View Full Version : Gold Coast Tailor?
ontourf
22-06-2008, 10:15 PM
Howdy
Has anyone caught any Tailor the last day or two on the goldy. Swell is forecast to increase, but I'm keen to pull out the alvey and baitfish or chuuk a lure or two. I have to drive down from brissie but not keen to give up as the last two trips have been duds, big sweep or just no fish.
Skip:-[
shaman
23-06-2008, 04:13 PM
I haven't been chasing em yet , crook as a dawg, sposed to go on Saturday just gone.... but was too crook..... but APPARENTLY they've been bagging out at the spit and the seaway with beach fishing very good and Burleigh Headland being the pick... fisheries have been checking catches everywhere as well which is a good thing........ I'm going on Saturday...... crook or not matey....
timddo
23-06-2008, 04:17 PM
Bagging out my butt.
I went on friday for 1 tailor and saturday for 2.
The best times will be 1 or 2 days before the new and full moon.
so friday next week is the go.
shaman
23-06-2008, 05:47 PM
Bagging out my butt.
A mate of mine was down the sandpumping jetty yesterday (Sunday) and bagged out so did his buddies........ Paul Burt reckons that they are goin" off....
I'm gunna have a toss at 'em tomorrow at the spit probably...... and definately Saturday off Sth Straddie.....
84mick
23-06-2008, 07:21 PM
Bagging out my butt.
I've got saturday week booked for a fish down there ;D Cant wait! Has there been any reports of the greenbacks in numbers yet? I still havent caught one :(
Cheers, Mick. ;)
childers
23-06-2008, 07:41 PM
well burleigh wasnt the pick tonight , i went for spin arvo till dark about another 7 guys around me for zero fish landed ,but you know what they can be like here one day gone the next, i remember a fisho mate saying to me once that he hates tailor fishing that its always you should have been here yesterday buddy ,think im starting to get the idea of what he means !
baitmaster
23-06-2008, 07:47 PM
hey a good way to start
get a bag a pillies cut em up light sinker swivel cast towards wear the bait is holding and u could ick up something from a chopper tailor to something larger like a queeni u never no
baitmaster
ontourf
23-06-2008, 08:58 PM
Cheers guys. I'll put a report in if I get out.
Excuse my ignorance of the area, but when they mention the sandpumping jetty, does that mean below it, or is that the one you pay to fish off?
Dart_Raider
23-06-2008, 09:54 PM
Fished Narrowneck from 4.30-7.30 last night (Sunday).....zero fish, zero bites. There were heaps of people fishing up and down the beach, all of whom shared the same bad fortune as us. Apparently thursday night at narrowneck they were going ballistic.
That's the beauty of tailor fishing- they're enigmatic just like Jarred Brennan for all you Brisbane Lions fans....one day they're on, the next they're stone cold!!!!!
Simmo
84mick
24-06-2008, 07:09 PM
Hey Skip I forgot to mention it is probably worth your while to berley up. When beach fishing I use a berley bag (you can get them from BCF for around $4) tied to some rope and then onto a large sand peg. Try to use the same berley as your bait.
Cheers, Mick.
Robsie
25-06-2008, 08:09 AM
Yep, I was there sunday night at narrowneck as well. Was the first one there, and i think i was the first to leave. I couldn't pay the fish to take a pillie.. Maybe next weekend!
yellahunter
25-06-2008, 05:26 PM
yeah its a bit like that,
there one day gone the next,
I dont know if the tides are ideal being low at dawn/dusk at the moment,
I spun a couple up from the wall last night but were only around 35cm
shaman
25-06-2008, 05:49 PM
Cheers guys. I'll put a report in if I get out.
Excuse my ignorance of the area, but when they mention the sandpumping jetty, does that mean below it, or is that the one you pay to fish off?
You can fish off it but as you say ya gotta pay...... just becareful of the yellow raincoats at times...... the hooks flying around will give you instant body piercings lol..... I'm going down tomorrow to chuck a pilly and see..... if theyre on the beach I'll stay but I could end up on the jetty....... I'll let yas know......
Young Gun
25-06-2008, 06:47 PM
been out sunday and monday night both 1 fish each night, fish through the sunset and 2 hours past, not enough water on the beach at that time as it was a high tide gutter right next to the jetty, but off the jetty is impossible to fish. raincoats fish shoulder width apart, and with little pea sinkers, trust me don't bother, more time tangled than fishing. hopefull this w/e and a few good tides next week will bring them on, no greenbacks yet, only choppers up to 400mm i have seen. they will be here soon no need to rush.
Ryan