View Full Version : Poor form continues.....
For Steve
21-06-2008, 10:33 AM
My poor form with the bay squire continues. We talk about persistence so after work yesterday morning, I blast off to Mud Is in search of decent fish. Drifted around for hours with eyes glued to the sounder and working plastics. Tried various retrieves, leaders, jigheads and plastics but yet again failed to catch a legal fish. My diary tells the story - the last 20 hours of fishing have produced zero.
I reckon you can only be persistent to a point before it becomes simply a waste of time and effort. A change of plan is in order. Either exploring the river mouth or turning to bait. I don’t really have a clue about locations and techniqes for fishing the river mouth and don’t have an electric so I have my doubts. Looks like a trip to the tackle shop to buy some 4/0’s.
Any suggestions welcome…..
21-06-2008, 10:58 AM
G'day Brad. Not good that you are not yeilding at the moment but it cannot stay like that forever. Keep persisting and it will pay dividends for you I'm sure. You have caught a good feed in the past judging by your new avatar. ;)
SummerTrance
21-06-2008, 03:11 PM
Hang in there mate, you'll get back into em soon!
sunny
21-06-2008, 04:58 PM
Hang in there Brad. We all have those dry spells, sometimes its just being in the wrong place at the wrong time or vice versa.
Leighton
21-06-2008, 05:26 PM
hook up with Summertrance, he got some mail during the week:P
Stop changing methods, I dont fish Mud often but when I fish Peel I take minimal gear.
2 Rods, 1/8th Jig heads, 10 and 12lbs leader and a few Plastics in 4 and 5"
I have tried all sorts, hidden weight, lighter weights, different plastics, scent, burley etc etc
All roads have led back to my old faithfull
12lbs leader, 1/8th Nitro, 4" Zoom Superflukes in baby Bass
remember lures catch more fishermen than fish, simplify your fishing
21-06-2008, 05:29 PM
Nothing wrong with getting your hands dirty. Source some good seasonal bait and give it a go if the plastics are not working. I find the Plackys perform best in slightly coloured water when there are good bait schools around
21-06-2008, 06:08 PM
Gidday Brad,
I can think of another post title coming called "other reasons for an electric frypan";D
My man Steve where I purchase all my tackle said he was launching at a boat ramp when another boatie was also launching. Apparently this other fisho said the fishing is slow for most people, but if you know where to go, you are still guranteed a few. They both met, cooincidentally, at the same ramp after a days fishing, they didn't get anything either.
Even the psudo confident are eating humble pie.
BTW, I hit the same hole I pulled the Jewie last week. Scored a 53cm, and a 49cm Flattie that I hooked but Kelly caught;) and a few bream, but the King of the Pin is on isn't it? That would explain the millions of boats out and about and the fish didn't get much chance to settle between boats zooming past.
Give the smelly stuff a go mate, my chicken marinay obviously is on the menu!!!::)
Reel Nauti
21-06-2008, 06:29 PM
For Steve I'm pretty much in the same boat of late. Been trying and trying and trying to catch a snap but all to no avail. It's just going to be patience and planning trips around tides etc. I've been using plastics and bait.
The time will come though!
21-06-2008, 06:35 PM
I agree with Leighton, take a few of the standbys and refuse temptation with what others are recommending.
I have way too many plastics in my bag but these days I select one of two brands and two colours in one brand and one in the other.
1/8 or 1/6oz in 2/0 to 5/0 sized jigheads and some 12lb nitlon leader.
I use two identical rods and reels and lines and use only one at a time leaving the other rod ready rigged in case of snagging or bust offs.
I pause a long time after the plastic hits the bottom again before lifting it a metre or so off the bottom for another drop. I would say 1/3rd of the fish i hook have been taking thier time to get to the grounded lure.
BAR UP
21-06-2008, 06:55 PM
Hey mate, i agree with everyone on this topic. Dont change too much just keep it up. What has worked for you in the past made you feel pretty good so why change, Peter.
alleycat
21-06-2008, 07:33 PM
Hi for steve, mate for the last 18 months of snapper fishing im wondering why i put so much money into the sport, just no fish around.
21-06-2008, 08:47 PM
I think there are plenty of good fish around. I'm not sure that the SP tactics we used so successfully last year are matching the hatch so to speak. Webby had no problem bringing in a bag of Snapps on bait so they are there. I will be trying a few new techniques in the next few weeks to see if they work better
For Steve
22-06-2008, 05:29 PM
Thank you for all the encouragement and suggestions. I just can't stay mad at the plastics. However, I think I'll take some bait and burley along next time just to compare.
Brad
For Steve
22-06-2008, 05:34 PM
BTW, I hit the same hole I pulled the Jewie last week. Scored a 53cm, and a 49cm Flattie that I hooked but Kelly caught;) and a few bream, but the King of the Pin is on isn't it? That would explain the millions of boats out and about and the fish didn't get much chance to settle between boats zooming past.
Good effort mate. What did you get them on?
tailorboi99
22-06-2008, 07:04 PM
Hang in there like the others ave' said
WyldFisher
22-06-2008, 07:19 PM
Your not alone mate!
I went fishless for 6months+ once.
22-06-2008, 09:26 PM
Good effort mate. What did you get them on?
Left the bait at home this time, just the left over 3"gulp moldy cheese, and Chiefs' favourite squidgy pattern. Tell you what, I really found it much harder to fish with the wind compared to last week. Then Kelly started chattering her teeth she was so cold, and good ol' dad gave her his fleecy line jacket.. I couldn't wait for the sun to come up!!
I fished the front of touchys' place and it was the only bank that seemed unafected by the wind - we caught the bigger flatty there ( thanks Touchy!) until this tinny arrived just ahead of our next drift - I never understood what he was doing, a few figure 8 manouvers, took a photo of Touchy's sign, and left. So did the school of bream that was there, the 1st drift boated two nice bream, but after our visitor in the tinny, they were gone - we tried two more passes, and nothing.....