View Full Version : Pull Thru's..what's best?

R-U- Wet Yet
10-06-2008, 08:55 PM
Evening all, just thought I'd throw a quick question out there... I'm sure I've seen/heard about it before but I can't find the link... what is the best material to use for the pull thru's?... I have made some braid ones up...but they've gone kinda...well.... floppy... only good for a couple of uses.... I'd like something that will remain stiff and retain it's flexibility....not sure if it was Stuart or Ross V that suggested some kind of line....
Any help is appreciated.... cheers, Robbie

nb... just re-read this post.... not sure that I've used the best wording/descriptions.... Maybe I should run the post in a personal column in the local paper....
"Wanted---- A good man / woman that can provide a super slick pull thru...
must be able to perform more than once or twice....
must remain stiff yet flexible after several uses.....
must remain on hand....
must be quick and efficient and a pleasure to use...
must be competent at both unders and overs...
Preference given to those that can show they are ambidexterous and can work with both hands....

::) ...

RFARREN
10-06-2008, 09:44 PM
clemens tackle used tp sell stuff that was really good but dental floss works sweet

2DKnBJ
10-06-2008, 09:50 PM
Evening all, just thought I'd throw a quick question out there... I'm sure I've seen/heard about it before but I can't find the link... what is the best material to use for the pull thru's?... I have made some braid ones up...but they've gone kinda...well.... floppy... only good for a couple of uses.... I'd like something that will remain stiff and retain it's flexibility....not sure if it was Stuart or Ross V that suggested some kind of line....
Any help is appreciated.... cheers, Robbie

nb... just re-read this post.... not sure that I've used the best wording/descriptions.... Maybe I should run the post in a personal column in the local paper....
"Wanted---- A good man / woman that can provide a super slick pull thru...
must be able to perform more than once or twice....
must remain stiff yet flexible after several uses.....
must remain on hand....
must be quick and efficient and a pleasure to use...
must be competent at both unders and overs...
Preference given to those that can show they are ambidexterous and can work with both hands....

::) ...

With a post like that your asking for trouble especially with a name R-U-WET YET:whip:

I normally use braid and just have a few made up and ready to go.

Cheers Dazza

ryansrods
10-06-2008, 10:10 PM
hi mate a cut off peice of c grade thread works a treat always got a peice of that layin round somewhere it also lets you know you are binding at the rght tension if ya pull through snapps too tight a bind

R-U- Wet Yet
10-06-2008, 10:35 PM
Thanks fella's.... RFarren... haven't used the dental floss yet...was worried that it might interfere with the epoxy and finish....I take it you've had no problems tho aye?...
2DKnB... R-U Wet Yet is the boats name... the good wife came up with it.... I kinda liked my first boat's name better...."Snatch N Tackle"... another one from her sick mind.....
Ryansrods... yeah...that's what I've been using....30lb braid... but not really happy with it....goes soft and the loop won't stay open...
Buggered if I can find the thread where I read about this other stuff.....anyway.... it's all good stuff to know.... thanks again...

Ross van Enckevort
11-06-2008, 07:28 AM
Robbie,
Have a look on .org in my photo gallery. There are some photos of what I use. 20lb boawire. Kinkproof wire it works a treat for me. Bounces back open when you have pulled your tag through.

Ross. www.therodworks.com.au

R-U- Wet Yet
11-06-2008, 08:09 PM
G'Day Ross.... That's the stuff I read about... thanks heaps mate....

Barramonday
29-06-2008, 11:21 PM
A piece of fishing line, 10kg. works well, tied into a figure 8 shape. When you pick it up you will always have a loop facing in the direction that you want.