loves 30L/100::) ;D ;D ;D

rat_catcher
25-06-2008, 09:04 PM
Oh well, I guess I am stuffed.. mine just loves 30L/100::) ;D ;D ;D
This is interesting....my next door neighbour has a 100 Series V8 petrol, his brother has one, his father has one and his father-in-law has one and we all tow different things (trailers, caravans, boats) and we all get different mileage...I have also heard that the electronic rust prevention products increase fuel usage too! I have no idea why but something to do with the electronic fuel injection and the electronics interfering from the rust prevention kit. No idea if it is true....but it is interesting that different individual vehicles and drivers get different usage.

jimbo59
25-06-2008, 09:34 PM
Go and grab a 80 series multi-valve turbo they fly and are rated to 3.5 ton they are hard to find but worth every penny.

Fish_gutz
25-06-2008, 11:08 PM
is it the vehicle that is rated to the specific towing weight or the tow bar? if it`s the tow bar could you just get a heavier duty one fitted and keep your current vehicle?
if you want a new fourby disregard this question ! Cheers Andrew

backlash08
26-06-2008, 07:38 AM
fish gutz, its the vehicle that is rated, not the towbar, example all towbars that you can buy for an 80 series cruiser are now rated to 3.5T, so if you ring toyota and order a towbar for a 92 model 80 series the towbar will read 3500kgs but the chassis is only rated to 2.5T.
the law states (words to this effect) either the lowest rating of the towbar or the vehicle shall be the maximum allowed towing weight so for the 80 series very late 1996 and after are rated to 3.5T, annoying thing is that toyota didnt change anything on the vehicles, simply the specs - cheers - Craig

Fish_gutz
26-06-2008, 10:20 AM
Thanks for that Clee I wasn`t sure.

26-06-2008, 10:54 AM
Rat Catcher and Garry - thats interesting in itself. I have a Disco series II 02 model manual. I get on petrol (comparing apples, because I normally run LPG) 14.5 litres per 100 k in and out to town - combination of peak hour and non. On the highway keeping her to 90kph (which is an effort because it seems to like 110) I get much better. I have friends however that cannot get that - one with a manual V8 like mine and many with auto V8 discos - but they use more cause of the auto.

To get 15l/100k out of a 100 series (knowing quite a few blokes with them - and my brother services them) must be highway cruising with very light throttle and no overtaking.

PS. My 02 Disco handles my Seafarer Vagabond fully laden with fuel and gear very nicely. Its capacity is 3.5 tonns. Being a manual if I have to start of very steep hills, rather than give the clutch a hard time (never glazed it yet though) I sometimes slip her into low range (which is very low in a LR) and then change to high on the fly. My 02 tows better than my 95 Disco - better brakes and a little heavier; but funnily enough my 95 has a 4000kg tow capacity (owners manual).

MyWay
26-06-2008, 12:59 PM
have look jeep cherokee 95 or up tows up 3.5t no problem

26-06-2008, 01:01 PM
I would like to see a Cherokee regularly tow its max tow weight...might end up a another foot longer. They develop cracks in the firewall with moderate off roading.

26-06-2008, 01:07 PM
thanks all valid points i just dont want to make an expensive wrong decision

BrettyJ
26-06-2008, 03:54 PM
All depends on how much you want to spend. The current Land Rover/ Range Rover range is highly recommended by all the caravan builders at the moment. This is due to there self leveling suspension, 3.5t tow capacity and two of the best diesel engines on the market being the TDV6 and TDV8. I have driven the V8 200 series and both the Land Rover engines, my pick by far would be the TDV8 in the Range Rover Sport.

dfox
26-06-2008, 04:35 PM
mte 25l to the 100 is pretty good towing a boat of that size will be doing many long runs

went and had a look at a couple of td 100 series today nice vehicles but people are still asking alot for there age and a new one is not much more, will be going to take a trip to toyota and price the new utes on friday see what they are asking for them.

Cruiser ute with ac and alloy tray is about 55 on road...

Benny1
27-06-2008, 09:07 AM
Justin,
I towed my old 6.5m platey with a non turbo patrol, the boat loaded felt pretty heavy. I think the patrol was a bit of a slug (compared to a mates). On the Bruce it would wind upto 90k in 4th, once in 5th it would fall back to 80k with nothing left. The lad i sold it to had a TD landy (2.5 i think) it pulled it with ease. I think the landy would of been able to pull the patrol backwards.

27-06-2008, 12:20 PM
i think i may be checking out the new cruiser ute they seem fairly cheap i thought they may have been much more than that

backlash08
27-06-2008, 01:02 PM
Agree, the 55K that Foxy is suggesting seems quiet cheap, Foxy, is that GST exclusive?

BrettyJ
27-06-2008, 02:47 PM
That is the very base model workmate and is plus on road costs & tray. Also be aware that the new cruiser ute runs a wider wheel track on the front than on the back, so if you do any beach work you will find that the rear wheels fight to find the same tracks that the front have made & makes the vehicle very unsettled.

Timfishin4fun
27-06-2008, 05:38 PM
Hi mate, I just bought the 80 series cruiser ute GXL for about $63000 inc air, tow and tray. This is b4 price hike of tax.

But by far is the strongest 4x4 I have ever driven. At 4500 TD and 3.5t towing you wil never have any probs.

Buy new bud don't muck around your resale will benifit aswell.

BrettyJ
28-06-2008, 09:50 AM
You will not have to worry about the new LCT as commercial vehicles are not subject to Luxury Car Tax.

ozbee
28-06-2008, 10:13 AM
if your patrol is a tray back might be cheaper to get a goose neck put on would handle better than any other towing vehicle . far cheaper usually about 5000 bucks . otherwise happy hunting

backlash08
28-06-2008, 11:08 AM
I havnt seen a boat trailer set up on a gooseneck, always thought that you would end up with too much tow car in the water, anyone got any pics of a gooseneck boat trailer?

walruss
28-06-2008, 07:36 PM
Guys I had a 100 series petrol manual on gas until last year. We towed a lot including Vic to Cairns and back. The boat grossed in at 2550kg. I averaged approx 20-21 l/p/100k. On gas for more than 95% of the time. Sat on highway speeds where poss (110k), so it wasn't pampered. Towed about 35-40,000 k in the time we had it.

Bought a 100 series T/D cruiser auto in November. During the last trip, boat weighed approx the same. Averaged approx 18l/p/100k.

My driving style hasn't changed, but I must admit the diesel killed the old one on hills and generally ease of driving. Not to mention the auto.

For towing I don't think there is any option. Turbo diesel. From a day to day perspective petrol/gas is still good. it depends on how much towing you are going to do.

Russ

01-07-2008, 10:25 AM
yeah i think that i will be going the new ute they want about 58000 for the or 61000 for the gxl wagons winch dont look that bad