View Full Version : Things you see in the Brissie river
chief
13-06-2008, 09:28 PM
After seeing this week ends wheather report on seabreeze I decided to pull the pin this morning and hit the water before this wind hit town.I had a feeling we might get a chance at a hot bite before this blow but it seemed i was ready but no one had told the fish:-/ Managed a few squire around the borderline size but they were returned to do a little growing. Finished up with 2 squire(best just over 60 cm)a decent lizard and a tailor . Did drop one decent fish which I called for a jew by his fighting style but i managed to lose him.Gave the bream a miss this morning and just concentrated on the above. Bloody busy with ships coming and going and tugs left,right and centre and at one stage when that fog came through it certainly made it interesting moving around the river;D . Anyway ,with it being a little quiet I managed to put a few Ks under my belt trying a few spots at various stages of tide and at one stage I was passing the boat passage on my way to the mouth and my attention was GRABBED by some surface activity. Has to be dolphins, NO hang on MAC TUNA :o :o . There was another ausfish member on the water who was johny on the spot and was hooked up and in the middle of the brissie river working to regain some line on a decent mac.I had the pleasure of seeing him tail the fish into his boat. Spoke to him later and he said the fish were in the 4-6 kg mark. They didn't stay up long and dissapeared deep, not to be seen again but what can I say Mac tuna at the Boat passage:o How good is this river system getting and what s going to turn up next;D BRISSIE RIVER ,how good is it? Cheers;)
For Steve
13-06-2008, 09:40 PM
Good on ya Chief. Great report as always mate.
Brad
Keechie
13-06-2008, 09:49 PM
thats unbeleivable, that size mackies in the river, geez there must of been alot of bait around. awesome stuff mate and a great read, alsways a pleasure reading what you have caught next, thanks.
regards,
keechie
Leighton
13-06-2008, 09:50 PM
Great feed Chief, your young lad would have been upset missing a healthy session!
Breambuster33
13-06-2008, 09:53 PM
the squire for the river.
yea must be a lot of bait in the river. lets hope they stay there another month or two till the river to mud;D
chief
13-06-2008, 10:00 PM
Keechie.. matey there is heaps of bait in the river at the moment . heaps of whitebait. The little tailor was full of them and spread them from one side of my boat to the other ;D
Leighton... Young bloke had to work but i kept getting the odd text from him for an update ;D
SummerTrance
13-06-2008, 10:44 PM
Well done chief! you've certainly got the river sussed. Brad and I were talking about how well you do there, when we were heading to mud today, then we come home and read another great report of you river efforts.
gaintsquid
13-06-2008, 10:52 PM
Nice report. Do you know any spots in the river landbased at the mouth where i might be able to tangle with the odd tailor on lure? never got one on a lure and biggest on bait is 18cm o.O
14-06-2008, 07:44 AM
Mac tuna wins the RTM ??????, mate your in with a chance.
chief
14-06-2008, 08:32 AM
Webby.. Only glad i was there to see it, If someone had told me it I wouldn't have given it a grain of salt .Deffinantly a new target fish for the river ;D ;D
Giantsquid... Sorry to say mate ,the river is just about unaccessable to landbased anglers. Even for us boaties there is a 30 meter restriction on the wharves. Even yesterday had a tosser tell me to move .I told him what do you want I'm 40 meters now.His reply was no its a total restriction. Anyway old mate told me I had to leave as ship was about to leave. 4 hours later and it was still on the wharf and probably still is this morning ;D .Happy to say i pulled that better squire there just after our discussion anyway back to your question I'll PM you
14-06-2008, 08:52 AM
Now I know why there were no Tuna out near Harries yesterday afternoon. they were hiding in the river;D
Another great catch there Cheif and a good write up
simool-awiad
14-06-2008, 09:22 AM
i`v been wondering how long it would be before someone would give away the tuna in the river.we first came across them about a month and a hlf ago,hooked five and landed 2,dropping the other three almost boat side.all good fish up 2 the 6 kilo mark.the first day we came across them they weren`t shy smashing our slugs boatside at times.at least 5 big schools working the area that day.been down a couple more times since and landed a couple more but nothing like they were.seems they are becoming a little shy now as i have seen up 2 three or four boats chasing them at a time the last couple of trips.
chief
14-06-2008, 09:40 AM
Amazing I've been fishing a lot for bream a little further up stream for the last few months and haven't ventured to the mouth so I couldn't believe my eyes. The port was unbelieveablely busy yesterday with a lot of traffic and these fish just out from the boat passage.
3rd degree
14-06-2008, 10:11 AM
Saw some activity a month and a bit back on the way home one day, thought it looked like tuna, but didn't get a real good look and wasn't sure.
Nice to know.
Callop
14-06-2008, 11:50 AM
Well done mate. I see you have got photoshop now
chief
14-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Ha ha Callop,Mate it started to get a bit crowded. Pm you
Callop
14-06-2008, 03:50 PM
Pity we can't photoshop the port security guys out. But then they are only doing their job.
Found this link the other day. It lists ship movements into and out ofthe port. You can also click of the ship and get some detail about it.
http://www.qships.transport.qld.gov.au/Public/PublicMovements.aspx
The security guys seem to hang around moored ships a lot more so I use the site to decide which wharfs to fish before I go .
From what I have seen most of the ships are about 28 meters wide. So if you are just outside that then you should be ok.
RAT-KING
14-06-2008, 04:24 PM
Het chief great report again!! wat plastics did the job for the possible jew n squire!
chief
14-06-2008, 04:26 PM
Just had a look at that site.Good imfo .Just added it to favorites for a little more planning . Also just looked at fridays sched. to todays. Just shows how busy the port was yesterday . Thanks for the heads up cheers
14-06-2008, 04:36 PM
Chief you never disappoint with your reports. Always a good read with great photos too. Well done.
14-06-2008, 08:28 PM
60cm fish are a common catch for you chief, even when it's quiet you still manage a good session.
Well done.
i've seen them up past p'ba ramp a few months back.. nice fish!!
richieboy
14-06-2008, 09:30 PM
Hey mate. Good fishing again!!
Seen macs in there before but never paid attention to em as they'd be gone by the time I got there.
Good to see the river still doing well for those in the know.
Rich ;)