View Full Version : whiting
robsue
13-06-2008, 08:30 AM
i went out thursday to moreton on my own due to the bad forecast on the weekend
i used 4 plastic worms for 103 whiting, but the quality was down on the previous week, left manly at 7am, returned at midday, great morning,had to return to go to work:'( , then only had time to clean the boat, had a mate come around when i arrived home from work to help fillet them, he was happy with his wages, half the fillets, i pay decent wages,lol
cbruh1
13-06-2008, 09:59 AM
Wholey Moley thats alot of fillets, would have taken ages to fillet, nice work, any pics.
13-06-2008, 10:03 AM
Yep, 103 whiting sounds a lot, but once filleted and cooked, they'd be like fish fingers, so an average bloke could probably eat a dozen in a sitting with chips etc.
Were they decent size ?
nuggstar
13-06-2008, 11:57 AM
got any pics of ya monster bag of fish. 103 is a bloody lot of fish
Breambuster33
13-06-2008, 03:35 PM
yeh mate 103 is alot..
photos??
13-06-2008, 06:01 PM
G'day RobSue,
Good catch there mate and a few nice meals too.
Out of curiosity what waqs the plastic worms you had such good success on?
I have been toying with the idea of them instead of bloodworms for the past two weeks and was thinking of next weekend having a shot with some.
sharkymark2
13-06-2008, 06:13 PM
Yes what was the miracle worms being used????? I can trade you some magic beans for the miracle worms:). Seriously am considering heading down the nerang for a fish for some whiting as this forecast wind is going to make most things shite....... Wouldnt be to many feeds out of 103 whitings for a family.
marty+jojo
13-06-2008, 06:58 PM
Hey Rob,
I ended up going out the front yesterday arvo, was out for about two hours and got bugger all.... I only had a few small hits.
Maybe we will get some good weather next week end and we can get out and get some whiting.
Marty.
13-06-2008, 07:30 PM
13 whiting on a single blood worm has been done by a mate;D
mike
robsue
14-06-2008, 08:34 AM
the quality of the whiting wasnt great, ended up with 4.5 kg of fillets, as i said earlier i gave my mate half for helping with the filleting..........
no photos, firstly i dont know how to put them on here, mobile doesnt take the best photos, and secondly they were only whiting....
i used berkley gulp sandworm variety, week before i used the nuclear chicken type.........
there were another 5 boats out where i was, four of them asians, who were there before me and still there when i left , with 4 on most boats, so they would have had heaps................
chief
14-06-2008, 09:10 AM
Had a flick around the river front walls for squire yesterday with the 3 O jig and the turtleback and hooked 3 whiting. They must be hungry;D
yanjarra
14-06-2008, 10:52 AM
the quality of the whiting wasnt great, ended up with 4.5 kg of fillets, as i said earlier i gave my mate half for helping with the filleting..........
no photos, firstly i dont know how to put them on here, mobile doesnt take the best photos, and secondly they were only whiting....
i used berkley gulp sandworm variety, week before i used the nuclear chicken type.........
there were another 5 boats out where i was, four of them asians, who were there before me and still there when i left , with 4 on most boats, so they would have had heaps................
mate how do u generally rig those up if u dont mind me asking? hook type? rfree running sinker or? do u use any red tubing etc?
robsue
14-06-2008, 12:53 PM
yanjarra
i usually use swivel, with a running sinker to the hook, and drift, after they stopped biting where i originally was, i moved to where the other boats were, they were anchored and using a paternoster rig, sinker on the bottom, two hooks above, so i changed to their method, 9 out of ten fish were caught on the bottom hook.....hope this helps