View Full Version : Any tips for Stanage Bay Trip??
Chris_2184
21-06-2008, 02:20 PM
G'day all, Im heading up to Stanage Bay for a weeks fishing. Just curious if anyone has any advise as to what I should prepare myself for, I get there 6th July.
I'm taking up my 5m bluefin plate boat (creeks and islands) along with my mates 6m fibreglass (outter reefs). I prefer lure fishing (casting & trolling) but also bait fish. Where are the likely haunts and what should I use? I'm taking up a Shimano TLD25 on 15-24kg rod with 50pound mono, along with medium to heavy duty spinning/jigging outfit with 50pound braid.......is this suitable? what lures should I purchase?
oh and I'm taking up my spearfshing gear......i bet there are a few sharks up there to watch out for::)
thanks for any advise
baitmaster
21-06-2008, 02:36 PM
there would be sum sharks up there
anyway i would suggest to buy the quantas coloured hard body that seems to work for most palagic fish that u would encounter up there
i would also suggest that u take sum big soft plastic lures with u.
cheers baitmaster
21-06-2008, 03:58 PM
Strong gear is all I can say. The bigger fish up there just Grab and Run back to structure, Snap and it's all over. Get used to Re Rigging.
Get up to the Percy Island Group if you can and at least stay 1 night at the "A frame"
Also make sure you use your radios to log on and off with VMR and carry good safety gear for if you get into trouble. The current is very strong up there.
stesslecc60
21-06-2008, 04:34 PM
nothing less than 80lb with 100lb leader if you are fishing the reefs, it's also takes a bit of know how to fish it properly, have a talk to Vonnie or Tony at Stanage Bay marine and accom, to point you in the right direction.
cheers Paul;)
Brooker boy
21-06-2008, 07:40 PM
Was up there couple of years ago. Watch the tides, the boat ramp is only excessable at high tide. Plenty of people get caught out coming back from outside if they haven't checked tide times. It can be a long wait sitting and waiting for the tide to come in.
The water really flows through the passage up there. 7-8m tides.
Tie all crab pots to the mangroves or they will go with the tide.
We only had little tinnies, so were stuck in the creeks. Didn't catch much, the run was so fast, rediculous really.
Cheers;D
21-06-2008, 08:05 PM
Whatever amount of leader and hooks you intend on packing for the trip double it.
With a early July trip you might find the westerlies will set in and it can get quite chilly there so pack some warm gear.
Whatever the weather there is always some refuge out of the wind in the area.
Be sure to go slow through the main channel until you get to know where all the rock areas are, some areas are still unmarked.
wesley83
21-06-2008, 08:36 PM
Ive been there before all i can say is take a bloody big esky,and a good filleting knife.Fish are everywhere.
bronsonwinston
10-07-2008, 10:02 PM
If u are lure fishing pick the smaller tides, smaller the better, i know the saying is no run no fun but around there its different the smaller the tides the better. This also means water clarity is better. Pick snags that have plenty of bait fish around and fish the bottom of the tide and incoming for best results. Best lures i found there for barra and assortmant of fish were the classic barras and skitter pops.
Hope this was some help.