View Full Version : Building my SportFisher 6.7m
mungindi
08-06-2008, 05:33 AM
Morning,
I'm in the process of building my boat, I have gotten advice here on a couple of occasions and thought some people may be interestd in the progress of the building of it. Just some quick specs on it length 6.7mts beam 2.2mts (7ft 2in) 200lt fuel tank( By Fisher Boats) a totally sealed and self draing deck power will be a DF140hp Suzuki wide full length chines. The floation foam I'm using is a polyethelene that meets all the standards, I will be lining the sides and putting more of the foam in there as well as under the gunnels. It's been designed and I'm building it to comply with the Australian stanard A-S 4132 parts1&3 for commercial fishging boats over 6mts. which basically means it is a really heavy duty built bit of gear.
It's a composite construction and I'm using Epoxy throughout the entire build. The design was done by Australian Naval Architect Brett Murrie from the coast and is based on the pacific longboat concept that being of a long slender hull with a really sharp entry but a fairly shallow deadrise.
Anyway have a look hopefully the photos will come out
Gary
Dean1
08-06-2008, 01:35 PM
Hey good goin Garry. I take my hat off to you guys that have the patience and confidence in building your own vessel. My mum told my dad years ago that he was not allowed to buy a boat so he built one!! ;D His mate that helped him build it had a last name cannaly, so when he sold it he told the buyers it was a 'cannaly' design. When he had to buy a motor for it then things got ugly. Gee im lucky i dont have to worry about that, my missus lets me go. Good luck with the buildup, its a credit to you. Keep the pics coming, Deano.
t4topcat
08-06-2008, 02:07 PM
G'day Garry,
mate, looks great! I've just got a couple of questions as I've often thought of designing and buliding my own rig since I was a kid.
1. What sort of timeframe have you allowed for completion of the project?
2.What sort of budget have you allowed for a boat of this size (not looking for specifics just ballpark) as I would probably look at something in the 5m range?
3. what is your background, are you a boatbuilder by trade or have you experience GRP and Composite construction methods? (I'm a Sheetmetal worker by trade)
Good on you for getting in and undertaking what to most people would be a rather intimidating project, excellent, power to you.
mungindi
08-06-2008, 05:33 PM
G/Day Deano, Chris
Thank's for the encouragement and compliments Deano you don't really need a lot of patients and confidence to build a boat helps to be stubborn and a little bit anal about wanting to get it done though. Years ago alot of fellas like your'e Dad built their own boats and quite a few of them are more than likely still floating around today. It's a lot easier to build a boat today than what it was in your'e Dad's time, these days you can buy your'e parts all computer cut whether it's Marine ply or Alloy hell you can even buy a complete kit if you want and just take your'e time and put it together. There's plenty of help out there if you need it I didn't realise there was so many home builders until I started this boat.
Chris mate I'm not a boat builder just a labourer and have never built a boat before messed around with Fibreglass when I was younger fixing up the dings on my surf board and there was usually a heap of them. I hope to have it on the water in the next couple of months as we are moving up north and I have to get it done before we shift.
Cost I estimate to have it on the water totally decked out ready to fish that's boat, all electronics, motor, Trailer for around $33,000 to $35,000 so far it's looking really good buget wise . As I have already bought a new trailer and have sold the Polycraft and bought the new DF140 it's the small fitout Items that you have to keep an eye on price wise.
The N/A Brett who designed mine is now putting it out in a kit as well as a slightly smaller 5.5mt version of the same boat.
Anyway I'll try and post a picture of what it should end up looking like the smaller boat is the 5.5mt boat if the icture doesn't work just go to the link as I have kept a bit of an album on the build so far.
http://s155.photobucket.com/albums/s303/garyboat/Boat%20construction/
And thank's again fellas for the encouragement and compliment's I appreciate them and I'll try and post more photos as I go. I'm onto the transom now and hope to have it in in the next few days.
Gary
08-06-2008, 06:29 PM
Nice effort mate..
Were you able to borrow a mould/plug?http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
I saw one of your earlier threads and wrongly thought you were going to weld up a kit alloy boat!!!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
Never thought you were going to lay up a 6m glass hull...Wow, that's a champion effort,I reckon.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Can't wait to see the finished product.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Stuart
08-06-2008, 06:34 PM
Garry, about time mate. I have been desperat to see how it has come along.
Stu
mungindi
08-06-2008, 07:22 PM
G/day Scott, Stu
Scott I built it on a jig basicly you build the hull upside down glass it then turn it over and glass the inside and away you go. I had some photos on my camera of all the frames on the jig but can't seem to find them if you go to this link I have stored all the build photos so far on photobucket but I don't know how to transfer them over.
http://s155.photobucket.com/albums/s303/garyboat/Boat%20construction/?start=40
Stu how's things I was thinking about your'e boat build the other day youre's should be floating by now I would think. I'll try and keep some photos coming, As soon as the boat is finished I was going to give you a call about a popper rod send us some photos of your'e boat if you can mate
Gary