View Full Version : GUSA 705DHX 8-10kg spin

Mark Fisher
14-06-2008, 02:38 PM
G'day everyone,

I finally finished this one after about 2 months of planning and waiting for parts etc. Turned out way better than my poor quality photos show. I did my first "Tiger" wrap in the split grip area and was really happy with the result. I used Mettler thread in Salmon, dark brown and metalic gold in the base wrap, then used dark brown with no CP in the top wrap. The photo doesn't do justice to the colours showing through!

Outback Rods

ryansrods
14-06-2008, 03:29 PM
hi mark nice rod you need a light box to take your pics in youll get heaps better pics using one owen can help you on a design for 1

R-U- Wet Yet
14-06-2008, 05:44 PM
Another top job Mark!!....your work is astounding.... those checkers are straight as.... wraps are tight.... very neat.... I dips me lid to ya mate.:2thumbsup: .

15-06-2008, 07:01 AM
Definitely a work of art, Mark.
Tiger wrap looks great!
Interesting piece of timber on the drier bed, too.

Owen
15-06-2008, 07:44 AM
Very nice work Mark.
Love the choice of thread colours.

Mark Fisher
15-06-2008, 09:56 AM
Thanks everyone for your comments. This is a show rod for the AFTA show if August.

Nigel that piece of timber is actually the base of my rod building stand. I have a micro wave motor attached at one end to turn the rods for drying and 3 adjustable blocks wtih wheels to support the rod. All up about $50. I've used it for years without a problem. I'd love one of the fancy rod lathes around but don't want to fork out the big $. This one does me fine.

Thanks again

sandyd
18-06-2008, 06:00 PM
Mark beautiful work, anyone would be proud to owe that.

I have to say that I am sure you would have to be very happy with that and think it well worth the wait.

txlady
18-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Mark.....
Your color combinations are awesome !!....:thumbup:

MaryLou

Mark Fisher
19-06-2008, 08:49 AM
Sandy and MaryLou, Thanks for your comments. I appreciate them very much.

oldsalty
19-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Regardless of the photos you can still tell that that rod is an outstanding piece of craftsmanship. Those colours look almost..... upper class :)

Well done

Mark Fisher
19-06-2008, 04:25 PM
Thanks Salty. Now to catch a big SA snapper with it and really give it a test!

storchy
23-06-2008, 10:54 AM
As a newbie to the rod building process I am in awe of the work being posted on here and the other sites, And can only hope to improve myself to the standards being posted on line, truely work i can only hope to do with lots more practice, Love your work Mark cheers daz

Mark Fisher
23-06-2008, 02:38 PM
Thanks Daz. I appreciate it. It has taken me a long while and a lot of rods to get to this stage but I look forward to every one.

Thanks again